We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price at a great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dolphin Inn to your Saves list
Dolphin Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Corner of 4th & San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 29 Carmel B&B and Inns
Orangevale, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great price at a great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We always stay in rooms with king beds and they are very comfortable with nice linens, which is very important to us. The staff always treats us very nice and is welcoming so we are happy to see them again. The pool is taken good care of and there is are ice and soda machines near the rooms. The flowers make the entire property lovely.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    62
    18
    5
    4
See reviews for
35
59
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Located three blocks from Ocean avenue and 5 min from the beach, this is fantastic hotel to stay while in Carmel. Its a smaller hotel with beautiful rooms, great service and breakfast delivered to your room. A great Irish bar is next door with many Tv's, great beers and food.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Two stars and a wish:
1. staff were pleasant and helpful
2. location was perfect (including a nice pool)
Wish: Shoddy construction meant that you can hear everything that goes on in rooms beside and above you. Wish they had better curtains on windows to block lights from outside our room.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor with no one above you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yountville, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Entering Carmel-By-The-Sea from Hiway 1, zig-zag style, on San Carlos, just caught a glimpse of Motel Rooms uphill. SLAM! REVERSE! LEFT TURN, DRIVE! "...hey, this IS a motel. End of day fatigue sets in. Try a door? - OFFICE? Ah...REGISTER. "Park Anywhere, good night,... Slam. Sound of Lock Bolt.

This was our entree' to
THE DOLPHIN INN.
27 Rooms, on 2 levels over parking.
Open and covered parking (barely enough overflow onto San Carlos days).
NO Elevator- No balconies.
Exterior Corridors, Dozens (thousands?) of steps up from parking level.
Pool (Polar Bear Type)
Continental Plus Breakfast skimpy dining area holds a handful (Guests advised/required to order night before (meals are delivered next morning - an act of faith that comes true). Just below the office/dining nook is a mystery door that opens into ....Brophy's Tavern, (a time warp reminding me of Duffy's Tavern of Old Tyme Radio). Patrons stare at we intruders but there is no avoiding that. (Unless you want to run down the 30 degree driveway).

Once out, the Carmel we remember envelops us and we were able to spend the whole day plagueing inoffensive (but hopeful) artists.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms around the pool. We liked the top floor units but my partner has 2 hip transplants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I just loved staying at Dolphin Inn. The rooms were so cosy and very clean.Carmel is such a beautiful town and I would definitely recommend the Dolphin Inn. We had to be on the road very early the next morning and our breakfast was delivered at our door the night before, great service! The Dolphin Inn will definitely see us again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montecito, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I have been staying at the Dolphin when I visit Carmel for the past 15 years plus. I have also stayed at several others for various reasons through the years. I always come back to The Dophin. I have seen the Inn getting better all the time. They have recently up graded their beds and bedding and carpeting and it is really nice. The staff and service couldn't be more friendly and helpful. There is a hopping sports bar right there that is fun and serves up a great hamburger. Another plus is it's location. Just a block or two up from the village. Great morning walk down Ocean Ave to the beach. I love it and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I personally always stay in one of the room over the car port. Sometimes you can hear a little noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Village, Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

A great location near shops at a reasonable price. The bedding is wonderful. The shower was great and the room was very clean. This is a regular stop for me while staying in Carmel. I would recommend this place for the price alone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Address: Corner of 4th & San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to many golf groups and tour professionals and featuring the popular Brophy’s Tavern, the Dolphin Inn is a Carmel classic located just steps from restaurants, art galleries and one-of-a-kind shopping. All of the spacious rooms and suites feature feather beds, private balconies, and many have gas burning fireplaces. Complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.