We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming in Carmel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hofsas House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hofsas House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hofsas House Hotel
Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming in Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We took a group of golfers for a week in the beautiful Monterey Peninsula area and Carmel. We got a recommendation for this hotel. We were not disappointed in the overall experience. The price was very good for the value. We were able to walk all over Carmel for dinner and shopping...no need for a car in town. It is an older hotel and the furnishings and rooms need updating. There was an annoying sound like a "running toilet" one night but the staff found the problem once several of us complained. Carrie, the owner, and her staff were very accommodating, gave us lots of suggestions for things to do, etc. It is a dog friendly hotel so be prepared for a few barking dogs. The walls are a little thin.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed a lovely stay with us! We hope you stay with us again next time you are in Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    98
    43
    20
    10
See reviews for
55
100
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the start of October. It was the final leg of our trip so we were looking for a few calm days and this was the perfect spot. When we arrived we were welcomed warmly and told we had an upgraded room. This is always a great start.
The room was on the first floor so we did have to cart all our stuff upstairs but it was worth it because it had a real log fire in the room! How wonderful. We were able to light it in the evening and fall asleep to the flickering firelight and it really did warm the room up too.
The overall look of the place is very individual. Some would call it twee but it didnt phase us and the facilities were just what we needed. We had spent the past two weeks living on hotel, restaurant and cafe food so to have a fridge, kettle, toaster and microwave it was heaven. We were able to eat simple food. The bathroom seemed a bit lacklustre on first appearance but do not let this deceive you, the shower is the best one out of all the hotels we stayed at. I even liked the complimentary toiletries.
Breakfast is a simple continental affair served in the tiny reception room but they are more than happy to give you a tray so you can take what you need to your room. On the day we checked out they even offered to wrap up some for us to take on our journey back to San Fran.
I would highly recommend this place. It is great value for money, great service and in a great location to explore Carmel on foot or by car.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 43. If we ever go back I would ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed a great stay with us! The fireplaces are always a nice treat this time of year. We hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

A big 4 story motel in a good location only couple blocks from the restaurants and few block from the beach. Rooms were like a cheap motel, with paper thin walls and floor. We ended up requesting another room after first night because the room above us had a stomping dog, who never stopped walking around. (pet friendly like everything in Carmel). TV was a old tube TV in both rooms. the bathroom in the second room was updated and had clean tiles.
Bed was hard but my husband did not mind that.
Sauna was lukewarm dry one. Pool OK small. staff was accommodating and friendly.
Breakfast was typical continental, but pastries were actually fresh and quite good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed the location and the friendly staff and sorry you did not enjoy your accommodations more. We sincerely hope you stay with us again next time you are in Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverthorne, Colorado
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Listing the best things first, Hofsas gives excellent value for the price, has a good location with easy walking into the main part of town, has a nice Old World charm that is lacking in many other places in Carmel, and the Front Desk was very friendly and accommodating. On the downside, the walls are very thin, and the room heat (good baseboard heating) is completely controlled from the main bedroom, so the bathroom (which was very clean and relatively modern) stayed quite cold -- it didn't have heat lamps, which would be a great improvement.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed the great location and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Carmel..what can you say, it has it's charms. Dogs and children, if you are like W.C. Fields you'll want to steer clear of here. This dog friendly and family friendly motel has a lot of rooms stacked 4 floors high. A small warm pool and decent breakfast plus the clean rooms make this attractive. The downside is the walls and floors are quite thin, you can hear dogs and kids pacing above and next to you ( Hint: get a room as high up as possible& Bring the ear plugs)) The wooden stairways creak and shake also. We had to move our room after the first night , we could hear a dog running around the room even when the owners were gone.UGH! I saw no elevator, the 4 story motel is built on a really steep hill, parking is awkward, in 3 different lots. it's a challenge getting around.But you can walk right into the center of town in about 5 minutes. The rooms have been redone with radiant heating in the very clean bathroom floors( very cozy), rooms have firm beds, very small tube TVs, only 3 lamps and not many electric outlets. The locks on the doors are old and flimsy , the keys have difficulty opening some of them. Cute Kitsch:The doors have a 2 part, farm style split across the middle, so you can hang out with the lower half closed, and the upper half open while you chat with Elsie and borrow a cup of sugar or suntan lotion.
Breakfast is really fresh artisan style pastries fruit , yogurts and good coffee and juice. not bad. This would not be my first choice unless I had a animal or small kids.But on a budget you'll probably be fine if the above drawbacks do not bother you.

Room Tip: Get a room as high as possible to avoid noise from neighbors above or ask for a room with no one abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed the great location- we hope to see you again soon & thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We dropped off our bags early at the Hofsas House as we needed to pick up friends at the Monterey Airport. When we returned to check-in the staff had already delivered them to our room. The Front Desk personnel is most welcoming, cordial and attentive, like family.

This unique hotel is perfectly situated off the main drag in downtown Carmel, walking distance to everything with plenty of on site parking. They also have a heated pool with plenty of lounge chairs. Every morning they serve great coffee, orange juice, perfect pastry's, fresh fruit and yogurt.

Clean and quaint lodging with updated bathrooms added to our comfort. Quality bath towels and bed linens and a little refrig to keep our wine and cheese cool were also appreciated. We especially like the balcony rooms and enjoy the Dutch door looking out toward the treetops and sea. Hearing the sound of the ocean just blocks away made our visit extra special. We loved our three night stay and look forward to returning before the end of the year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed the great location and our friendly staff! We are so happy you had a wonderful stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel is just north of Ocean Blvd. in a quieter area, but still an easy walk downtown. We also walked a little further to the beach, so we could avoid the hunt for parking there. The hotel is older, but rather unique, with different wallpaper and quilts in the rooms. From our second floor room, we had a glimpse of the ocean, but it you were up on the 3rd or 4th floors, you could see it quite well. There are some shared patio tables and chairs on the both the second and fourth floors. Inside the room, our mattress was rather firm, which I liked. However, the wooden window blinds were the only window coverings, which I didn't like, as I like to sleep in a dark room. Everyone has their own preferences though. The included breakfast had some great nut bread, as well as other pastries, yogurt and fruit. There are only a few seats in the front lobby to sit and eat at, so most people took their food back to their room. The front receptionists would give you a tray along with a carafe of coffee (not just cups) to take back to your room. Overall, I thought this hotel was very good for the reasonable price we paid. They are also pet friendly (in certain rooms.)

Room Tip: The ocean side of the building, away from the road is preferable. If you don't mind the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed the great location and the ocean views. We are happy you had a wonderful stay and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hofsas House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsas House Hotel

Address: Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#13 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual European elegance with the warmth of family hospitality, a boutique family-owned inn with 37 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Other amenities include: continental breakfast, heated swimming pool, dry saunas, off-street parking, free wireless Internet access & some rooms dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hofsas House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsas Hotel Carmel
Hofsas House Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hofsas House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.