We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Heidi's House" with huge room, great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hofsas House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hofsas House Hotel to your Saves list
Hofsas House Hotel
Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Chico, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“"Heidi's House" with huge room, great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Style is dated but fits personality of the hotel; reminds me of the story of Heidi in the mountains at Grandpa's house. Enormous room with kitchenette; friendly staff. Walking distance to some restaurants and bars, a little far from center of town. Very clean, great ocean view from the deck.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor. Outside deck had table and chairs, great ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed the wonderful views from the deck and the friendly staff! We thank you for your review and we hope you visit us again next time you are in Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    108
    44
    21
    11
See reviews for
59
109
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

It was a last minute plan to stay in Carmel while driving from SFO to LA. We were not sure about the hotels so we asked our server at Mundaka to recommend some hotels. He recommended four and we called all of them to check availability and price. The best deal came from Hofsas which also upgraded us to their best available room and added breakfast.

This is pretty much a motel with average rooms and no service. The rooms were decent with clean linen. There were some difficult corners which saw dust settlements. Some of the fittings were in need or repair/replacement. The bathroom was in a weird shape but seemed to be done up recently, very neat and clean.

The breakfast lay was probably the worst i have ever seen in my life and it was served at the lobby/check in area which had one sofa set for seating. They did give an option of taking it to the room on a tray.

It has free parking which can come in handy if you want to park and walk around town during the day.

Even after a discounted price i thought it was not worth what we paid. For one night i wont mind staying here, anything longer i will not recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We are happy you chose to stay with us on your visit to Carmel, and sorry you did not enjoy the complimentary breakfast choices. We sincerely hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a couple nights when we visited Carmel. The staff was friendly and the place wasn't difficult to find. It is on the outside of Carmel, so the walk is a tad bit further to the beach. The rooms were pretty oldschool. Paper thin walls, old wallpaper, small television, no fridge or anything like that. The bathroom was nice though. The room was clean and the complimentary breakfast was nice. Overall, a good place but nothing above average. It suited us for what we needed and wanted for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
We are sorry you did not enjoy a comfortable stay with us. We pride ourselves on offering a friendly stay with a wonderfully central location and we sincerely hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our stay at the Hofsas House for a recent family reuinion was wonderful. The staff is friendly, helpful and accomodating. Each room offers something unique in the way of decor or little extras such as fireplaces, kitchenettes, balconies, etc. They think of everything! The beach bonfire package included everything you could possibly need from lighters, fire starters, s'mores to hand wipes! We felt very special during our stay.

Room Tip: Tell the staff what you're looking for and they'll find the right room for you, i.e., firepl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed your stay and our fun beach bonfire kits! We sincerely hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here, with our 2 cats, for 2 weeks when we first moved to the area and were looking for a rental. Very nice owners and staff, good simple breakfast in the lobby that you take to your room (fruit, pastries, juice, coffee, yogurt). Nice room, older and not huge, but well-kept. Small but fully equipped kitchen and dining nook in our room. Can't beat the location for walking around, and you can drive in and out of town easily without dealing with Ocean St (the main, usually-packed main street in Carmel). The price was reasonable for a pet-friendly place with a full kitchen and free parking in a wonderful location. (We paid $40 a night for the cats, though--that hurt, but most places in this area won't take pets at all.)

For families needing a pet-friendly place to stay awhile, we'd highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed a pet-friendly stay with us! We sincerely hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Be aware if you are on the second floor, its a long way from your car (up a hill) and up 2 flights of stairs. About an hour after checking in we smelled a strong electrical odor (it seem to come from the TV) They changed out room. I asked it I could use their computer to confirm my seats on Southwest airlines (which have to be done precisely 24hours prior) I was told (by the owner) "Certainly, just come dowln when you are ready" The owner was not there but the other lady who works there, said that I have to wait until the owner returned, in about 1/2 hour. I tried to explain that I was not being demainding but that would be too late. She told me "Step aside I am going to check this person in, he arrived after I was there for a while. By the time I got help we ended up with 2 middle seats in the back of the plane. I know that is not their problem. but she did not have to be so rude to me . The person shook his head at this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We are very sorry about your experience with us. We are happy to handle requests like these as soon as they come up, but occasionally the busyness of the front desk gets in the way of us getting to them immediately. We will look into your comments so this does not happen again. Please accept our apologies and we sincerely hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is very much a German 3-star hotel.
The room was large with a very restricted ocean view and some noise from the street.
Good King bed.
Only a short walk to "downtown Carmel".
Very pleasant & knowledgeable staff,
BUT
forget breakfast unless you want sweet cakes, etc.
Disappointing but some good places for breakfast only 5 minutes away.
Would we stay here again? Yes but would update our research first.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the wonderful location and king size bed. We hope you chose to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hofsas House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsas House Hotel

Address: Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#10 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual European elegance with the warmth of family hospitality, a boutique family-owned inn with 37 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Other amenities include: continental breakfast, heated swimming pool, dry saunas, off-street parking, free wireless Internet access & some rooms dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hofsas House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsas Hotel Carmel
Hofsas House Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hofsas House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.