We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hofsas House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hofsas House Hotel to your Saves list
Hofsas House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Ashland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great little motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We have stayed at the Hofsas House each time we have gone to Carmel and keep coming back. One trip we had a room that was just so-so, but otherwise we have loved the place because it's clean, friendly and a great location near town. The staff are very nice and helpful. We loved the little cottage room we stayed in on our most recent visit

Room Tip: The little cottage rooms are great.. motel rooms might be a tad noisy with people walking by your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
We are so happy Hofsas House is your choice when you come to Carmel! We believe our family owned and operated hotel offers visitors a wonderful value with a prime location. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    125
    49
    23
    11
See reviews for
71
129
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I love the charm of Carmel. The Hofsas House is one of them. It's located at the quiet end of town, short walk to shops and restaurants, the beach, short drive to Point Lobos, Big Sur and Monterey. We had a girlfriend weekend, Hofsas House was able to accommodate all three of us in one large family room with one king (in the main room), two queen (in another room with a door) and two full bath with our own balcony with a distant view of the ocean. The spacious room have a small kitchenette and the usual amenities.

Yes, the carpet needs replacing and it's not the Sheraton or the Hyatt. This is a family-owned business where the owner is usually on site. The room decor may not be for everyone but the beds were super comfortable and there was plenty of towels for everyone. Hofsas House staff were hospitable and helpful. It felt more like a B&B or a small boutique hotel.

Breakfast includes pastries from a local bakery, fruit, yogurt, juice and coffee. Take a tray back to your room or enjoyed it the cozy living room.

It is a dog-friendly place as is entire town of Carmel. It also a family-friendly hotel...the rooms can accommodate a large family including the dog.

Thank you Hofsas House for a great visit. See you soon!

Room Tip: Room 27 for the large family room with two bathroom. Own balcony to extend your eating area right ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

In a lovely position with lovely views from balcony, we were disappointed with the condition of the carpets in bedrooms very stained and also we requested rooms where no pets were allowed, the rooms we were given had dog blankets and smelt, we were given another room
but felt dogs had been in there as well. If you are taking a dog perfect, but if you don't like dogs in the bedroom we would definately suggest elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
We are sorry you were disappointed on your trip to Hofsas House. We do allow dogs in certain rooms, but we do offer pet-free rooms for those who do not travel with their pets. We are sorry you were unhappy with your room and we are happy to relocate people whenever possible. We apologize for your disappointment on your visit and we hope you will consider us next time you are in Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This hotel certainly has character, as it is painted bright pink with what appears to be Swiss motifs, and it is fairly reasonably priced. But - it is not much fun dragging suitcases up 2 or 3 flights of stairs to the communal verandah and then a medium-sized room which was none too clean. There was mould in the shower and dirty marks on the carpet. It was noisy, both from people walking along the verandah and from neighbours beside, above and below us.
Breakfast (coffee, yoghurt and pastries only) was served in the foyer with seating for about 6 people, so it seemed best to take the food back to the room where at least there was a small table and 2 chairs.
Would we stay here again? No way, especially as there are many alternatives in Carmel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do offer a complimentary breakfast and provide a convenient setup to dine in your room, although you are welcome to enjoy breakfast with us as well. Our pricing is quite competitive, especially in Carmel, and we strive to offer our guests a personal B&B style experience at our family owned hotel. We apologize for your disappointment and hope you will consider us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Yes, there are hotel rooms in the heart of Carmel for under $100! Of course not during the summer or on a holiday, but we were here on a Monday midOctober & paid $95 for a lovely room for 2. The bed was comfortable, the room was very clean, we had the usual amenities (including real coffee mugs and wine glasses in the room), free parking, & it's within 2 blocks of restaurants (only 1 block from Hog's Breath). The only thing missing in the room was a desk. But you have to like pink as that's the color of the bathroom tile!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Thank you for the great review! We enjoy providing a great value to our guests, and with our reasonable rates and great, central location we are able to do that! We hope you join us again next time you are in Carmel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Staff were really friendly and welcoming. The rooms are a bit dated in their decor but entirely comfortable, clean, and spacious. I thought the hotel offered good value. Carmel is very compact, and this hotel is only 2-3 blocks away from the main strip. I arrived with 30 minutes left to get ready for a wedding. There had been a mixup and my room wasn't ready for me, but they really bent over backwards to make sure I was able to clean up and get ready for my event. Their enthusiastic service turned what could have been a nightmare into a rescued situation. Very nice people. I would recommend this and stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights while in Carmel for a wedding. Great location and quaint little room! Walking distance to some great restaurants, including Em Le's (HUGE tasty breakfasts and some mind-boggling fried french toast concoction).

Our bed was adorable, clean and comfy. The staff was very nice, and the water in the shower was nice and hot. The room comes with a free continental breakfast. You can sit and eat next to the fireplace in the lounge, or you can put it on a tray to enjoy in your room! (My hubby brought me breakfast in bed, which elevated it to a whole new level for me!).

Also! This hotel is pet-friendly, which is great! We'd recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofsas, Manager at Hofsas House Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you for the wonderful review! Our pet friendly hotel does offer a delicious complimentary breakfast selection- we are glad you enjoyed the french toast. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,255 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#16 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#19 of 23 in Carmel
3.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hofsas House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hofsas House Hotel

Address: Between 3rd and 4th Avenues on San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hofsas House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual European elegance with the warmth of family hospitality, a boutique family-owned inn with 37 uniquely decorated, spacious rooms, many with ocean views in the village of Carmel-by-the-Sea. Other amenities include: continental breakfast, heated swimming pool, dry saunas, off-street parking, free wireless Internet access & some rooms dog friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hofsas House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hofsas Hotel Carmel
Hofsas House Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hofsas House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.