We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for a great price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cobblestone Inn

Save Saved
You added Cobblestone Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cobblestone Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Junipero Between Seventh & Eighth, PO Box 3185, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 29 Carmel B&B and Inns
Modesto, California
1 review
“Great stay for a great price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stood here for our one year anniversary trip and got a great deal during their winter special. We loved it, it was very cute and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and always welcoming and great, they made you feel very comfortable, the rooms were very cute and clean. Parking is a bit tough since there are only a handful of spots inside, but there it's plenty of parking along the front side. The complimentary breakfast was delicious! It is very close to the outdoor shopping mall, like a block away, the beach is a bit away, but you get to walk by all of the shops on the way down. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone who asks!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear jo_hernandez1,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Cobblestone Inn. We appreciate your feedback and are happy you enjoyed your stay. Happy anniversary!

Warmest Regards,

The Cobblestone Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    86
    33
    26
    18
See reviews for
32
166
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manteca, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My fiance and I were in town to scout wedding venues. I chose this place because of the reviews and the price. We stayed on a Friday and Saturday night in March.

First some key information that you will want to know: There are 4 parking spaces in the courtyard area of the hotel, including one reserved for handicapped. There is no indication as you drive up that there is any parking on site, so it's easy to miss. All other parking is on the street, and it's free, but you may have to walk a short distance. We found out later that they dont mind if you park in the driveway when you check in.

We arrived at the hotel at about 4:30 pm (check in begins at 3:00 pm). I was initially ignored by the desk staff, then a manager said someone would be right with me. When the clerk finished what she was doing, she began checking me in. She promptly informed me that they haven't checked the room yet and weren't sure if it was ready and asked if I could wait a few minutes. Later, after determining that the room was ready, she started digging through a drawer looking for a key. She sent us on our way with the warning that there was wet paint around our room and to be careful.

We found the room to be a bit on the small side, but it seemed to have what we needed. The bed was uncomfortable. We needed to move chairs to open the windows (which was needed to air out the musty smell). As I looked around, I noticed that the room was in dire need of maintenance. There was a hole in the carpet, chipped paint on the walls and trim, and very poorly done repairs on a cabinet. I understand that this is an older building, and I wasn't expecting brand new sparkling accommodations, but the lack of maintenance made me wonder what else was going on. My question was answered later when the toilet overflowed onto the floor. I called the desk and was informed that there is a plunger under the sink and to call back if that doesn't help. (I should point out that I have teenage boys and I am very familiar with what it takes to clog and unclog a toilet; in this case there is no reason the toilet should have stopped flowing.) Later, when I asked for more towels, the clerk had a very annoyed tone and said she would try to get someone to bring me some towels.

Breakfast was ok.

The exterior of the building was very pretty and the hotel is walking distance to the downtown area, which was very beautiful.

Bottom line, I'll be trying something else next month when we come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear 60sd,

Thank you for choosing The Cobblestone Inn, we are very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. We appreciate your feedback and will use it improve our service and facilities in the future. Congratulations on your upcoming wedding!

Warmest Regards,

The Cobblestone Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, Ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Honeymoon suite. The room had a four poster bed, fireplace and bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. The decor was a little outdated, however the room was still charming.. The location was great, the breakfast was delicious and staff was lovely. A tru Carmel experience!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear akk811,

Thank you for choosing Cobblestone Inn. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the Honeymoon Suite and took advantage of the Inn's location. We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for the positive review, we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We have been staying in Carmel at least once a year for over 35 years and this is now our favorite. We have only stayed in the queen rooms once, but they are charming. We have most recently stayed in the "Honeymoon suite" and it has become our favorite. The staff is very friendly and helpful, especially William at the front desk. We will continue to plan our stays at the Cobblestone Inn. The breakfast is really good, not just the ordinary sweets and coffee. Homemade egg dishes, waffles, etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear juneausmom,

Thank you for choosing Cobblestone Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your breakfast at Cobblestone Inn and the Honeymoon Suite. We appreciate your feedback and positive review. We hope to welcome you in Camel for another 35 years!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bell Canyon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The Inn is delightful, the breakfast and afternoon appetizers and wine were truly enjoyable, not to mention cookies in the cookie jar all night long...but what made the stay seem quite personal is the staff - they are 5 star.

