We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location plus parking!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dolphin Inn to your Saves list
Dolphin Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Corner of 4th & San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Torrance, Ca
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent location plus parking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was our fifth or sixth stay at the Dolphin Inn, and we'll be back next year. We always ask for an upper floor because of the view, although there isn't an elevator. Rooms are being updated, so we're looking forward to seeing those improvements. No complaints though, that's for sure. Great people working there. Very friendly and competent. We love Carmel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    71
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
44
86
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

One of several inns on the block/street that looks ok from the outside...plenty of car parking spaces.. friendly reception staff. However, our room (5) first level was looking very tired and a slightly sweaty odour pervaded on opening the door. A complete decoration wouldn't go a miss particularly the bathroom, and bedroom furniture...the set of drawers that the TV was on top of that was meant for putting our clothes in smelt badly and the writing drawer fell apart every time you opened the drawer below. Unusual thick down bed mattress topper that must have been fairly new meant to be added comfort but first night felt like you were sleeping with your feet up in the air! Can't fault excellent walking distance to restaurants, shops, beach.

Room Tip: Room 5 on the floor end run next to external staircase..meant early rising guests or the staff deliv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

From the moment we checked in we were pleased. Spacious room, crisp, white linens, private bathroom area. They did not miss a beat when it comes to the "little things" for guests. Breakfast included and delivered to your room each morning, in-room Keurig machine, fully stocked. The location to enjoy the town was perfect as well. Outdoor, heated pool was really nice as well. It is not five star hotel but the price is aligned with the accommodations. When we travel to Carmel in the future, we will definitely stay there again. I

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Wonderful inviting staff but this is not a bed and breakfast. Its an old motel that could use another round of remodeling. But you get what you pay for especially in this neck of the woods. The breakfast is a thoughtful soft cooler placed outside your room in the morning with juice and either cereal or yesterdays croissant. There's nothing really wrong its just somewhat worn out. I spent two nights on an extended journey so was trying to keep the accommodations on the budget side and thats what this provided.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great value in a town that doesn't have many. This is an older property that is nicely maintained and in an excellent location, just a couple of blocks from downtown in one of the most charming places in America. Very helpful and friendly front office staff offers fresh coffee and cookies during the day. Be warned that since it's older, the floors creak a bit, a condition magnified by the fact that Mr and Mrs Godzilla were staying upstairs, but it still doesn't take away from the great value here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

we turned up at reception after driving from sanfrancisco to a warm welcome and a realistic price after driving around looking for a price within our budget . they were very child friendly as well .the swimming pool was a welcoming sight , my daughter was in her swimming costume within seconds and in the pool . it was a very safe and secure feeling staying there. the rooms were large and spotless . the cookies in the lobby were even better as were the big red apples . i will be staying here again on my next trip from SF to LA .It was a great part of our road trip .carmel was a calm but buzzing place with lots of greenery . see you next year !

Room Tip: we were on the end which is great for children when they are in pool as they need to keep going back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and I were going to be in Carmel By The Sea for 3 days and wanted a nice place to stay with a pool. I found The Dolphin Inn on the internet, went to their site and made my reservation. Everything was great, met and in many cases exceeded our expectations. Very friendly staff, nice warm cookies in the lobby along with fruit, coffee, newspapers....just like home. The bar connected to the motel serves up great wines and also well managed.

Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
1.5 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,255 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#16 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#13 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candle Light Inn
Candle Light Inn
#12 of 28 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Address: Corner of 4th & San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to many golf groups and tour professionals and featuring the popular Brophy’s Tavern, the Dolphin Inn is a Carmel classic located just steps from restaurants, art galleries and one-of-a-kind shopping. All of the spacious rooms and suites feature feather beds, private balconies, and many have gas burning fireplaces. Complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.