We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special But the Price was Right” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Inn

Save Saved
You added Dolphin Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dolphin Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Corner of 4th & San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nothing Special But the Price was Right”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Wonderful inviting staff but this is not a bed and breakfast. Its an old motel that could use another round of remodeling. But you get what you pay for especially in this neck of the woods. The breakfast is a thoughtful soft cooler placed outside your room in the morning with juice and either cereal or yesterdays croissant. There's nothing really wrong its just somewhat worn out. I spent two nights on an extended journey so was trying to keep the accommodations on the budget side and thats what this provided.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    55
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
26
51
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Framingham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great value in a town that doesn't have many. This is an older property that is nicely maintained and in an excellent location, just a couple of blocks from downtown in one of the most charming places in America. Very helpful and friendly front office staff offers fresh coffee and cookies during the day. Be warned that since it's older, the floors creak a bit, a condition magnified by the fact that Mr and Mrs Godzilla were staying upstairs, but it still doesn't take away from the great value here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

we turned up at reception after driving from sanfrancisco to a warm welcome and a realistic price after driving around looking for a price within our budget . they were very child friendly as well .the swimming pool was a welcoming sight , my daughter was in her swimming costume within seconds and in the pool . it was a very safe and secure feeling staying there. the rooms were large and spotless . the cookies in the lobby were even better as were the big red apples . i will be staying here again on my next trip from SF to LA .It was a great part of our road trip .carmel was a calm but buzzing place with lots of greenery . see you next year !

Room Tip: we were on the end which is great for children when they are in pool as they need to keep going back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife and I were going to be in Carmel By The Sea for 3 days and wanted a nice place to stay with a pool. I found The Dolphin Inn on the internet, went to their site and made my reservation. Everything was great, met and in many cases exceeded our expectations. Very friendly staff, nice warm cookies in the lobby along with fruit, coffee, newspapers....just like home. The bar connected to the motel serves up great wines and also well managed.

Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We typically stay at their sister hotel, Svensgaard Inn across the street, but on this occasion I needed a larger room than what was available, so we stayed at the Dolphin Inn and were not disappointed. The beds and bed linens were more that of a luxury hotel, egyptian cotton and goose down. We stayed in a 'suite' with two bedrooms and two bathrooms, perfect for a family of 2 adults and 2 teens. All of the excellent service and accommodation that I have come to expect from this hotel group. We get periodic emails that give HALF off the regular price, making the value extraordinary.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this Inn in Carmel and it was perfect! Staff, service, location and presentation was excellent. It was by chance that we stayed in Carmel, and so glad we did! After a day of sightseeing we just sunk into the soooo comfy bed. What is it with beds in the States.......all memory foam!! Heaven!! Our breakfast was brought to our door at 7.30 am and there was even a pool! Just a 2 min walk to the breathtaking, quaint Carmel which was adorable! We pursued a bit of wine tasting and then off to Clint Eastwood's Mission Ranch for dinner which was superb but that's another review!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed for one night only to break our journey from San Francisco to Cambria then Los Angeles. Checked in late after spending some time at Monterey and the picturesque 17-mile drive, also a stopover at Pebble Beach. We venture out to town which is a street away to look for a place for dinner and mind you most restaurant close quite early 9pm. Back to the inn, the room is spacious, mattress rather thick and comfy but, no vanity counter in the bathroom though. Table and chairs at the balcony full of dirt. Don't bother about breakfast that was delivered in a basket. Pastries are cold and hard, juice in a box, only yoghurt and banana are ok, coffee is terrible. But the reception desk staff are both friendly and helpful

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Address: Corner of 4th & San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to many golf groups and tour professionals and featuring the popular Brophy’s Tavern, the Dolphin Inn is a Carmel classic located just steps from restaurants, art galleries and one-of-a-kind shopping. All of the spacious rooms and suites feature feather beds, private balconies, and many have gas burning fireplaces. Complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.