We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality and Comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hofsas House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hofsas House Hotel to your Saves list
Hofsas House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Hospitality and Comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I consider several factors in choosing a hotel, then rating it afterwards. I also try and get hotels that have character or a feel for where we are, or the type of trip I am on. In other words, when Prague, I don't want the Hilton. When in Carmel, I don't want a motel 6.
Reviews by others are very important, and we do our homework.
Location, price, cleanliness, comfort, water pressure, communication with staff, breakfast offerings, parking...all count toward a good rating.

This was a 2 day business trip where I tagged along. The rest of the group stayed elsewhere but we had the dog so I researched places we could stay. On our first trip to Carmel 3 years ago I didn't bring the dog and regretted missing the opportunity. I must have been the only person in town without a dog. I would have stayed at that same place again, but dogs were not allowed. They recommended Hofsas house.

Location is near everything. THis hotel is in a more quiet section of Carmel (although Carmel is quiet), so I should say less busy with foot traffic. It was easy walking distance to the beach, shops, parks. Because I do geocaching as a hobby, I walked all over Carmel, thru the parks (except the one that had a "no dogs" sign which I found very odd!) up and down hills, the back way to the mission, around the coast, back up, several times. If you are in shape, there is no need to ever move your car once parked. The hotel is on a hill which was really nice because of the great view from the upper ocean side rooms! Although on a hill, and with no elevators, you can come and go from the upper side and not climb so many stairs. Just a note, bringing a flashlight is a good idea. The town can get quite dark and night. Plenty of parking, which is very rare.

Once in the room, cleanliness, good hot water pressure, lighting, mirrors, space to put personal bathroom items, comfort and sometimes view are considered. The third floor "dog" king room was larger than I expected. Plenty of room to move around. Bathroom was snug with the door open, but closed it was fine. A pocked door would have been better. The mini fridge in the bathroom didn't work but as soon as we mentioned it the next morning it was replaced. Handy to have a hair dryer, so no need to pack one. We even had a closet that the hubby used. Bathroom was simple and clean. Plenty of hot water with great pressure, adequate lighting. Counter space was less than I like, but fine. Beds were a tad on the harder side (we have a new latex one so most beds woud seem hard now), but we slept fine. We have NEVER taken a dog to a hotel before. I have actually avoided hotels that allow pets in the past, due to allergies, and not knowing how clean they are. Our room was opened up to the breeze and airing out. The linens were white so we were able to tell right off that they were clean (as compared to the old style bedspreads where you never know what has been on it). I was happy and relieved.
We had a nice wide walkway and a big balcony with tables and chairs we could sit at and enjoy the view while eating breakfast on the chilly beautiful November mornings.

Staff and owner were very nice and helpful. We were pleased with the rates we were given for a 5 night stay. We really appreciated the recommendations we were given of places to eat that allowed dogs, considering the temperature outside.The few times we ate without asking were quite disappointing. Don't count on a mcdonalds or taco bell. The only "fast" food is outside the old area- Subway. Food is costly.

We were grateful for the simple breakfast. I don't know what others were complaining about. We found the pastries and bread quite tasty and fresh. Then again, we are early risers and maybe didn't get "leftovers". We asked for a carafe of hot chocolate to take to our room in the morning and often got one when we came back at night to warm up. The staff always were accomodating.

We felt like we were the only ones in the hotel the first few nights. Others mentioned how noise travels. Well, it is an old hotel with wooden walkways and stairs. Yes. Footsteps carry. It took me forever to figure out the steady pattern of clunking I kept hearing was the office footsteps back and forth, but it didn't bother me. Neither did people walking on stairs or walkways. We almost tiptoed, but still made some sound.
I never heard another dog, or saw one for that matter.
Only one night did we have trouble. Some "younger" folk were outside someplace visiting and enjoying themselves until we couldn't stand it anymore. We had been tryng to sleep for almost 4 hours. The doggie "howl" warning alarm sounded a few times because he thought someone was going to come in- and it did sound like it. I kept jumping out of bed to quiet him to not disturb others. Eventually, hubby went out and told them it had gone on too long and we were trying to sleep....they nicely apologised and it got quiet immediately. If people read these reviews then they will be aware of how sounds carry when there is no sound but the ocean, and be more careful. Carmel isn't a 'party" place so I couldn't imagine anything that can't be remedied.

We enjoyed our stay and if we get the opportunity again, will definately go back. Carmel inthe winter is wonderful. The only negative is the cost of food over several days, but that is Carmel, not the hotel.

Room Tip: The king on 3rd floor with a view which allows dogs is great. A Balcony you can relax on and watch t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, including the great location, cleanliness and large rooms. We hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    130
    50
    24
    11
See reviews for
74
135
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

The Hofsas House may not be the most luxurious hotel in Carmel, but it’s affordable, spacious, and friendly. If you want to be within short walking distance of the town’s many fantastic shops, restaurants, and art galleries, as well as one of the most stunning beaches in the world, but don’t have a small fortune to pay for the privilege, there’s no better deal. That’s why our family keeps coming back.

