We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Carmel, love this B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dolphin Inn to your Saves list
Dolphin Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Corner of 4th & San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love Carmel, love this B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great place to stay in Carmel. Second floor rooms have a good peek of the Bay. Short walk to Ocean Ave, town center, restaurants and shops. Cozy, comfortable rooms, some with fireplaces.
Have stayed at this lodging many times and would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    68
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
42
77
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bass Lake, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Having lived in Carmel for 12 years, moving away, then returning as a tourist on Father's Day 2013, was lots of fun. The Dolphin Inn was clean and cozy. We had a fireplace room on the bottom floor that we were quite pleased with. Being coastal temperature (58-67 degrees) we used the gas fireplace in the afternoon and evening. Keurig coffee pot, refrigerator, LARGE flat screen TV, table and chairs for two. We were so busy we were not able to go swimming but it looked like fun. Parking was typical for Carmel. We had to park down the street when returning late that night. I felt like a Bride on a Honeymoon.

Room Tip: Top floor has ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverton, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The room was spotless. The pillow top bed was very comfortable. The hotel was quiet. The fireplace was a nice touch. It was within walking distance of downtown. The continental breakfast and newspaper at your door in the morning was nice. The price was very reasonable and the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

A great simple bed and breakfast. Well appointed and comfortable rooms with welcoming staff. Loved the breakfast boxes we took down to the beach and enjoyed in the bracing morning wind! Would recommend this to all.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FelinaSmith, Operations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we'll see you again soon!

Felina Smith
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We called Dolphin Inn and were told that the ground floor rooms were wheelchair accessible. I confirmed that we would be able to get into room without any issue... We traveled 3 hours to arrive at hotel and to learn that there is a set of 9 stairs to reach landing to room. Desk Clerk asks if my son can "just crawl up and down stairs as needed" and the staff can carry his wheelchair!!! Easter break in Carmel, son has CCD and rare disorder and to ask or make such a request.

I was appaulled, I asked for help to find another hotel, help denied, I asked for the Manager, denied and told not available. I asked that Manager call me to discuss situation... Never received call.

Best Western was there to help, provided room but rate was much higher since larger room and other amenities that were apart of room.

Dolphin Inn would not credit back to me the additional amount I had to pay.

I was very upset, felt very discriminated against my son being disabled...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FelinaSmith, Operations Manager at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
We at the Dolphin Inn are saddened to read this review. Unfortunately, this is not an accurate representation of our inn or the events that occurred with this guest.

To clarify, the Dolphin Inn is an older building and all room access is via a flight of stairs. When asked about wheelchair access, we always make a point of specifying all rooms require some stairs. In this instance, we did forewarn the guest that access to the room would require stairs. Our guest felt certain they would be able to manage.

The claim that we suggested the guest crawl is patently untrue. We are sensitive to the varied needs of our guests and would never make such a comment.

Additionally, we do our best to aid our guests in having a wonderful experience in Carmel. In the event a guest requires alternate accommodation, we make every effort to assist in finding the desired lodging. Upon arrival, the guest determined they could not access to the room. While the inn manager was not available, our front desk agent immediately aided in finding another inn and refunded the deposit payment in full.

We strive to make every guest’s visit a positive one and are disappointed at the misrepresentations in this review. Lastly, we do not understand how any of our actions or efforts could be construed as discriminatory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We found this great hidden gem just blocks off Ocean Ave ,easy walking distance to all the good restaurants and shopping areas.
The two bedroom suite we were looking for and a reasonable rate including a delightful continental breakfast delivered fresh to your doorstep in the morning.
The rooms are spacious , flat screen TV's in each bedroom , fireplace and coffeemaker, what more to ask for.
The reception staff were super friendly , providing maps and direction to Pebble Beach and the piper at Spanish Bay Golf Course at sunset , don't miss this event.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Large room, very clean, free off-street parking, walking proximity to town & beach. Quiet location. There were a couple of places that seemed a bit tired here and there, but since the price is great, that stuff is easy to overlook. I wonder about the pool area and noise, but it wasn't an issue when we were there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Address: Corner of 4th & San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to many golf groups and tour professionals and featuring the popular Brophy’s Tavern, the Dolphin Inn is a Carmel classic located just steps from restaurants, art galleries and one-of-a-kind shopping. All of the spacious rooms and suites feature feather beds, private balconies, and many have gas burning fireplaces. Complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.