We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hofsas House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hofsas House Hotel to your Saves list
Hofsas House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Really a very nice hotel. Travelling with my wife and kids for a wedding, stayed in a room with a king bed + twin bed and a kitchen, and it was perfect for us. The room itself was a little dated/worn, but was very clean; the bathroom was recently renovated and spotless. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Parking was kind of a pain; not a ton of spots in the lot. Also the hotel property (and really the whole town) is pretty hilly so lugging the bags to the room was not the easiest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed a great stay with us! We apologize that you had difficulty parking- we are lucky to offer our guests our large parking lot, but we understand it gets full quickly and parking may be difficult in Carmel in general. We sincerely hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    113
    47
    21
    11
See reviews for
63
117
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

So, my stay at the Hosfas House this summer was less than pleasant.... and not to mention completely overpriced. I wrote a very honest and harsh review on Yelp, because I did not want anyone else to waste $450 like I did. I stayed there as part of a room block set up by a wedding party I was in, and they contacted the Groom's mother to harass her about my review. JUST SO YOU KNOW... be careful. I was harassed at the hotel, and 2 weeks later they just keep it up. There are other hotels unless you enjoyed being stalked and harassed by $14/hour hotel workers.

Room Tip: Stay at a different overpriced Carmel hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
The guest who wrote this review was part of a wedding group that was extremely loud and swimming in our pool in the very early morning hours (1 am). Due to the unruly behavior of this group, the police were called by another guest at the hotel for assistance in quieting them down. The police arrived, spoke to some of the guests and my sister who was also trying to quiet them all down.

Due to the number of complaints we received from the first night, and our concern for the other guests staying with us, my sister did her best to monitor the situation throughout the second night of the wedding party’s stay. Therefore “14/hour hotel worker” who “hassled” this group was actually my sister who is one of the owners of the hotel looking out for the other guests staying at the Hofsas House.

Carmel is a wedding destination and a beautiful place to have a wedding. However, Carmel is a very quiet town and we understand that people who come to visit are looking for a quiet and restful place to stay. It is not a place to come and party all night long such as Las Vegas . We are looking for guests who understand that and we are happy to host people who do.

I think you can see by the many other reviews of our hotel that the majority of our guests are happy with their experience at the Hofsas House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We loved staying at the Hofsas House! The staff is friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious for the three of us with comfortable beds. The bathroom seems to have been redone recently with nice tile and a heated floor. It was very clean.

We had a kitchen area with full-sized appliances. We didn't cook but did use the refrigerator and coffee maker. There was a little seating area with a table and also a table on the balcony outside our of our door (most of the doors seemed to be dutch doors). They offer breakfast in the mornings with nice pastries, fruit, coffee and juice. You can eat in the (very small) lobby or they will give you a tray to take to your room.

The location was great for walking around Carmel but not in a noisy neighborhood. You can hear people walking, shutting doors, etc. but I didn't think it was excessive and it didn't keep me from sleeping.

The free wireless was not very strong but we could use it. The television in our room was not a flat screen but it did have a good selection of channels. There is a heated pool and a sauna (we did not use either but we were only there two nights).

There is no air-conditioning but it was not needed as the temperatures were extremely pleasant and cool at night. (Note: we are from the south and turn our ac on in early spring as soon as the heat is no longer needed!). Other reviewers have commented that the hotel is "tired". It is not super-modern but it is very comfortable, clean and in good repair. If you are looking for the urban boutique hotel experience, then choose a different place. If you are looking for a reasonably priced, clean and comfortable hotel in a great location then this is the place.

Room Tip: Call the hotel and be very specific about your needs; they will select a room to suit you. I would n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we truly hope you will visit us again next time you are in Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Our family of five could sleep in the same room with separate bedrooms and two bathrooms. Rooms were clean and beds convenient. Has heated pool. Small breakfast included.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed the large rooms and had a wonderful stay. We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We decided to stay at this hotel after reading a travel review of it in our local newspaper. Carmel is a popular tourist destination and there are all types of accommodations, but now that we are the doting owners of a 50 lb English bull terrier, dog-friendly is prized above everything else. The hotel is a bit dated, but by no means dingy or dilapidated. We had a comfortable, clean room and water pressure was just right. What more can you ask for? A major plus was we were able to take our well-behaved dog poolside. And just to the right of the parking lot exit is a nice bit of dirt patch where the dog could do it's business. We always picked up, of course, with the doggie bags which were conveniently placed nearby.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
We are happy you and your four-legged friend decided to join us! We hope you stay with us again next time you visit Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed with my family of 6 in a nice suite at the hotel. The room was big and comfortable and the location was very convenient. The employees were quite nice too, it definitely had a bit of a bed and breakfast atmosphere even though it is not a small place.

Now, there were some details that could have made for a much better experience: the wireless internet was pretty much inaccessible from our room except for this one spot by a window, the breakfast was skimpy, very little choice and very few items... odd for a hotel that charges a not so cheap rate and that was nearly full during our stay. Also there was this giant sink-and-vanity thing parked in our room, didn't belong to our room, looks like they were storing it there, again, it was not nasty or anything but it was an eyesore in the middle of the main bedroom.

So nice place and nice people, it could be so much better with just a little bit of effort from the owners.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed the friendly staff and the large reviews. We are sorry about your internet connectivity and we appreciate your feedback. We sincerely hope you will consider visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We often do weekend mini-vacations in this area and have stayed at dozens of places in Carmel, Monterey, and Capitola over the past 30 plus years. This is the first time at the Hofsas House, and we booked it for two nights primarily based on tripadvisor reviews, location, and price. The location is as advertised, an easy five minute walk to Ocean Ave with plenty of parking at the Hotel. We were upgraded to a large King room with a gas fireplace, which included a mini-frig and microwave, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, table & chairs, 120+ cable, and a good sized balcony also fitted w/table and chairs. There was no street traffic and we were not disturbed by other guests in the only adjacent room. It is an older property, but the large comfortable bed, bedding, carpets, paint, and solid furniture, all presented a new, well-maintained, and clean appearance. Staff was friendly and informative. There is a heated pool which we didn't use. The downsides are trivial. The Pacific is visible but quite distant and the view looks over the pool, parking lots, and structures. Descriptions of 'fabulous views' shouldn't unrealistically raise one's expectations. The reservation also implied a bit more of a breakfast than is actually served. Continental "like" is closer, coffee, juice, some fruit, and pastry, all good, but as with the view, somewhat over stated. That said, for the price, this Hotel compares very well with others in this area and is a hotel we would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hofsas House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsas House Hotel

Address: Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hofsas House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual European elegance with the warmth of family hospitality, a boutique family-owned inn with 37 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Other amenities include: continental breakfast, heated swimming pool, dry saunas, off-street parking, free wireless Internet access & some rooms dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Hofsas House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsas Hotel Carmel
Hofsas House Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hofsas House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.