The Hofsas House has a variety of room configurations, including two-room suites. This was perfect for us when my husband, two kids, and I were travelling with my parents. Some rooms have fireplaces, kitchenettes, and balconies. There are also dog-friendly rooms for an additional $25/night, which is how we stumbled on the Hofsas House in the first place. To get the room that best meets your needs, it’s best to call or check out the room descriptions on the hotel’s web site.

Room Tip: The Hofsas House has a variety of room configurations, including suites, plus some rooms to accomoda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
We are happy you enjoyed the great value we offer at Hofsas House! A charming hotel, centrally located in the heat of Carmel, for a very friendly price. We hope you stay with us again next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos Hills, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

This Hotel (motel???) is excellent for travelers with dogs. About 3 blocks from the Ocean Ave, the main street, it is the last motel on the street and a short walk to a nice small park that is also used as an informal dog park. I was invited to release my 2 golden retrievers so they could play with the couple of dogs already there.

Very quiet location. our room did have an ocean view, although about a 20 degree--not 180 degree--view. with the window open you can hear the surf at night. We also had a very nice balcony.

As others have already said, the establishment is pretty basic, clean, well cared for, with a very accommodating staff. The TV was not the best, but we only cared because of a football game we wanted to watch.

For Carmel, a very good value.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 744 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We had a great stay here with our poodles. The 2-bedroom suite was HUGE, complete with a full kitchen and dining room table. We were centrally located and could walk to downtown and the beaches. The weekend we stayed, the hotel was overrun with poodles yet we never heard barking or saw any other dog-related problems. Even if you travel without a dog, you shouldn't have a problem. I've had more issues with crying babies and unsupervised hyperactive kids than dogs.

The rooms were charming and beds were comfortable. We didn't have any water pressure problems like another reviewer indicated. Bathrooms were fine.

Breakfast was lovely with delicious local pastries (oh, still thinking about that almond danish), fruit and yogurt. We used a tray to bring it back to our room.

The front office staff was so sweet. Thankfully they staffed it with pet-friendly people for Poodle Day.

We have already booked rooms for next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Hofsas House Hotel. Very sweet people. I loved the charm of the hotel. Felt like I was in a B&B. Room was a bit dated, but clean. Shower could have used a bit more flow, but it worked. When we arrived we were given the choice of two rooms, which was very thoughtful of the staff. The first room (our original) was nice, but a bit floral and out dated. The one we chose had been updated. Great view of Ocean and nice fireplace. Would return to this hotel again. Only complaint is on Saturday night there was no parking available until after an event was over in the community room. The hotel is a bit loud, but to be honest, it wasn't the staff or the hotel, it was the other guests! Be respectful of other guests please.

Room Tip: Top floor has views of Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Thank you for the great review! We make every effort to ensure that our guests are happy and we are glad to hear that you were happy with our staff. We hope you join us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We have stayed at the Hofsas House each time we have gone to Carmel and keep coming back. One trip we had a room that was just so-so, but otherwise we have loved the place because it's clean, friendly and a great location near town. The staff are very nice and helpful. We loved the little cottage room we stayed in on our most recent visit

Room Tip: The little cottage rooms are great.. motel rooms might be a tad noisy with people walking by your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
We are so happy Hofsas House is your choice when you come to Carmel! We believe our family owned and operated hotel offers visitors a wonderful value with a prime location. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I love the charm of Carmel. The Hofsas House is one of them. It's located at the quiet end of town, short walk to shops and restaurants, the beach, short drive to Point Lobos, Big Sur and Monterey. We had a girlfriend weekend, Hofsas House was able to accommodate all three of us in one large family room with one king (in the main room), two queen (in another room with a door) and two full bath with our own balcony with a distant view of the ocean. The spacious room have a small kitchenette and the usual amenities.

Yes, the carpet needs replacing and it's not the Sheraton or the Hyatt. This is a family-owned business where the owner is usually on site. The room decor may not be for everyone but the beds were super comfortable and there was plenty of towels for everyone. Hofsas House staff were hospitable and helpful. It felt more like a B&B or a small boutique hotel.

Breakfast includes pastries from a local bakery, fruit, yogurt, juice and coffee. Take a tray back to your room or enjoyed it the cozy living room.

It is a dog-friendly place as is entire town of Carmel. It also a family-friendly hotel...the rooms can accommodate a large family including the dog.

Thank you Hofsas House for a great visit. See you soon!

Room Tip: Room 27 for the large family room with two bathroom. Own balcony to extend your eating area right ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,291 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#20 of 23 in Carmel
3.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#17 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hofsas House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsas House Hotel

Address: Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hofsas House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual European elegance with the warmth of family hospitality, a boutique family-owned inn with 37 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Other amenities include: continental breakfast, heated swimming pool, dry saunas, off-street parking, free wireless Internet access & some rooms dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hofsas House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsas Hotel Carmel
Hofsas House Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hofsas House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.