We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hofsas House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hofsas House Hotel to your Saves list
Hofsas House Hotel
Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Pleasant Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Our family of four stayed for two nights in February. Hofsas House was reasonably priced considering a golf tournament was on, so all accommodation in Carmel was expensive. The staff were always friendly and helpful with my enquiries.
Our room was on the top floor which was a hike up the stairs with luggage, but gave us a great view.Our room was not flashy, but large and clean. It had good bathroom and a fire place. The decor was a bit dated but comfortable. The big beds were very comfortable and warm. The European styling is part of the history of Hofsas House and Carmel. I found this appealing as it had more of a B & B feel rather than a chain motel. The location is was only a short but pleasant walk from the centre of town with nearby restaurants. A bonus: a few minutes walk away was a park where my kids played on the swings and climbing fort. We then met a local family and they played ball with my kids. Thank you! The continental breakfast was simple and included in the room rate. Coffee or hot chocolate, juice, danishes and fruit. It was fresh and enough to get us started for the day until we had brunch or an early lunch. We took ours back to the room on trays and enjoyed the warmth of our room. If guests want a more substantial breakfast, then walk to town and pay for it. Qverall, Hofsas House was reasonably priced and comfortable for a family.

Room Tip: Some rooms have fire places. Luggage has to be carried up stairs, no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We sincerely hope you visit us again next time you are in Carmel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    109
    44
    21
    11
See reviews for
59
111
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tahoe City, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Very nice pet-friendly hotel. Awesome, helpful staff. Beautiful rooms, grounds and pool. In the heart of Carmel, near restaurants, shopping and Carmel Beach. Great Continental Breakfast included with room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We sincerely hope you visit us again next time you are in Carmel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

A family run business that really makes you feel special. It has spacious rooms that have various configurations to match your special needs. We really need a separate space so if one is sleeping the other can still read or surf the internet. The balcony with view is a bonus. It all depends on which suite you choose or are given. On weekdays there is obviously more choice. We stayed a week and had a chance to live in 2 separate spaces; each with their own special attractions. We loved the fridge and small kitchen; the fresh breakfast we ate in the morning sun was our own special moment. Caoution, you may not like the German motif and pink hue.

Room Tip: check out the availability once you arrive. The rooms are really different
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for the great review! We are happy you enjoyed the spacious rooms and friendly service. We hope you stay with us again next time you are in Carmel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

the Carmel hotel was the priciest part of our california trip. that said hofsas house room was wonderful massive suite with 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms, plenty of room for our family of 6. perfect location to walk to town/ to the beach. hotel was quaint, well kept, well managed, clean and we were very happy and comfortable. not many hotels in carmel will take a family of 6 and this was a great find.

Room Tip: if you dint need a large suite take a higher room for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel is on the edge of town and so avoids the hussel & bussel of Carmel. It's got a bavarian feel that ooozes quiet relaxation. Check-in was friendly and the reception staff keenly shared info on the best places to eat with children intow. The car park is small for big cars so take care. Our room was huge, clean and welcoming. There's a fire in corner of the room, which was very welcome when the temperature fell as the sea harr rolled in.

We had a semi-private balcolney and were just a few steps away from the pool. This has a very deep end so watch out if you have children. Plenty of towels are available.

Breakfast was simple but adequate.

An ideal location for a peaceful stay with hosts who really appreacite your business.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Really a very nice hotel. Travelling with my wife and kids for a wedding, stayed in a room with a king bed + twin bed and a kitchen, and it was perfect for us. The room itself was a little dated/worn, but was very clean; the bathroom was recently renovated and spotless. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Parking was kind of a pain; not a ton of spots in the lot. Also the hotel property (and really the whole town) is pretty hilly so lugging the bags to the room was not the easiest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed a great stay with us! We apologize that you had difficulty parking- we are lucky to offer our guests our large parking lot, but we understand it gets full quickly and parking may be difficult in Carmel in general. We sincerely hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

So, my stay at the Hosfas House this summer was less than pleasant.... and not to mention completely overpriced. I wrote a very honest and harsh review on Yelp, because I did not want anyone else to waste $450 like I did. I stayed there as part of a room block set up by a wedding party I was in, and they contacted the Groom's mother to harass her about my review. JUST SO YOU KNOW... be careful. I was harassed at the hotel, and 2 weeks later they just keep it up. There are other hotels unless you enjoyed being stalked and harassed by $14/hour hotel workers.

Room Tip: Stay at a different overpriced Carmel hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
The guest who wrote this review was part of a wedding group that was extremely loud and swimming in our pool in the very early morning hours (1 am). Due to the unruly behavior of this group, the police were called by another guest at the hotel for assistance in quieting them down. The police arrived, spoke to some of the guests and my sister who was also trying to quiet them all down.

Due to the number of complaints we received from the first night, and our concern for the other guests staying with us, my sister did her best to monitor the situation throughout the second night of the wedding party’s stay. Therefore “14/hour hotel worker” who “hassled” this group was actually my sister who is one of the owners of the hotel looking out for the other guests staying at the Hofsas House.

Carmel is a wedding destination and a beautiful place to have a wedding. However, Carmel is a very quiet town and we understand that people who come to visit are looking for a quiet and restful place to stay. It is not a place to come and party all night long such as Las Vegas . We are looking for guests who understand that and we are happy to host people who do.

I think you can see by the many other reviews of our hotel that the majority of our guests are happy with their experience at the Hofsas House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hofsas House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsas House Hotel

Address: Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#10 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual European elegance with the warmth of family hospitality, a boutique family-owned inn with 37 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Other amenities include: continental breakfast, heated swimming pool, dry saunas, off-street parking, free wireless Internet access & some rooms dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hofsas House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsas Hotel Carmel
Hofsas House Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hofsas House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.