We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient and accommodating staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cobblestone Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Cobblestone Inn to your Saves list
Cobblestone Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Junipero Between Seventh & Eighth, PO Box 3185, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 29 Carmel B&B and Inns
Campbell, California
1 review
“Clean, convenient and accommodating staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have stayed here as a couple previously and really liked the hotel, but had a large group this time. From making reservations with special requests to differing arrival dates, the staff was pleasant and accommodating. The lobby area was comfortable with a nice breakfast in the morning and wine with snacks in the afternoon. The courtyard was a great place for family members to meet up walk to shops or restaurants or visit with the others. It was easy to walk to all our favorite places even with toddlers in tow.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Charly W,

Thank you for choosing the Cobblestone Inn again for your stay in Carmel. We are pleased that you were greeted by our friendly and helpful staff, were able to enjoy the wine and appetizers, and afternoon tea while here. We appreciate your feedback and 5 tar rating and look forward to your next visit. Happy Travels!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    88
    34
    26
    18
See reviews for
32
173
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

While traveling to San Francisco, we decided at the last minute to go over to Carmel for the night. This is a beautiful town and The Cobblestone Inn is a charming little B&B. Upon arriving, we were greeted by a friendly young woman, offered a glass of wine, gave us all the details of the the Inn. She was very helpful with directions and what there is to do around town. Excited to be within walking distance to the beach and all the little shops / resturants. Our room was a queen size, although very small, it was clean and had everything we could have needed. The bed and pillows were more comfortable then the high priced chain hotel we'd been at the past 2 nights. We found The Cobbestone Inn to be reasonably priced for the area and would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: The queen room is very small, great for 1 or 2 nights, a king room which is much larger would be bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear

Thank you for choosing the Cobblestone Inn for your little getaway from your visit to San Francisco. We are super delighted that you were met with our knowledgeable reception staff and were greeted with a soothing glass of vino. We appreciate your comments and 5 star rating and hope to see you again on your next visit to the area. Thanks again!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

After being stuck in an expensive and not very nice hotel in Carmel we have been staying at different places to find something terrific. We think the Cobblestone Inn is the answer. The location is great--right at the top of Ocean Avenue and yet a block off Ocean so that it is very quiet. The price is good and the rooms are clean and lovely, each with it's own fireplace. The queen rooms are a little small but the king rooms are very large. To make it even better, William, the manager, couldn't be nicer or more helpful and charming. Altogether, don't know why we would look and farther for a great place to stay in Carmel.

Room Tip: We especially liked the king rooms on the second floor at the corners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Voyageur5510,

Thank you for choosing he Cobblestone Inn for your visit to Carmel. We are pleased to know that we are the Inn that is "Just Right". We are delighted that our accommodations met your expectations and that our management and staff were friendly. We appreciate your feedback and 5 star rating, We hope that you will choose to stay with us the next time you are in the area.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were driving south along Highway 1 (Pacific Coast Highway) from San Francisco and arrived in Carmel late afternoon with no reservations. I starting calling B&B’s listed on Yelp and kept hearing ‘no room at the inn’. We were finally referred to The Cobblestone Inn, which we found to be very reasonably priced. Walking into the reception/lobby area took us through a lovely outdoor patio where patrons were sitting among the flowers enjoying appetizers and wine. The lobby was well appointed, where more patrons were enjoying wine on comfy couches in front of a big fireplace. The Inn serves appetizers and wine in the lobby late afternoons, cognac and cookies in the evening, plus coffee and tea are available 24/7. There is even a basket in this area with menus for local restaurants. Our room was on the second floor, nice decorated, had a comfortable king sized bed, reading lamps, a sitting area, refrigerator and a fireplace. There was limited parking at the hotel, but ample angle parking on the street in front. This street has little traffic and the area was quiet. It was an easy walk into the center of town where there were many fine restaurants, shops and galleries.

Breakfast offered a large array of items to choose from. Hot and cold food, fruit, pastries. You could eat at tables in the lobby or outside on the patio. The staff was very helpful and courteous, sincerely wanting you to have a great stay with them. Our only regret was that we were traveling through and were only here for one night. We plan to return and spend more time in the Carmel area, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Changitah:

Thank you for choosing the Cobblestone Inn for your visit through the Carmel area. We are pleased that you enjoyed our wine & appetizers in the evening and your accommodations met your expectations. We appreciate your feedback. We do hope the next time you come to the area you choose the Cobblestone Inn for your stay. Thanks again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This by far is the worst place I have ever stayed in. In charging $395.00 a nite you would expect a decent place to say. I have never had a smaller room, smaller bathroom, and a TV that is no larger than a 6 inch tv. The room is dark and dull with rose wallpaper. Dingy small shower that I wouldn't even try to take a shower in. One plug for a phone, parking for 4 cars, low water flow. This place needs serious updating. We were going to stay for a few nights, but good heaven, not here. Just awful.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear marlene616,

Thank you for choosing the Cobblestone Inn. We are sad to know that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are making changes and your feedback is appreciated. We hope that you will give us another try the next time you are in the area as we are updating and strive to provide the best in Carmel.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Nice place, helpful staff and a good breakfast but the rooms are dated. A fireplace and refrigerator does not make up for very low water flow in the sink, dingy shower and only one outlet to charge a phone or computer. Parking is limited to only 4 cars.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Gerald33,

Thank you for staying with us at the Cobblestone Inn on your trip to Camel. We are pleased you found our staff wonderful and enjoyed our breakfast. We appreciate your comments and feedback about your stay as we are making changes. We hope that we can welcome you back to the Cobblestone Inn in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Nice and cozy little inn, just off the main street. Carmel is only a small village so not too far away though. Rooms could use a slight refurbishment, but works perfectly fine. Good bed and good bathroom. Not sure what cost per night in general in Carmel, but we paid a fairly steep price given that the room could benefit from a refurbishment (small suite) and the location. With that said, ignoring the cost we thought it was a really nice little inn. Would/will probably go there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear mans_joha,

Thank you for coming to stay with us at the Cobblestone Inn. We take pride in ensuring our guests feel welcomed and at home with their stay. We welcome your comments about your experience as we are making changes and hope the next time your travels bring you to Carmel you choose the Cobblestone Inn.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cobblestone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobblestone Inn

Address: Junipero Between Seventh & Eighth, PO Box 3185, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobblestone Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It always feels like Spring in Carmel-by-the-Sea. Perennially flowering gardens and endless white sand beaches entice visitors to return year after year. Tucked away in a quiet corner is the English-country Cobblestone Inn - a charming addition to the natural beauty of Carmel. The Cobblestone Inn is perfectly located to explore the shops and galleries of Carmel, by foot or on one of our bicycles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cobblestone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobblestone Hotel Carmel
Cobblestone Inn Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cobblestone Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.