We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hofsas House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hofsas House Hotel to your Saves list
Hofsas House Hotel
Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Santa Monica
1 review
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hofsas House is a family-run hotel that makes you feel like you're vacationing at the home of your favorite aunt. The rooms are large and very comfortable; although not super high-end Four Seasons luxurious, there are lovely touches like working fireplaces stocked with Duraflame logs and matches, eat-in kitchenettes, and cozy blankets for chilly nights. Can't beat the views of the Pacific. I really appreciated owner Carrie's warmth. (Full disclosure: My stay at Hofsas House was comped as part of a press trip to the area.)

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs, ask for a room on the top level to get the best ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed the fireplace, ocean views and the great location! We are so happy you had a wonderful stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    109
    44
    21
    11
See reviews for
59
111
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Two blocks from Carmel main Avenue. KIndly staff. The rate Includes breakfast.
In spite of Kitsch decoration the hotel is clean and comfortable.
We rented a room over the street so we had to park in front of it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed tthe great location! We are so happy you had a nice stay and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We did as much research as we could before booking this hotel. We read descriptions of the rooms, looked at a lot of pictures, and read many reviews. We were not expecting anything fancy, but were expecting a clean and decent room to have a romantic weekend getaway.

We booked a king room with an ocean view. We thought this room came with a fireplace and a private balcony as the description indicates, but it did not. The woman helping us at check-in explained to us that the wording on their website states, ‘Some rooms have fireplaces, private balconies or kitchens.’ She offered us an upgrade to the type of room we thought we booked for a discounted rate, which we unfortunately took.

The "upgraded" room was filthy! The carpet, bedding, and furniture were very old and dirty. There wasn't a bathtub as stated on the room description, and the shower was the smallest I've ever seen. The private balcony wasn't private or a balcony. The “balcony” consisted of cheap outdoor furniture in the walkway where guests walk to and from their room (where are the balcony pictures taken that are on the website?). Another big problem was that the door lock to the room is the type of lock and key most of us have at home. Someone could easily make copies of the key and break in later, or pick the lock. There were other smaller issues in the room, too many to list, but the sum of it is that this room did not come close to matching the pictures or description on the website.

In the end, we paid for one night instead of two and didn't even stay the one night we paid for. Even though we were extremely disappointed in the room, we would have stayed the one night had the room been sanitary. Yes, it was that filthy! I have 20 years in the hospitality industry, including hotels, and I have never been so disappointed and disgusted with a room before. I tried to make this review as accurate and fair as I could as I hate writing bad reviews, but I want others to be warned as well as the hotel to take note of how misleading their website is.

I hope the Hofsas House replies to my review with an adequate explanation. First of all, I hope they seriously think about replacing the carpets and bedding as having a sanitary room should be number one priority (updating walls and furniture would be nice too). Second of all, I hope they can explain why that room looks NOTHING like the pictures provided.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
We are sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us. Each of our 38 rooms are uniquely decorated, and unfortunately we do not have pictures of all of our rooms online. We do encourage people to call us after they book online so we can be sure we are reserving the right room for them so they will be comfortable when they stay at Hofsas House. We truly try to extend our family hospitality to all who stay here and please accept our apologies for your experience. We will look into your comments so this does not happen again and we thank you for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Hofsa’s hotel was charming. Our room was pleasant albeit a bit dated. We had a view of the ocean, unfortunately it was too cold outside to sit on the balcony. The room was a bit noisy, with traffic noise from the street, and the walls were quite thin so that you could hear your neighbours walking around. The bed and pillows were moderately comfortable. The kitchen, although complete was awkward to use, with plugs near the floors, even for the coffee maker. The bathroom was very well appointed, except for the fact that one had to run the hot water for a few minutes, for the water to warm up. The only significant negative of the room was that it did not have a comfortable desk and chair at which to work on my laptop – the kitchen table was not comfortable enough for this and the two small decorative chairs and end table were not practical. The front desk staff, especially the lady on the Sunday morning, were extremely pleasant and kind – offering us a carafe of coffee to take to the room, as well as a nice assortment of fresh pastries. The location was great, with a short walk to downtown and to the beach. There was ample parking available behind the hotel and on the street in front. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed a pleasant stay with us and experienced the warm, friendly service we pride ourselves on. We thank you for taking the time to review and hope you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairo
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the hotel few years ago. The rooms were very nice and warm and service was good. a very cosy place. The decorations is cheerful in colors. The beds are comfortable. You feel like home. The neighborhood is just lovely,

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We are so happy you enjoyed the area, as well as our charming rooms! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Girlfriend and I just spent four days at this perfect location. A little dated but if you can get a room on the third or fourth floor you wont be disappointed. Bed is comfortable, size of room is nice. Little kitchen is perfect to sit and enjoy breakfast or have a cozy take out dinner while watching the sunset. Above all I have to say all of the staff were beyond nice. A small mistake was made on there part and they went out of there way to make things right. Service like that is a thing of the past but not here. The staff really tries to treat you like guest at their house. I wont look anywhere else. Looking forward to booking again soon.

Room Tip: Pay for the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We are happy to be a family run hotel, offering our guests the best in friendly, warm service. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent our 32nd Anniversary vacation at Hofsas House in Carmel by the Sea. The room was large, with fireplace and kitchenette and view of the ocean. The location is short walking distance to all shops, restaurants and the beach at Carmel by the Sea. The Continental Breakfast was very good either in the lobby or with a tray to take to your room. All the staff were freindly and helpful. We hope to return for 33rd anniversary.

Room Tip: They have many options for you depending on your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We are so happy you decided to spend your anniversary with us and enjoyed a great visit. We hope to see you for your 33rd!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hofsas House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsas House Hotel

Address: Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#10 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual European elegance with the warmth of family hospitality, a boutique family-owned inn with 37 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Other amenities include: continental breakfast, heated swimming pool, dry saunas, off-street parking, free wireless Internet access & some rooms dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hofsas House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsas Hotel Carmel
Hofsas House Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hofsas House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.