We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Inn

Save Saved
You added Dolphin Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dolphin Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Corner of 4th & San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
Sonoma, California
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Affordable Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We typically stay at their sister hotel, Svensgaard Inn across the street, but on this occasion I needed a larger room than what was available, so we stayed at the Dolphin Inn and were not disappointed. The beds and bed linens were more that of a luxury hotel, egyptian cotton and goose down. We stayed in a 'suite' with two bedrooms and two bathrooms, perfect for a family of 2 adults and 2 teens. All of the excellent service and accommodation that I have come to expect from this hotel group. We get periodic emails that give HALF off the regular price, making the value extraordinary.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    55
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
27
51
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this Inn in Carmel and it was perfect! Staff, service, location and presentation was excellent. It was by chance that we stayed in Carmel, and so glad we did! After a day of sightseeing we just sunk into the soooo comfy bed. What is it with beds in the States.......all memory foam!! Heaven!! Our breakfast was brought to our door at 7.30 am and there was even a pool! Just a 2 min walk to the breathtaking, quaint Carmel which was adorable! We pursued a bit of wine tasting and then off to Clint Eastwood's Mission Ranch for dinner which was superb but that's another review!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed for one night only to break our journey from San Francisco to Cambria then Los Angeles. Checked in late after spending some time at Monterey and the picturesque 17-mile drive, also a stopover at Pebble Beach. We venture out to town which is a street away to look for a place for dinner and mind you most restaurant close quite early 9pm. Back to the inn, the room is spacious, mattress rather thick and comfy but, no vanity counter in the bathroom though. Table and chairs at the balcony full of dirt. Don't bother about breakfast that was delivered in a basket. Pastries are cold and hard, juice in a box, only yoghurt and banana are ok, coffee is terrible. But the reception desk staff are both friendly and helpful

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great place to stay in Carmel. Second floor rooms have a good peek of the Bay. Short walk to Ocean Ave, town center, restaurants and shops. Cozy, comfortable rooms, some with fireplaces.
Have stayed at this lodging many times and would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bass Lake, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Having lived in Carmel for 12 years, moving away, then returning as a tourist on Father's Day 2013, was lots of fun. The Dolphin Inn was clean and cozy. We had a fireplace room on the bottom floor that we were quite pleased with. Being coastal temperature (58-67 degrees) we used the gas fireplace in the afternoon and evening. Keurig coffee pot, refrigerator, LARGE flat screen TV, table and chairs for two. We were so busy we were not able to go swimming but it looked like fun. Parking was typical for Carmel. We had to park down the street when returning late that night. I felt like a Bride on a Honeymoon.

Room Tip: Top floor has ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverton, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The room was spotless. The pillow top bed was very comfortable. The hotel was quiet. The fireplace was a nice touch. It was within walking distance of downtown. The continental breakfast and newspaper at your door in the morning was nice. The price was very reasonable and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

A great simple bed and breakfast. Well appointed and comfortable rooms with welcoming staff. Loved the breakfast boxes we took down to the beach and enjoyed in the bracing morning wind! Would recommend this to all.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FelinaSmith, Operations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we'll see you again soon!

Felina Smith
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Address: Corner of 4th & San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to many golf groups and tour professionals and featuring the popular Brophy’s Tavern, the Dolphin Inn is a Carmel classic located just steps from restaurants, art galleries and one-of-a-kind shopping. All of the spacious rooms and suites feature feather beds, private balconies, and many have gas burning fireplaces. Complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.