We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay while visiting Carmel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hofsas House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hofsas House Hotel to your Saves list
Hofsas House Hotel
Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
dracut, ma
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay while visiting Carmel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

After looking at so many places to stay in Carmel, we chose this one and we are so glad we did. The price was affordable which was one of the main draws for us. However, the location was also very important. It was very convenient to walk into town without having to worry about transportation. The staff was very helpful and very knowledgeable. The room was really nice and more than we had expected. Not only did we have a king size bed with a partial ocean view, but also a small kitchenette with a refrigerator, microwave, toaster, etc., table, and chairs. We also had a good sized balcony which unfortunately we never got to use since we were so busy seeing the sights. We left early a.m. and they gave us some pastries and fruit to go as they would not be at the desk that early. I would definitely recommend this quaint,CLEAN, hotel to anyone going to Carmel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
We are happy to offer our guests a wonderful location, friendly service and beautiful views in addition to an affordable price. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    109
    44
    21
    11
See reviews for
59
111
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hofsas House Hotel for one night and we were greeted with very kind and helpful service. The room was nice and our shared deck had a view of the water! We loved the location and experience!

Room Tip: Pick one with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed the great, central location! We hope you think of us again on your next visit to Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

The inn was a couple blocks away from the main shopping area in Carmel. Every thing there is quite walkable and easy to get to though - maybe a 5 min walk into the main part. There is also lots of parking there so you don't have to worry about moving your car around town. The Hofsas House is a comfortable stay. My favourite part was the heated tile in the bathroom floor. Such a nice touch!!! The only issue I found was the walls were very thin. I could hear everything from the room beside us. The staff were very friendly and the view from the balcony was fabulous! We'd go back there again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a private balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are family owned and operated, and we are happy you enjoyed warm and welcoming service! The location and views from the balcony are wonderful and we are glad you enjoyed. We hope you stay with us again on your next visit to Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

This inn is located in town but in a quiet section a few blocks from the main drag, Ocean Avenue. The room was large and comfortable, though older and not particularly modern. No bellman so you must lug your luggage (upstairs in our case). We had a small kitchenette with frig in our room. The bathroom was large though oddly shaped. There is a pool on site but it was too cold outside to swim. The staff is friendly. Breakfast is included and consists of coffee, orange juice, yogurt, banana/apple and various croissants, which may be taken to your room or enjoyed in the small reception area. This place was an enjoyable two-day stay, and we would return.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed our friendly staff as well as the complimentary breakfast. We look forward to you visiting us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Location and setting is great - but some serious remodel is necessary. Everything about this boutique property needs to put some fat (insulation) on it. The doors are paper thin - as are the walls. We could literally hear the couple next door when they were talking in their room - and they were just speaking in average tones. The owners also need to put some money into the sheets and towels - the towels were very old and very very thin - Also not an easy place to get around in - numerous stairs everywhere.

Now regarding the staffing - EXCELLENT! All of the lobby staff were super polite and helpful and a definite plus for the property.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and will look into your comments. We are glad you enjoyed our friendly staff and we hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The fog filtering through the Monterrey Pines added a romantic element to our view,which we enjoyed next to a cozy fireplace, in our large king room furnished with two comfortable chairs to enjoy the view in, along with nice antiques in the room. A very pleasant stay included a continental breakfast with trays so we could continue to enjoy our ocean view. An easy walk to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room. Number 45 was nice, although there is a connecting door. They promised to not p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the complimentary breakfast! We hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Having read the reviews of Carmel accommodation my expectations were low but I was pleasantly surprised with this establishment. I travelled with my mum, in laws, husband and 2 children. We booked the family suite which was wonderful as it had a little kitchen as well. Breakfast was good. Lovely pastries and friendly service. I would stay there again.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
We are happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! We are happy to offer larger rooms for families and glad you enjoyed the breakfast! We hope you stay with us again next time you are in Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hofsas House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsas House Hotel

Address: Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#10 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual European elegance with the warmth of family hospitality, a boutique family-owned inn with 37 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Other amenities include: continental breakfast, heated swimming pool, dry saunas, off-street parking, free wireless Internet access & some rooms dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hofsas House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsas Hotel Carmel
Hofsas House Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hofsas House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.