We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" What a nice surprise, and our doggy loved it too".” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hofsas House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hofsas House Hotel to your Saves list
Hofsas House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
los angeles
1 review
“" What a nice surprise, and our doggy loved it too".”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

On our recent trip up to northern California we decided to add an extra night in the quiet city of Carmel. We did not have a reservation at our usual favorite because we had not planned to stop there on this trip so we disappointed to find it booked. We knew finding a pet friendly place would not be difficult in this town so we were happy to find a vacentcy at the Hosas House Hotel. Let me tell you, this is Now our favorite place. Not only did we get a lovely room with a ocean view but it was also a pet lovers dream. The room was street level and large enough for him not to feel closed in. The room came with cont. breakfast that is more then generous and the staff is very knowledgable about the town. It is family owned and the people seen very happy to work there it is passed on to the guests. As a pet lover and ex-hotel hospitality trainer my hat is off to the owners and staff of this establishment. Hope to see them again soon.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shadowsmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
sacramento
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

We loved our stay at the Hofsas House. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was spotless and cheerful. We loved that it was walking distance to the shops and the ocean. We stay there atleast once a year.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hawaiiannana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

We only decided to take a short weekend trip to Carmel. Since we were only staying Saturday night, we didn't expect we would get a whole lot of choices. Hofsas House was available and was very reasonable priced. So, we booked.

We were pleasantly surprised and delighted how centrally located Hofsas House and yet it was in a very quiet part of town. When we checked in, we were told by Carrie that we were upgraded to a suite. Don't expect too much. It's not a suite as you would expect at a traditional hotel. However, I was awed by the view and added amenities in our "suite".

Overall, my companion and I had a great experience, especially waking up to the beautiful sun and view of the ocean outside our window.

Yes, indeed, it's a motel, inn, lodge, bed and breakfast, etc. It's basically not a hotel. But in Carmel-by-the-Sea, it's pretty awesome without paying an arm and a leg.

I would definitely recommend it if you are not looking for anything fancy.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magsney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

This visit was our second visit to Hofsas House. We returned because of the affordability, the proximity to the delights of Carmel, and the gracious hospitality of the staff. We enjoyed the views as well, and took a short walk to eat at The Forge (which we found quite affordable with very good food).

Carrie and the entire staff work very hard to make their guest's stay a pleasant experience...we appreciate them for ensuring our stay was pleasantly memorable.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosemanSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

We arrived in Carmel without any reservations and the Hofsas House was the first hotel we came to. They offered us a king room for $99 or a larger room with fireplace and view of the ocean for $130 which we accepted.

Although we were there in July it was quite chilly at night so we did actually use the fire. The room was ok but the bathroom could do with being updated.

There is no breakfast room so you have to go to reception to collect breakfast and take it to your room which was ok as there was a large table in the room. Breakfast consisted of pastries, fruit, juice and coffee. Basic but ok although it would be nice to have an alternative to the high fat/high calorie pastries e.g. bread or bagels.

For the price we paid, it was good value. Not sure how it compares to other hotels in Carmel.

Carmel is amazing but the restaurants are very expensive. We had a good value meal in Brophy's sports bar, just across the road from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fnwcks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

While the room was quite sizable for our party of four + doggie, the beds were quite uncomfortable, and the heater was not working properly. It was fixed after a few calls, but just barely.

Their dog policies are also a bit stringent, with a "no dogs allowed on beds or furniture" as part of the contract. If your dog is used to lolling on the furniture or sleeping in bed with you, how do you break him of it in a few days? We stayed at two other "dog-friendly" hotels on our trip--one a major chain; and it did not have such policies written in.

The final straw was when the clerk ran the entire three nights charge on my debit card on the first night, rather than authorizing the first night, as was specified. This screwed up our limited funds big time, and when I complained at the front desk on checkout and asked for them to fix it, the accounting woman acted as though I had asked for her first-born child, and was almost resentful that she had to correct what was, in our eyes, their mistake.

I cannot recommend the place, as there are cheaper, and much more amenable places to stay across the bridge in Monterey. It's also a more active town. Carmel is beautiful, but that's about it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

First the good points. Traveling with 2 teenagers, we booked a family suite w/ fireplace. Separate closet areas and bathrooms, beds very comfortable. Quiet location a couple of blocks from "downtown". Husband loved the dry sauna. Incredible service from all staff, Renee delivered a flashlight and blanket to our room after we told her at checkin that we were heading to the beach after dinner, she also assisted with restaurant selection and provided discount coupon. On the negative-it's really just a motel, nothing fancy or even particularly nice about the room. The website, while accurate, makes the place look nicer than it is in person. Breakfast consisted of pastries, juice, and coffee. OK for the money. Carmel is too charming to settle, would look for something with a little more character next time.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doglover49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#17 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#20 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hofsas House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsas House Hotel

Address: Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#11 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hofsas House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual European elegance with the warmth of family hospitality, a boutique family-owned inn with 37 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Other amenities include: continental breakfast, heated swimming pool, dry saunas, off-street parking, free wireless Internet access & some rooms dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Venere, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hofsas House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsas Hotel Carmel
Hofsas House Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing