We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roomy rooms and a nice view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hofsas House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hofsas House Hotel to your Saves list
Hofsas House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
310 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Roomy rooms and a nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

The fog filtering through the Monterrey Pines added a romantic element to our view,which we enjoyed next to a cozy fireplace, in our large king room furnished with two comfortable chairs to enjoy the view in, along with nice antiques in the room. A very pleasant stay included a continental breakfast with trays so we could continue to enjoy our ocean view. An easy walk to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room. Number 45 was nice, although there is a connecting door. They promised to not p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dkayrenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the complimentary breakfast! We hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Having read the reviews of Carmel accommodation my expectations were low but I was pleasantly surprised with this establishment. I travelled with my mum, in laws, husband and 2 children. We booked the family suite which was wonderful as it had a little kitchen as well. Breakfast was good. Lovely pastries and friendly service. I would stay there again.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Karuna-Maharaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
We are happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! We are happy to offer larger rooms for families and glad you enjoyed the breakfast! We hope you stay with us again next time you are in Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Hofsas House. We came with our kids on a family weekend trip. When we arrived, we were greeted by friendly staff and felt very welcome. We had two rooms - one king with fireplace and next door 2 queens for the kids. We loved the dutch doors which opened at the top allowing us to enjoy the wonderful breeze and the gorgeous view of the sea and the sunset over the treetops.

There are several rooms which are HUGE with two rooms and two bathrooms which will accommodate a family in one room with lots of space, as well as family cottages. Most of the rooms have a kitchenette with sink, fridge, coffee-maker. The beds and bed linens are very nice.

Even though it was cool out, the kids enjoyed the heated pool, and especially, the dry sauna after their dip. The kids also enjoyed the light breakfast - yogurt, fruit, pastries, coffee and tea- served in the office every morning. We took our tray up to the terrace to enjoy breakfast with an ocean view.

The property is very European and all of the rooms are uniquely decorated. It's a lot like visiting your grandma...you feel very cozy and at home here; there are brass headboards, flowery bedspreads, antiques, white window shutters. There are modern amenities, too, such as flat screen TV, hair dryers, coffee maker and mini-fridge in the kitchenette. A big plus: the rooms and the property are spotless and the cleaning staff work hard to keep it that way. The property is not new--it's been around for 60 years, but it is well kept and very clean. I am VERY picky about cleanliness and I was very happy with how spotless the rooms, bathrooms and grounds were.

Carrie, the owner, works on-site and oversees everything. She is so hospitable and welcoming and gave us lots of information on where to eat, what to see and do. Knowing that we were traveling with our kids, she left us a bundle of wood and a s'mores making kit in our room along with beach blankets so we could build a fire at the beach.

The location can't be beat. It's on a quiet back street within walking distance to everything. The hotel is a nice alternative to chain hotels where you might not get the same welcoming feeling. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend Hofsas House to anyone traveling to Carmel!

Room Tip: Choose one of the larger family suites or cottage if you are traveling with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank triptakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We feel the great location, beautiful views and friendly service are terrific perks to our property, and we are glad you enjoyed them too! We hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed with 2 teenagers for 2 nights during their ski week from school. The room was extremely clean and quite big. Beds were comfortable and a fireplace lovely. Also heating worked well (it was pretty chilly in the evenings). Breakfast was included and it was much better than usually with this price range. Fresh baked goods, coffee, yogurt, juice, fruits.. There is not actually a breakfast room, so you may take breakfast to your room or eat it at the tiny lobby.
Heated pool is our kid's favorite. There is also a sauna which itself is always great, but temperature was too mild.
Location is perfect within short walk to main street.
I was impressed with very friendly staff. We arrived really late, but Michael was really helpful with finding us a dinner place.
Would love to go back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurakaksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us! We are happy to provide a complementary breakfast and we are glad you enjoyed it. The pool is always a great treat! We hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Having been back again, we just have to tell all, that this is the finest family run operation in Carmel. The updated bathrooms were needed and done. Extemely clean and well run. We have stayed here many years and will continue to do so.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and get a ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccws19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

A friend and I stayed here for a weekend in January. I was impressed with the friendly, helpful and welcoming staff. At check-in they offered help with locating anything we were looking to see, and gave us help with restaurants. The hotel is well located, within a short walk to the center of town. We stayed in a room (#21) with two beds - a large queen (or king, not sure) and a twin. We had a cute kitchenette which would come in handy if you wanted to cook up a few things or store some snacks. There was a large, shared balcony outside the door with some tables and chairs and a view of the tree tops. The room windows have blinds, which means you can let in the light without sacrificing privacy. It was also very quiet. All in all, a great place at a great price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anabanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Thank you for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed the central location and friendly service! We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This hotel is an older but quaint hotel set on a very steep slope. They have a pool and sauna. We stayed over Christmas and the host was extremely helpful with restaurant reservations. We parked the car on Friday night and walked everywhere. The beach is about a 15 minute walk; stores 5 minutes. Ask for the bridal suite. You can park right outside your door on the same level as the room; it has a fireplace; and from the deck out back you can see the ocean. The continental breakfast consists of bakery rolls in a basket and orange juice. Pets are allowed for an extra fee. WiFi was a bit spotty but it is free as is parking. Great location to drive the 17 mile drive; Area is very quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Pics on the web site but bridal suite has ocean view and it is on the same level as parking but beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverStar-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed the central location at Hofsas House and the in room fireplaces! We hope you will visit us again and pets are always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#17 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#20 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hofsas House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsas House Hotel

Address: Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hofsas House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual European elegance with the warmth of family hospitality, a boutique family-owned inn with 37 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Other amenities include: continental breakfast, heated swimming pool, dry saunas, off-street parking, free wireless Internet access & some rooms dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hofsas House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsas Hotel Carmel
Hofsas House Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing