We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice big room and nice people, but place is a bit "tired"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hofsas House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hofsas House Hotel to your Saves list
Hofsas House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice big room and nice people, but place is a bit "tired"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed with my family of 6 in a nice suite at the hotel. The room was big and comfortable and the location was very convenient. The employees were quite nice too, it definitely had a bit of a bed and breakfast atmosphere even though it is not a small place.

Now, there were some details that could have made for a much better experience: the wireless internet was pretty much inaccessible from our room except for this one spot by a window, the breakfast was skimpy, very little choice and very few items... odd for a hotel that charges a not so cheap rate and that was nearly full during our stay. Also there was this giant sink-and-vanity thing parked in our room, didn't belong to our room, looks like they were storing it there, again, it was not nasty or anything but it was an eyesore in the middle of the main bedroom.

So nice place and nice people, it could be so much better with just a little bit of effort from the owners.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tasfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed the friendly staff and the large reviews. We are sorry about your internet connectivity and we appreciate your feedback. We sincerely hope you will consider visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We often do weekend mini-vacations in this area and have stayed at dozens of places in Carmel, Monterey, and Capitola over the past 30 plus years. This is the first time at the Hofsas House, and we booked it for two nights primarily based on tripadvisor reviews, location, and price. The location is as advertised, an easy five minute walk to Ocean Ave with plenty of parking at the Hotel. We were upgraded to a large King room with a gas fireplace, which included a mini-frig and microwave, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, table & chairs, 120+ cable, and a good sized balcony also fitted w/table and chairs. There was no street traffic and we were not disturbed by other guests in the only adjacent room. It is an older property, but the large comfortable bed, bedding, carpets, paint, and solid furniture, all presented a new, well-maintained, and clean appearance. Staff was friendly and informative. There is a heated pool which we didn't use. The downsides are trivial. The Pacific is visible but quite distant and the view looks over the pool, parking lots, and structures. Descriptions of 'fabulous views' shouldn't unrealistically raise one's expectations. The reservation also implied a bit more of a breakfast than is actually served. Continental "like" is closer, coffee, juice, some fruit, and pastry, all good, but as with the view, somewhat over stated. That said, for the price, this Hotel compares very well with others in this area and is a hotel we would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SH461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dracut, ma
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

After looking at so many places to stay in Carmel, we chose this one and we are so glad we did. The price was affordable which was one of the main draws for us. However, the location was also very important. It was very convenient to walk into town without having to worry about transportation. The staff was very helpful and very knowledgeable. The room was really nice and more than we had expected. Not only did we have a king size bed with a partial ocean view, but also a small kitchenette with a refrigerator, microwave, toaster, etc., table, and chairs. We also had a good sized balcony which unfortunately we never got to use since we were so busy seeing the sights. We left early a.m. and they gave us some pastries and fruit to go as they would not be at the desk that early. I would definitely recommend this quaint,CLEAN, hotel to anyone going to Carmel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophia90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
We are happy to offer our guests a wonderful location, friendly service and beautiful views in addition to an affordable price. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hofsas House Hotel for one night and we were greeted with very kind and helpful service. The room was nice and our shared deck had a view of the water! We loved the location and experience!

Room Tip: Pick one with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klp179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed the great, central location! We hope you think of us again on your next visit to Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

The inn was a couple blocks away from the main shopping area in Carmel. Every thing there is quite walkable and easy to get to though - maybe a 5 min walk into the main part. There is also lots of parking there so you don't have to worry about moving your car around town. The Hofsas House is a comfortable stay. My favourite part was the heated tile in the bathroom floor. Such a nice touch!!! The only issue I found was the walls were very thin. I could hear everything from the room beside us. The staff were very friendly and the view from the balcony was fabulous! We'd go back there again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a private balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank filinsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are family owned and operated, and we are happy you enjoyed warm and welcoming service! The location and views from the balcony are wonderful and we are glad you enjoyed. We hope you stay with us again on your next visit to Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
251 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This inn is located in town but in a quiet section a few blocks from the main drag, Ocean Avenue. The room was large and comfortable, though older and not particularly modern. No bellman so you must lug your luggage (upstairs in our case). We had a small kitchenette with frig in our room. The bathroom was large though oddly shaped. There is a pool on site but it was too cold outside to swim. The staff is friendly. Breakfast is included and consists of coffee, orange juice, yogurt, banana/apple and various croissants, which may be taken to your room or enjoyed in the small reception area. This place was an enjoyable two-day stay, and we would return.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diverdad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed our friendly staff as well as the complimentary breakfast. We look forward to you visiting us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Location and setting is great - but some serious remodel is necessary. Everything about this boutique property needs to put some fat (insulation) on it. The doors are paper thin - as are the walls. We could literally hear the couple next door when they were talking in their room - and they were just speaking in average tones. The owners also need to put some money into the sheets and towels - the towels were very old and very very thin - Also not an easy place to get around in - numerous stairs everywhere.

Now regarding the staffing - EXCELLENT! All of the lobby staff were super polite and helpful and a definite plus for the property.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JD1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and will look into your comments. We are glad you enjoyed our friendly staff and we hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#17 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#20 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 379 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hofsas House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsas House Hotel

Address: Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#11 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hofsas House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual European elegance with the warmth of family hospitality, a boutique family-owned inn with 37 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Other amenities include: continental breakfast, heated swimming pool, dry saunas, off-street parking, free wireless Internet access & some rooms dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hofsas House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsas Hotel Carmel
Hofsas House Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing