We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roomy rooms and a nice view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hofsas House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hofsas House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hofsas House Hotel
Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Roomy rooms and a nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The fog filtering through the Monterrey Pines added a romantic element to our view,which we enjoyed next to a cozy fireplace, in our large king room furnished with two comfortable chairs to enjoy the view in, along with nice antiques in the room. A very pleasant stay included a continental breakfast with trays so we could continue to enjoy our ocean view. An easy walk to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room. Number 45 was nice, although there is a connecting door. They promised to not p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the complimentary breakfast! We hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    83
    38
    20
    9
See reviews for
47
89
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Having read the reviews of Carmel accommodation my expectations were low but I was pleasantly surprised with this establishment. I travelled with my mum, in laws, husband and 2 children. We booked the family suite which was wonderful as it had a little kitchen as well. Breakfast was good. Lovely pastries and friendly service. I would stay there again.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
We are happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! We are happy to offer larger rooms for families and glad you enjoyed the breakfast! We hope you stay with us again next time you are in Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Hofsas House. We came with our kids on a family weekend trip. When we arrived, we were greeted by friendly staff and felt very welcome. We had two rooms - one king with fireplace and next door 2 queens for the kids. We loved the dutch doors which opened at the top allowing us to enjoy the wonderful breeze and the gorgeous view of the sea and the sunset over the treetops.

There are several rooms which are HUGE with two rooms and two bathrooms which will accommodate a family in one room with lots of space, as well as family cottages. Most of the rooms have a kitchenette with sink, fridge, coffee-maker. The beds and bed linens are very nice.

Even though it was cool out, the kids enjoyed the heated pool, and especially, the dry sauna after their dip. The kids also enjoyed the light breakfast - yogurt, fruit, pastries, coffee and tea- served in the office every morning. We took our tray up to the terrace to enjoy breakfast with an ocean view.

The property is very European and all of the rooms are uniquely decorated. It's a lot like visiting your grandma...you feel very cozy and at home here; there are brass headboards, flowery bedspreads, antiques, white window shutters. There are modern amenities, too, such as flat screen TV, hair dryers, coffee maker and mini-fridge in the kitchenette. A big plus: the rooms and the property are spotless and the cleaning staff work hard to keep it that way. The property is not new--it's been around for 60 years, but it is well kept and very clean. I am VERY picky about cleanliness and I was very happy with how spotless the rooms, bathrooms and grounds were.

Carrie, the owner, works on-site and oversees everything. She is so hospitable and welcoming and gave us lots of information on where to eat, what to see and do. Knowing that we were traveling with our kids, she left us a bundle of wood and a s'mores making kit in our room along with beach blankets so we could build a fire at the beach.

The location can't be beat. It's on a quiet back street within walking distance to everything. The hotel is a nice alternative to chain hotels where you might not get the same welcoming feeling. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend Hofsas House to anyone traveling to Carmel!

Room Tip: Choose one of the larger family suites or cottage if you are traveling with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We feel the great location, beautiful views and friendly service are terrific perks to our property, and we are glad you enjoyed them too! We hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed with 2 teenagers for 2 nights during their ski week from school. The room was extremely clean and quite big. Beds were comfortable and a fireplace lovely. Also heating worked well (it was pretty chilly in the evenings). Breakfast was included and it was much better than usually with this price range. Fresh baked goods, coffee, yogurt, juice, fruits.. There is not actually a breakfast room, so you may take breakfast to your room or eat it at the tiny lobby.
Heated pool is our kid's favorite. There is also a sauna which itself is always great, but temperature was too mild.
Location is perfect within short walk to main street.
I was impressed with very friendly staff. We arrived really late, but Michael was really helpful with finding us a dinner place.
Would love to go back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us! We are happy to provide a complementary breakfast and we are glad you enjoyed it. The pool is always a great treat! We hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Having been back again, we just have to tell all, that this is the finest family run operation in Carmel. The updated bathrooms were needed and done. Extemely clean and well run. We have stayed here many years and will continue to do so.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and get a ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for a weekend in January. I was impressed with the friendly, helpful and welcoming staff. At check-in they offered help with locating anything we were looking to see, and gave us help with restaurants. The hotel is well located, within a short walk to the center of town. We stayed in a room (#21) with two beds - a large queen (or king, not sure) and a twin. We had a cute kitchenette which would come in handy if you wanted to cook up a few things or store some snacks. There was a large, shared balcony outside the door with some tables and chairs and a view of the tree tops. The room windows have blinds, which means you can let in the light without sacrificing privacy. It was also very quiet. All in all, a great place at a great price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Thank you for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed the central location and friendly service! We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This hotel is an older but quaint hotel set on a very steep slope. They have a pool and sauna. We stayed over Christmas and the host was extremely helpful with restaurant reservations. We parked the car on Friday night and walked everywhere. The beach is about a 15 minute walk; stores 5 minutes. Ask for the bridal suite. You can park right outside your door on the same level as the room; it has a fireplace; and from the deck out back you can see the ocean. The continental breakfast consists of bakery rolls in a basket and orange juice. Pets are allowed for an extra fee. WiFi was a bit spotty but it is free as is parking. Great location to drive the 17 mile drive; Area is very quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Pics on the web site but bridal suite has ocean view and it is on the same level as parking but beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed the central location at Hofsas House and the in room fireplaces! We hope you will visit us again and pets are always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hofsas House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsas House Hotel

Also Known As:
Hofsas Hotel Carmel
Hofsas House Hotel Carmel
Hofsas Hotel
Address: Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#15 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual European elegance with the warmth of family hospitality, a boutique family-owned inn with 37 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Other amenities include: continental breakfast, heated swimming pool, dry saunas, off-street parking, free wireless Internet access & some rooms dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hofsas House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hofsas House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.