We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice big room and nice people, but place is a bit "tired"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hofsas House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hofsas House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hofsas House Hotel
Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Miami, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice big room and nice people, but place is a bit "tired"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed with my family of 6 in a nice suite at the hotel. The room was big and comfortable and the location was very convenient. The employees were quite nice too, it definitely had a bit of a bed and breakfast atmosphere even though it is not a small place.

Now, there were some details that could have made for a much better experience: the wireless internet was pretty much inaccessible from our room except for this one spot by a window, the breakfast was skimpy, very little choice and very few items... odd for a hotel that charges a not so cheap rate and that was nearly full during our stay. Also there was this giant sink-and-vanity thing parked in our room, didn't belong to our room, looks like they were storing it there, again, it was not nasty or anything but it was an eyesore in the middle of the main bedroom.

So nice place and nice people, it could be so much better with just a little bit of effort from the owners.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed the friendly staff and the large reviews. We are sorry about your internet connectivity and we appreciate your feedback. We sincerely hope you will consider visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    90
    42
    20
    9
See reviews for
52
94
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We often do weekend mini-vacations in this area and have stayed at dozens of places in Carmel, Monterey, and Capitola over the past 30 plus years. This is the first time at the Hofsas House, and we booked it for two nights primarily based on tripadvisor reviews, location, and price. The location is as advertised, an easy five minute walk to Ocean Ave with plenty of parking at the Hotel. We were upgraded to a large King room with a gas fireplace, which included a mini-frig and microwave, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, table & chairs, 120+ cable, and a good sized balcony also fitted w/table and chairs. There was no street traffic and we were not disturbed by other guests in the only adjacent room. It is an older property, but the large comfortable bed, bedding, carpets, paint, and solid furniture, all presented a new, well-maintained, and clean appearance. Staff was friendly and informative. There is a heated pool which we didn't use. The downsides are trivial. The Pacific is visible but quite distant and the view looks over the pool, parking lots, and structures. Descriptions of 'fabulous views' shouldn't unrealistically raise one's expectations. The reservation also implied a bit more of a breakfast than is actually served. Continental "like" is closer, coffee, juice, some fruit, and pastry, all good, but as with the view, somewhat over stated. That said, for the price, this Hotel compares very well with others in this area and is a hotel we would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dracut, ma
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

After looking at so many places to stay in Carmel, we chose this one and we are so glad we did. The price was affordable which was one of the main draws for us. However, the location was also very important. It was very convenient to walk into town without having to worry about transportation. The staff was very helpful and very knowledgeable. The room was really nice and more than we had expected. Not only did we have a king size bed with a partial ocean view, but also a small kitchenette with a refrigerator, microwave, toaster, etc., table, and chairs. We also had a good sized balcony which unfortunately we never got to use since we were so busy seeing the sights. We left early a.m. and they gave us some pastries and fruit to go as they would not be at the desk that early. I would definitely recommend this quaint,CLEAN, hotel to anyone going to Carmel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
We are happy to offer our guests a wonderful location, friendly service and beautiful views in addition to an affordable price. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hofsas House Hotel for one night and we were greeted with very kind and helpful service. The room was nice and our shared deck had a view of the water! We loved the location and experience!

Room Tip: Pick one with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed the great, central location! We hope you think of us again on your next visit to Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

The inn was a couple blocks away from the main shopping area in Carmel. Every thing there is quite walkable and easy to get to though - maybe a 5 min walk into the main part. There is also lots of parking there so you don't have to worry about moving your car around town. The Hofsas House is a comfortable stay. My favourite part was the heated tile in the bathroom floor. Such a nice touch!!! The only issue I found was the walls were very thin. I could hear everything from the room beside us. The staff were very friendly and the view from the balcony was fabulous! We'd go back there again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a private balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are family owned and operated, and we are happy you enjoyed warm and welcoming service! The location and views from the balcony are wonderful and we are glad you enjoyed. We hope you stay with us again on your next visit to Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

This inn is located in town but in a quiet section a few blocks from the main drag, Ocean Avenue. The room was large and comfortable, though older and not particularly modern. No bellman so you must lug your luggage (upstairs in our case). We had a small kitchenette with frig in our room. The bathroom was large though oddly shaped. There is a pool on site but it was too cold outside to swim. The staff is friendly. Breakfast is included and consists of coffee, orange juice, yogurt, banana/apple and various croissants, which may be taken to your room or enjoyed in the small reception area. This place was an enjoyable two-day stay, and we would return.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed our friendly staff as well as the complimentary breakfast. We look forward to you visiting us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Location and setting is great - but some serious remodel is necessary. Everything about this boutique property needs to put some fat (insulation) on it. The doors are paper thin - as are the walls. We could literally hear the couple next door when they were talking in their room - and they were just speaking in average tones. The owners also need to put some money into the sheets and towels - the towels were very old and very very thin - Also not an easy place to get around in - numerous stairs everywhere.

Now regarding the staffing - EXCELLENT! All of the lobby staff were super polite and helpful and a definite plus for the property.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and will look into your comments. We are glad you enjoyed our friendly staff and we hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hofsas House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsas House Hotel

Address: Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual European elegance with the warmth of family hospitality, a boutique family-owned inn with 37 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Other amenities include: continental breakfast, heated swimming pool, dry saunas, off-street parking, free wireless Internet access & some rooms dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hofsas House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsas Hotel Carmel
Hofsas House Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hofsas House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.