Room Tip: Was there 3 times in one month, each room was well appointed and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear CBalin,

Thank you for choosing Cobblestone Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast, afternoon appetizers, and wine. We are glad we were able to make your stay feel personal. We appreciate your 5 star review and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This hotel distills down to personal values. Let's start with the things about the hotel that work:

1. Excellent location. Easy walk to the heart of Carmel, but on the edge of the commercial zone so it stays quiet in the evening.

2. Ample parking. There are 5 private spots slightly below street level but not covered.

3. Price is extremely competitive for Carmel.

4. Breakfast in cute common eating room includes coffee, fruit, yogurt, waffles and some egg dish....included in the price of the room.

Obviously, to get a quiet hotel in a great location in the heart of Carmel at an attractive price,
something must give:

1. Place is pretty old and tired. Holes have been patched with spackle and not painted over. Dried paint on door knobs, many cosmetic "challenges".

2. Shower is tiny and water pressure pit-i-full.

3. Fireplace worked at night but never turned on in the morning.

So, depending on your values, this might be the best place in the city or a real mess.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear SBPinotFan,

Thank you for choosing The Cobblestone Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed the location of the hotel. We appreciate your feedback and will look into some of the the issues that you have addressed. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We have stayed here a few times a year for over 20 years and seen it's character evolve. Personally I liked the original decor better - it was very quaint, used wall paper tastefully, was nicely decorated and had a warm soft feel. A major rennovation created a cleaner more contemporary look, which is fine but a little more sterile and not as warm. The overall feel is still quaint country.

The location is 1 1/2 blocks off the end of Ocean Avenue and very convenient to all the restaurants, art galleries and shopping it offers. Unfortunately there is only parking for four cars on the property; the others must find space on the street.

Rooms are good size, clean, quiet with a queen size bed, table and two upholstered chairs, a dresser and a cobblestone fireplace. Since our last stay there are two noticeable improvements. The well worn wood shutters have been replaced with new ones that work properly and the small awkwardky placed tube TV has been replaced with a larger LCD one above the fireplace for greatly improved viewing. There has also been some rennovation in the bathroom - a new shower. With all properties like this it is avisable to get a room on the second floor.

The staff are very friendly and helpful - this has been a constant through all the other changes.

Adjacent to the registration area is a lounge with nice upholstered furniture and a large cobblestone fireplace - this area is rarely crowded and is a pleasant place to read or do Internet things; the free WiFi access is good in the rooms. This is also the area where the included afternoon Happy Hour and breakfast are served.

The included breakfast is very good and offers enough selections to satisfy most appetities. The Happy Hour is also very good and offers wines, a vegetable tray and dip, nuts, cheeses, and a foccacia with a pizza-like topping. Later in the evening Brandy is availble for a night cap. Throughout the day coffee, tea, cookies and fruit are available on a self serve basis. Earlier years these menus varied with different offerings, but they have now settled in to a fixed menu that doesn't vary.

The bottom line - we still like the place and are encouraged by some of the recent changes. We will continue to stay here as long as there is no significant deterioration.

Room Tip: Seond floor to the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear flylikeahawk,

Thank you for choosing Cobblestone Inn for over 20 years! We are glad to hear that you took advantage of the new TVs and noticed the new wood shutters. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the Happy Hour, the foccacia bread is one of our favorites. Thank you for the positive review and we will keep working hard to keep you around for at least another 20 years.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cobblestone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobblestone Inn

Address: Junipero Between Seventh & Eighth, PO Box 3185, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobblestone Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It always feels like Spring in Carmel-by-the-Sea. Perennially flowering gardens and endless white sand beaches entice visitors to return year after year. Tucked away in a quiet corner is the English-country Cobblestone Inn - a charming addition to the natural beauty of Carmel. The Cobblestone Inn is perfectly located to explore the shops and galleries of Carmel, by foot or on one of our bicycles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Cobblestone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobblestone Hotel Carmel
Cobblestone Inn Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cobblestone Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.