We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Mini-Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hofsas House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hofsas House Hotel to your Saves list
Hofsas House Hotel
Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Los Osos
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice Mini-Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were not able to go to Carmel in December for our 33rd anniversary but finally got a long weekend Friday through Monday to spend time in Carmel. The best things about this Hotel is the staff, location and value. We have stayed in a number of other hotels and B&B's in Carmel but all of them are more expensive and for us at this time in our life we want to spend the dollars on fun things. One of the fun things offered on this trip was the Wine Walk Pass. It is a good value and we made it to five of the nine listed winery's on the pass. They all had something to offer and it was nice to talk directly to the wine maker at some of the stops. We love the walking and/or jogging through Mission Trails Park and at the beach. There are a number of very good restaurants within walking distance and we made it to Dametra, The Forge, Club Jalapeno, and 5th Street Deli for a picnic lunch at Point Lobos. For us the continental breakfast is just right. Baked goods from Paris Bakery, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee and juice. We are hoping to return again soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We are so happy you decided to join us for your 33rd Anniversary and we are glad you enjoyed a wonderful time, as well as the Carmel Wine Walk. We hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    99
    44
    20
    11
See reviews for
55
102
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The only reason I give three stars is because of the front desk people. They were super friendly and nice. We were there with our in-laws so I asked for a connecting rooms. The rooms were super small. I mean SMALL. The chairs in the room were dirty, bathroom area was good and clean, Beds (oh my god) were so bad. We stayed there for one night. The breakfast the biggest disappointment was that There was no sitting area and no cheese or butter or even bread! I really have some expectations from the place I stay there this one didn't seem to have them, My husband asked me to give them just one star but as i mentioned before I liked the staff very much.

Room Tip: Don't go there or stay in a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We are happy you enjoyed our friendly staff at our family run hotel. We will look into your comments and we sincerely apologize that you were disappointed with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in July 2013.

We got a free upgrade on arrival to a larger room with a log fire. The decor of the rooms looks quite old but its quaint and clean. Nice views overlooking the ocean. The location is decent in the heart of Carmel. Breakfast isn't worth getting out of bed for though. For the price, this place is a good call.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed your free upgrade and the beautiful views! We hope you visit us again and thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Carmel is one of my favorite travel destinations. I was looking for a large room to accommodate my senior mom and aunt and my son. And wow did I find it.
The Hofsas House was perfect!!
The staff of The Hofsas House is so wonderful to deal with. I told them my mom and aunt were in their 80's and they easily accommodated us on the first floor. Stair climbing wouldn't be necessary. Just a few up to our room.
The room was perfect. It had 2 very private bedrooms. Also 2 bathrooms and a fireplace. Who could ask for more.
I thought the location was excellent. Right up the block from my favorite store Pilgrims Way and The Secret Garden also close by one of my favorite restaurants Em Le's.
We will be back to this lovely place again soon!!
Thank you!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed a great stay with us as well as the central location. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The room was beautiful! The walls had floral designs, the bed was metal and the covers were pretty. The bathroom was really clean and quite large. The funny thing was that the television was inside a cupboard at the base of the bed. The location takes the cake though, walking distance from every shop and eating place in Carmel. Lovely place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! Where happy that you enjoyed the charming room and wonderful central location... we sincerely hope you visit us again next time you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The rooms are homey. We stayed in Room 41 which was a great size for a family. The living area had two day beds with a 4-seat dining table, small television, small kitchenette (small refrigerator, sink, dishes, microwave), fireplace, and glass-sliding door to an outdoor deck with views of the ocean. There was even a rustic BBQ in case you wanted to grill up some steaks. Next to the living area, is a guest full bathroom. Down a short hallway is the master bedroom complete with a master full bathroom. After a couple of hours, we started our activities with a scenic drive to the Big Sur Foragers Festival in Big Sur, CA.

Upon our return, we enjoyed some Ventana Chardonnay and cheese from The Cheese Shop on the deck which can be ordered from the front office. After a couple of hours of relaxing, we decided to head down to the beach to find a spot to enjoy a beautiful sunset. Everyone else had the same idea and we were stuck in a bit of traffic. The sun started to set while we were trying to find a place to park. But, we were able to enjoy and photograph the sunset from the car. When we finally found a parking spot, we grabbed our S'mores Kit (from Cypress Concierge which can be ordered from the front office) and booked it to the beach. The sun was quickly becoming a memory in the sky with just the very top peaking over the horizon. But there was still enough ambient light to find a spot on the beach and start our fire. The S'more Kit included everything you needed: newspaper for kindling, wood for the fire, wire skewers, lighter, graham crackers, chocolate bars, and marshmallows. The fire started up quickly and the wood crackled as with excitement. We readied our graham crackers with pieces of chocolate and started to slowly roast our marshmallows. The slow roasting gets the core of the marshmallow warm enough to melt the chocolate on the graham cracker making the perfect s'mores. After a few of these, we needed to stop to save room for our dinner reservation at Mundaka. We enjoyed the relaxing sound of the ocean and brisk ocean air, carefully put out our fire, and donated the last of our firewood to a neighboring group. Hofsas House also loaned us flashlights, which came in handy as it was very dark getting back to our car.

As we settled in for the night, we decided to keep the window open so we could experience the nature sounds of the night and ocean. The air got a little chilly, but the comforter on the bed kept us warm. The bed was comfortable and floated off to dreamland. The next morning we awoke to birds chirping. A blue jay perched on a tree across from our window and I heard a woodpecker pecking away. We got dressed and headed downstairs to check out the continental breakfast in the front office. The continental breakfast includes fresh fruit, yogurt, fresh pastries, juice, and coffee. You can eat in the parlor or grab a basket and take it back to your room. We decided to take it back to the room and enjoy the beautiful morning. As we sat on the deck, we enjoyed nature and watched an elderly woman playing with a cat in the neighborhood street below.

We were sad that our stay ended so soon, but definitely would like to come back to walk around town, window shop, and head over to the beach a little earlier for a front row seat for another beautiful sunset.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for the great review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we sincerely hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a great relaxed place. Room are large. Beds are comfortable. In the area of downtown Carmel that has all the little quirky-chic hotels. This one has a Hansel and Gretal type atmosphere with original art. It is iconic and memorable in this way, like many places in Carmel. The owners are always accommodating. Don't expect luxury, it is not that place. The feeling is more as if you fell back into the 1950's. If there are any mobility problems, call ahead and reserve a downstairs room. No elevators. Some rooms have open area outside with some view. It is about 6 blocks from the ocean but nice walk. To be in Carmel, one should walk around obviously for the great restaurants, galleries, and shopping. Note: Dogs are allowed in many restaurants and hotel rooms. If this bothers you, call ahead. There are a few no dog hotels or non dog rooms. But people love their dogs here.

Room Tip: No restaurant with hotel. If you get up early, they will have pastries in the tiny lobby. I don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for the great review! Were so happy that you enjoyed the large rooms and the comfortable beds along with the great central location. We sincerely hope you visit us again thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hofsas House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsas House Hotel

Address: Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual European elegance with the warmth of family hospitality, a boutique family-owned inn with 37 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Other amenities include: continental breakfast, heated swimming pool, dry saunas, off-street parking, free wireless Internet access & some rooms dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hofsas House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsas Hotel Carmel
Hofsas House Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hofsas House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.