We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, homey, have been several times.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hofsas House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hofsas House Hotel to your Saves list
Hofsas House Hotel
Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charming, homey, have been several times.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very reasonable place to stay in lovely Carmel. And besides for the AAA discount, the owners give an additional discount for returning visitors to the hotel. If you are looking for an ultra swanky place this is not it. It is an older hotel, but very very clean and well maintained. Has a great little heated pool and sauna room, too. Complimentary breakfast includes coffee, juice, yogurt, pastries, and yummy ham and cheese croissants. Restaurants, shops and galleries are all very close. The beach is about a 15 minute walk, and all uphill coming back, just be aware. Other reviewers have complained about the uncomfortable beds, but I have not encountered that at all. There are units that have a kitchen with a stove, frig and microwave...very handy.

Room Tip: be sure to ask about the extras...some rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, and some have a full ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed the great location and the in-room amenities! We are glad you had a wonderful stay and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    101
    44
    20
    11
See reviews for
55
104
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I was happy to know that this hotel is dog friendly, we've being staying here for a few years always same time of the year: Sea Otter Bicycle Race in Monterey. It works for the husband and his teammates because is relatively close to the circuit and I can stay in Carmel and enjoy my favorite town in California. Staff is very nice, breakfast in the morning, pool, the rooms are clean, our room was small but had the basics and we dont go to Carmel to stay in a hotel room.Carmel is a quaint small town for walking and the hotel is located 3 blocks from their main street and walking distance from the beach.
They even provided a blanket for Jagger, also provided waste bags,( they were outside).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We are happy you decided to join us with your four-legged friend! Thank you for the great review and we sincerely hope you choose to stay with us next time you visit Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I will start with the few pros to give it the 2 rating.:

* The staff were very friendly and are dog friendly by giving you a blanket for them to sleep on.
* The location is near shopping and if lucky to get an upper floor has very nice views.
* The continental breakfast is a typical pastry breakfast but was a nice touch to have the ham/cheese one.
* Has a heated pool and sauna even though we didn't use it, it looked nice.

The cons: The price isn't that cheap for the area and what you get is not worth the money you do save.

* The bed was so uncomfortable. We woke up sore each morning.
* The walls are PAPER THIN. We heard everyone walking above us, TV from neighbors. We were thankful when the power went out except when the upstairs neighbors were having 'fun' in their squeaky bed. Everything sounded like it was in our room.
* The maids were vacuuming upstairs and could smell the dust come into our room.
* The toilet leaked all over the floor.
* The bathroom floor warmers were a nice touch if they actually worked.
* No real place for your dog to do their business.

Room Tip: Stay on a top floor that has no neighbors and bring your own mattress topper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit with us. We strive to offer a great value at our truly unique hotel, with a wonderfully central Carmel location. We will look into your comments and we sincerely hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Quaint hotel with very friendly service that makes you feel relaxed. Lots of advice on where to eat & shop and it is only a couple of blocks from the hotel to many restaurants. Continental breakfast is nice & you can have a tray to take it back to your room if you wish. The lighting in the bathroom was poor - the shower was in complete darkness but apart from that this was a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Opt for a balcony room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed the wonderful location! We hope you chose to stay with us next time you are in Carmel. Thank you for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hofsas House is a family-run hotel that makes you feel like you're vacationing at the home of your favorite aunt. The rooms are large and very comfortable; although not super high-end Four Seasons luxurious, there are lovely touches like working fireplaces stocked with Duraflame logs and matches, eat-in kitchenettes, and cozy blankets for chilly nights. Can't beat the views of the Pacific. I really appreciated owner Carrie's warmth. (Full disclosure: My stay at Hofsas House was comped as part of a press trip to the area.)

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs, ask for a room on the top level to get the best ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed the fireplace, ocean views and the great location! We are so happy you had a wonderful stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Two blocks from Carmel main Avenue. KIndly staff. The rate Includes breakfast.
In spite of Kitsch decoration the hotel is clean and comfortable.
We rented a room over the street so we had to park in front of it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed tthe great location! We are so happy you had a nice stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We did as much research as we could before booking this hotel. We read descriptions of the rooms, looked at a lot of pictures, and read many reviews. We were not expecting anything fancy, but were expecting a clean and decent room to have a romantic weekend getaway.

We booked a king room with an ocean view. We thought this room came with a fireplace and a private balcony as the description indicates, but it did not. The woman helping us at check-in explained to us that the wording on their website states, ‘Some rooms have fireplaces, private balconies or kitchens.’ She offered us an upgrade to the type of room we thought we booked for a discounted rate, which we unfortunately took.

The "upgraded" room was filthy! The carpet, bedding, and furniture were very old and dirty. There wasn't a bathtub as stated on the room description, and the shower was the smallest I've ever seen. The private balcony wasn't private or a balcony. The “balcony” consisted of cheap outdoor furniture in the walkway where guests walk to and from their room (where are the balcony pictures taken that are on the website?). Another big problem was that the door lock to the room is the type of lock and key most of us have at home. Someone could easily make copies of the key and break in later, or pick the lock. There were other smaller issues in the room, too many to list, but the sum of it is that this room did not come close to matching the pictures or description on the website.

In the end, we paid for one night instead of two and didn't even stay the one night we paid for. Even though we were extremely disappointed in the room, we would have stayed the one night had the room been sanitary. Yes, it was that filthy! I have 20 years in the hospitality industry, including hotels, and I have never been so disappointed and disgusted with a room before. I tried to make this review as accurate and fair as I could as I hate writing bad reviews, but I want others to be warned as well as the hotel to take note of how misleading their website is.

I hope the Hofsas House replies to my review with an adequate explanation. First of all, I hope they seriously think about replacing the carpets and bedding as having a sanitary room should be number one priority (updating walls and furniture would be nice too). Second of all, I hope they can explain why that room looks NOTHING like the pictures provided.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us. Each of our 38 rooms are uniquely decorated, and unfortunately we do not have pictures of all of our rooms online. We do encourage people to call us after they book online so we can be sure we are reserving the right room for them so they will be comfortable when they stay at Hofsas House. We truly try to extend our family hospitality to all who stay here and please accept our apologies for your experience. We will look into your comments so this does not happen again and we thank you for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hofsas House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsas House Hotel

Address: Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual European elegance with the warmth of family hospitality, a boutique family-owned inn with 37 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Other amenities include: continental breakfast, heated swimming pool, dry saunas, off-street parking, free wireless Internet access & some rooms dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hofsas House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsas Hotel Carmel
Hofsas House Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hofsas House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.