We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - better than average, less than very good....would give it 3 and half rating...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hofsas House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hofsas House Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good - better than average, less than very good....would give it 3 and half rating...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed here on our final night on our week-long trip along the Central Coast...overall it was good; not my favorite place or my worst - it was fine - it's a handy stop-off point....

The positives...
Very central location in Carmel
The staff were very friendly and let us check in early
The room was clean and spacious with a balcony and remote view of the ocean.

The negatives...
It was odd to have the fridge and coffee maker in the bathroom - although there was space for it.
I found the bed too firm, but my mum liked it
We could hear the people next door clearly, not great sound proofing.
The breakfast was carbs and liquids.

We could see the pool from our room but didn't go in....

Found a great family run place for breakfast just a block or so down the hill called Friar Tuck...reasonable prices, fast service, all food cooked fresh to order....wish there was one like this near my house!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your review… It helps us to see what you enjoyed and where we can improve. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely hope you'll visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    99
    43
    20
    11
See reviews for
55
101
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I picked this place because most other hotels were really overpriced in Carmel. It's offers most comforts but it's a bit run-down. We didn't get to try the pool, but sitting in the west-looking terrace was very nice. The breakfast could be richer and have a proper venue.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We are so happy you chose to stay with us and that you enjoyed the wonderful views. We appreciate your feedback regarding your breakfast and we will look into this. We sincerely hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

A nice hotel, with good location, restaurants town at walking distence
clean rooms, but found a bit pricy.
also breakfast is limited with just some bakery stuff, fruits, yogurt coffee, etc
no warm food,
friendly and helpful staff

Room Tip: top floor rooms would be better, as they have patio and can get a glimpse of ocean. although if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We are happy you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful location. We sincerely hope you will visit us again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We really enjoyed our visit to Carmel and Hofsas House. The room was pretty, clean, airy and relaxing, with a nice bathroom. Very few options at breakfast but we enjoyed taking our pastries and eating them on the patio tables outside our room. Lovely, friendly staff who gave us great advice for our onward trip down to Big Sur. Overall, pretty expensive for a good, but not outstanding, hotel, but it is in Carmel, after all!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed your room as well as our friendly staff. We are always happy to offer suggestions for local activities from dining to hiking! We hope you visit us again and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We spent 10 days touring the Pacific Coast. We started in San Francisco and made our way to Carmel. Based on a friends recommendation, we stayed two nights at the Hofsas House Hotel. It was very charming and laid back compared to San Francisco. At Hofsas, we stayed in a large room on the top floor with a patio sitting area right outside our door. Beautiful views from the balcony, You could see the ocean. It was definately charming... nice sitting area outside of bathroom, fire place, antique secretary desk, and small kitchen with dishes, etc. In the morning, they had fresh pastries, hot chocolate, orange juice and coffee downstairs which was very nice. It was close to shops, the beach, and had a Tavern directly across the street. The staff was so attentive and helpful. We like to choose family owned hotels with character vs. chain hotels. And I'd have to say, that out of all the hotels we stayed at during our 10 day tour, the Hofsas was among the best. I would definately recommend it.

Room Tip: It's worth it to pay a little more for one of the suites, however, my friends stayed in a regula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We are so happy you decided to stay with us and that you enjoyed everything form the room to the friendly staff and great views! Thank you for the great review and we hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

It was nothing special, but the location was great, I slept fine in spite of no air conditioning!! Clean and quiet. Not really much else to say....
Except tripadvisor says I must have more words to say.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
We happy that you enjoyed the great central location. We sincerely hope you'll visit us again next time you're in Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

It was a very Bavarian feel to the decor. The hotel staff was helpful and welcoming. The rooms (2) & furniture were straight out of the 60's-70's. Relatively clean, but tiny although it served its purpose. Parking was odd but near enough to the rooms. Pool hours were not enforced. One of us had issues with the tv and the night manager did correct the issue. The breakfast was lacking and the bakery was definitely stale. With the various cafe's and bakeries in town that was a shame. Opted to eat elsewhere for remainder of trip. In general it is an economical stay in comparison to the other hotels in the area and relatively quiet location.

Room Tip: upper floors for view; check all items for function upon entering room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
We are happy you enjoyed the hotel as well as our wonderful, central location and sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the breakfast options we provided. Will look into your feedback and we sincerely thank you for taking the time to review our property. We hope you visit us again next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hofsas House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsas House Hotel

Address: Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual European elegance with the warmth of family hospitality, a boutique family-owned inn with 37 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Other amenities include: continental breakfast, heated swimming pool, dry saunas, off-street parking, free wireless Internet access & some rooms dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hofsas House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsas Hotel Carmel
Hofsas House Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hofsas House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.