We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Surprisingly Nice Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hofsas House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hofsas House Hotel to your Saves list
Hofsas House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Santee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Surprisingly Nice Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at the Hofsas House last week. I wasn't sure what to expect, but ended up being pleasantly surprised. I often travel with my dogs in the summer, and the Hofsas House is a nice-quality yet affordable, pet-friendly inn. We were fortunate to be given Room 38, which is on the north end of the inn. It was a spacious, comfortable room. I was concerned about noise from adjacent rooms based on a couple of the reviews. I think this inn may have thin walls, but fortunately on this stay, the tenants adjacent to us were not noisy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We are so happy you had a wonderful stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    117
    49
    21
    11
See reviews for
66
123
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orangevale, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have been staying at the Hofsas House for a number of years and will continue staying there in the future. The Hofsas House is a quaint, beautiful inn, very peaceful and quiet, accommodations are always roomy and clean, and rates are very reasonable. The staff serves a very nice continental breakfast each day. This trip we stayed in a family suite that had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, fireplace, balcony with an ocean view, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and sink. The view from the balcony was beautiful. We enjoyed s'mores on the beach, a package offered by the inn. Everything is within walking distance, even to the ocean. The staff is always very professional and polite, giving assistance as to eating places, specialty shops, anything a person would be interested in. It is impossible for me to say what I liked best because everything was the best. I look forward to returning in December for Christmas festivities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are glad you enjoy the unique rooms and the complimentary continental breakfast! We are so happy you had a wonderful stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed just one night, but would happily linger longer. Very well placed, in walking distance to the town and beach, quiet and clean. Following a long drive from LA, we were warmly welcomed by Renee, and our room met our needs exactly - no fuss or needless extras, just comfortable, airy and peaceful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We are glad you enjoy the friendly staff and the great central location! We are so happy you had a wonderful stay and we hope to see you again soon and thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is my second stay at Hofsas House. First stay was with group of gals and we stayed in a charming two bedroom suite. This hotel is so convenient to Ocean Avenue dining and shopping and the beach....all walking distance. The accommodations were exceptional if you like quaint.

Second stay was Memorial Day weekend 2013. My Significant Other and I were in the area for a Niece's graduation. My memories of Hofsas House and Staff lead me to book here again. Our 3rd floor room was exceptional. View of the Ocean from our balcony. Remodeled bathroom with heated floors was a wonderful surprise. So was the separate kitchen with full size refrigerator, Microwave and sink. We experienced NO noise from other rooms, as some reviewers have stated. And the hotel was full. Convenient to Point Lobos, where we walked 5 miles along the beautiful coastline. Dinner at Clint Eastwood's Mission Ranch was wonderful and only a mile down Delores Street. I didn't take my dog this trip, but will in the future. The "Continental Breakfast" was so much more than a cup of coffee and a doughnut! Wonderful pastries and yogurt. Can take back to room on a tray if desired. I highly recommend this Hotel to those who appreciate old world charm and hospitality.

Room Tip: Room 34 was quiet, spacious and comfortable with lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed the the local attractions and dining! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our first stay we really enjoyed the balcony views of the Pacifdic Ocean (upper rooms). We love the location, how pet friendly and inviting all the staff and accomadations are. We joked a little bit about the Hofsas House decorations but liked the very reasonable prices. As returning guests they showed us some more comtemporary furnished rooms and also offered us terrific discounts as a bonus for coming back. We have since found a few of our favorite ocean view balcony rooms with corner fire places at way less cost than any hotel nearby. We will return each year. Hofsas House hospitailty kinda grows on you!

Room Tip: 3rd floor on upper street level next to check-in with private ocean view balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are happy you decided to join us with your four-legged friend and we sincerely hope you choose to stay with us next time you visit Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We made our stay at the lovely Hofsas House Hotel, a dog-friendly, family-owned boutique inn with 38 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views overlooking the pines in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Dutch doors can be found in each room, which allows guests to enjoy the fresh ocean air. And guests can take in glorious sunsets over the Pacific Ocean from the privacy of the inn's decks or guest balconies. Some rooms and most suites have fireplaces, private balconies, wet bars or kitchens.

Every room is unique and is ideal depending on the size of your party, from a family on vacation to a couple looking for a romantic getaway to even friends getting away for a few days. These spacious rooms are a welcome treat to anyone looking for some much needed R&R.

Take advantage of their complimentary continental breakfast every morning with French Roast coffee, tea, fresh pastries delivered from a local bakery, yogurt, juice and fruit.

Carmel is known for being dog-friendly, thanks in part to dog lover and Carmel hotel owner Doris Day, and most hotels, restaurants and retail shops allow guests with dogs. It is also known for several unusual laws, including a prohibition on wearing high-heel shoes without a permit, enacted to prevent lawsuits arising from tripping accidents caused by irregular pavement. Former Mayor Clint Eastwood repealed the local law prohibiting the eating of ice cream in public.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are glad you enjoy the unique rooms and the complimentary continental breakfast! We are so happy you had a wonderful stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very reasonable place to stay in lovely Carmel. And besides for the AAA discount, the owners give an additional discount for returning visitors to the hotel. If you are looking for an ultra swanky place this is not it. It is an older hotel, but very very clean and well maintained. Has a great little heated pool and sauna room, too. Complimentary breakfast includes coffee, juice, yogurt, pastries, and yummy ham and cheese croissants. Restaurants, shops and galleries are all very close. The beach is about a 15 minute walk, and all uphill coming back, just be aware. Other reviewers have complained about the uncomfortable beds, but I have not encountered that at all. There are units that have a kitchen with a stove, frig and microwave...very handy.

Room Tip: be sure to ask about the extras...some rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, and some have a full ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed the great location and the in-room amenities! We are glad you had a wonderful stay and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hofsas House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsas House Hotel

Address: Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hofsas House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual European elegance with the warmth of family hospitality, a boutique family-owned inn with 37 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Other amenities include: continental breakfast, heated swimming pool, dry saunas, off-street parking, free wireless Internet access & some rooms dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hofsas House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsas Hotel Carmel
Hofsas House Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hofsas House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.