We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful charming & cozy Inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Inn

Save Saved
You added Dolphin Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dolphin Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Corner of 4th & San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
Aurora, Canada
1 review
“A delightful charming & cozy Inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We found out about the Inn from the Chamber of Commerce/tourist office and we loved the inn!
Such a pretty, perfect, quaint & delightful place to stay - such attention to detail! Close to the center of town but just far enough to be peaceful. A nice walk to the beach & a great spot to fo for a run.
I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    55
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
26
51
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I took a solo trip to Carmel/Monterey over Labor Day weekend. Prices are more expensive during holidays but I was still pleased with the price. The people at the desk were always very friendly and I liked the location.

The Inn could use some updating, especially with the carpet. But, it met my needs and was clean. Breakfast comes to your room in a little cooler but it would have been nicer to have it in the lobby area.

If I'm looking for a bargain, I will more than likely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, as there is a bar below the inn, which can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here again in October 2012 and loved it just as much as our previous three times. The staff on Reception are very friendly and helpful and we met up with Jinny again and it was like meeting up with an old friend. She remembered us and we had hugs. We love this place. Last year, breakfast was in the lobby, but this year they bring breakfast to your door in a chilly bag by 7am. You fill out your menu the night before and place it under the mat at your front door. We forgot one night and dropped it down at reception around 10pm and still got our breaky. We had fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, orange juice. There are many cafes close by if you prefer that. Our room was 24, very spacious, clean and tidy, quiet and we had a clear view of the ocean in the distance from our balcony on the top level. When the fog rolls in, you won't see anything. We plan stay again next year. No air conditioning in this room, so we borrowed a fan as it was humid the nights we stayed. There are no elevators. Two flights of stairs to second level.

Room Tip: Top level has view of ocean in the far distance. Not hugely important as it's quite a distance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Let's face it, Carmel is an expensive place to stay, and while the Dolphin Inn might not be what you'd expect for the price in a less precious town, by Carmel standards it may be the best bargain in town. My room was comfortable and well appointed (right down to chilled wine glasses and a plush robe) and the staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. The Inn has a (rather noisy) sports bar/restaurant right next door, but offers dining discounts to a number of excellent restaurants nearby, (I recommend the Bistro Giovanni just down the street. Best Halibut ever!), and the continental breakfast delivered to my door was adequate and appealing. My only quibbles; thin walls and loud neighbors (who, fortunately, passed out early), and it is, though walkable, quite a trek down to the beach. Although this was just an overnight on my way down the coast, I'll definitely consider the Dolphin Inn for a longer stay; such a deal it just might make Carmel doable again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here on our roadtrip this summer, with our daughter and grand son. Check in and out went perfectly, both people I dealt with were very nice and helpful. they had coffee, and hot water for tea or hot chocolate and a bowl of apples in the lobby all the time. They also put out delicious cookies during the day. Even though it is an older property as are most of the places in Carmel by the Sea, it is very well maintained and everything is clean, attractive and in working order. Our beds were very comfortable and there was a table and chairs to eat our very delicious breakfast which was delivered to our door in the morning in a cooler. there were 3 kinds of cereal bowls, 3 pieces of fresh fruit of good quality, some delicous obviously fresh baked items, scone, muffin, etc. that came from a bakery not cosco type stuff! 100% pure juice, milk, and the coffee in the room was from the Carmel Valley roasting company who's organic coffee is so good I order it from them and have it shipped to me in Canada! That was a realy treat to have it right in our room. The room was spotlessly clean, and the bathroom area was seperate from the vanity and coffee making area, and both were spotlessly clean, the housekeepers do a fantastic job!! We did not take advantage of the pool but it looked very inviting and very clean! It is very close to the main walking area around all the lovely little shops of Carmel By The Sea, and there are lot's of great places to eat just minutes away. there is a pub onsite, but we did not try it as we were travelling with a child, however there was no loud noise from the pub so I think it is a nice quiet place. We will be staying at the Dolphin Inn again on our upcoming road trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We made this our second stop en route from Los Angeles to San Francisco. Arriving late afternoon we found this place to be quite relaxed in atmosphere if a little 'hands off' in terms of staffing - this, however, is because as an 'Inn' it is a collection of rooms allied to a central but separate office/reception building and not a hotel style set-up. No restaurant. The room we had was close to the lovely heated outdoor pool and we found it very pleasant, with a nice bathroom, coffee maker/kettle, gas fireplace etc etc. The bedding was a little antiquated but clean fresh and comfy. Breakfast arrives in a cooler bag having been ordered via a slip the night before; it gets left outside your room door. This doesn't sound ideal, does it, but it actually works very nicely and when there was a mistake in the order it was corrected quickly and without fuss. The Inn is well situated in a quiet yet central spot and you can easily walk all around central Carmel from here. The beach is a bit further away, and down quite a steep hill, so driving might be a better option if you don't fancy the climb back up. We enjoyed our brief and relaxing stay in this comfortable Inn in this charming town.

Room Tip: Our room was adjacent to the pool, which I suspect we paid for, but it's probably worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I am amazed at some of the reviews for this place.
The delivered "continental breakfast" is in fact a cold clingfilm wrapped croisant and 1 danish pastry also film wrapped, not fresh. An over proccessed orange juice and an individual cereal packet (not even 2 for a double room!). Yes this is left outside your room in an insulated bag. Thankfully, there are nice coffee shops and bakeries for breakfast not far away.
The first room we were given (we arived after reception open hours) had such an unpleasant pungant smell it was very difficult to settle and sleep. The next day we switched rooms. They moved us to an upstairs room with a fireplace and expected us to pay extra for the fireplace "up-grade".
The carpets in both the rooms we experienced definately encouraged you to keep your shoes on.
There was a gap around the door in which let the wind blow through in this room so we had to sleep with the fire on. Not something either myself or my husband were happy about.
The bathroom in both rooms were very small and very tired, rust stains around the overflow a lot of limescale marks around the taps. A very grotty shower curtain...
This place definately needs some investment to bring it up to speed. we didn't find it particularly cheap either.
There are thermus flasks of coffee available at reception. We didn't try it.
It is quiet, there is parking and it is quite well placed to wander around the town, although quite a way from the very nice beach so you would probably need to drive to enjoy that.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Address: Corner of 4th & San Carlos Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home to many golf groups and tour professionals and featuring the popular Brophy’s Tavern, the Dolphin Inn is a Carmel classic located just steps from restaurants, art galleries and one-of-a-kind shopping. All of the spacious rooms and suites feature feather beds, private balconies, and many have gas burning fireplaces. Complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning in the lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.