We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cobblestone Inn

Save Saved
You added Cobblestone Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cobblestone Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Junipero Between Seventh & Eighth, PO Box 3185, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Recent visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Nice place, helpful staff and a good breakfast but the rooms are dated. A fireplace and refrigerator does not make up for very low water flow in the sink, dingy shower and only one outlet to charge a phone or computer. Parking is limited to only 4 cars.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Gerald33,

Thank you for staying with us at the Cobblestone Inn on your trip to Camel. We are pleased you found our staff wonderful and enjoyed our breakfast. We appreciate your comments and feedback about your stay as we are making changes. We hope that we can welcome you back to the Cobblestone Inn in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    80
    32
    25
    18
See reviews for
32
161
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Nice and cozy little inn, just off the main street. Carmel is only a small village so not too far away though. Rooms could use a slight refurbishment, but works perfectly fine. Good bed and good bathroom. Not sure what cost per night in general in Carmel, but we paid a fairly steep price given that the room could benefit from a refurbishment (small suite) and the location. With that said, ignoring the cost we thought it was a really nice little inn. Would/will probably go there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear mans_joha,

Thank you for coming to stay with us at the Cobblestone Inn. We take pride in ensuring our guests feel welcomed and at home with their stay. We welcome your comments about your experience as we are making changes and hope the next time your travels bring you to Carmel you choose the Cobblestone Inn.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have stayed at this inn several times, but not in the last few years. This time we stayed 5 nights. We found everything very clean, the room, bed very comfortable. The bed linens were of good quality, as were the towels. The queen room had 2 nice sitting chairs and table. There was a dresser and closet for clothes. Plenty of light for reading, also great gas fireplace, easy to flip the switch. The bathroom is small, but still easy to use, no tub. Very nice breakfast, hot items like oatmeal, quiche, breads, muffins, fruit, yogurt, etc.. Fruit and cookies in the afternoon, wine and appetizers start at 4:30pm, sherry later. Complimentary soda available in the room refrigerator. Turn down service with a rose and Chocolates every evening. Entire staff friendly & helpful. Only suggestion is to add a little more decoration to the room. Can walk to shopping, restaurants and beach.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear 1Michelle,

We are delighted to welcome you back to the Cobblestone Inn! You definitely have experienced the relaxed and comfortable feel that we try to show all of our guests. Whether from a day of exploration in the surrounding areas to a day to snuggle in and be cozy. Thank you for staying with us.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The exterior of the Inn is still very cute, but the rooms and the interior of the Inn have drastically fallen off over the last several years. Our room was crowded, cramped and in need of updating. It was extremely difficult to open the window in the bathroom to try and provide some much needed ventilation. Granted this was an unusually hot October, but when I asked the staff member at the front desk if there were any floor fans available she told me the only one she knew of was the one she was using and then told me that there was no way she was giving that up.

Until this Inn is updated I'm sure there are better options available.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Peter9383,

Thank you for visiting the Cobblestone Inn again. We understand your stay with us was not as comfortable as previous experiences. Please feel free to check back in with us as we are updating our Inn and making some changes. We hope to see you again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at the Cobblestone Inn. The grounds are lovely, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the amenities were great...breakfast, wine & cheese in the afternoons, coffee, but the room itself was very disappointing. Luckily the bed itself was good, and we mostly were in the room just to sleep. I wish I had looked at the pictures on tripadvisor of the rooms instead of the Inn's website. We had a downstairs queen room with fireplace, room 10 I believe. The decor needs some SERIOUS updating or rennovating! It is not "country quaint" or "country cottage", it's just bad. The room itself is fairly dark, and the dull grey paint on the lower half of the walls makes it look dirty. The extremely busy rose floral wallpaper that covers the rest of the walls looks like it's from the 80s, and it doesn't match the grey at all. The carpet looked very old, cheap, and dirty...kind of hard to tell if it was truly dirty since the room is so dark. The bathroom was functional, but the tiniest bathroom I have ever seen in a hotel, motel, or inn of any kind. The shower was renovated, but the water temperature is very temperamental. You can only add cold by a hairline fraction of a turn of it goes completely cold. Pipes run along the floorboard on the outside of the walls and there was an odd sound coming from the heating pipes every half hour until my husband figured out to turn the thermostat off completely. I'd ask for a King room, maybe upstairs for more light and space.

On a positive note, William at the front desk, was wonderful. He was a delight to talk with and very helpful. The Inn offers a complimentary wine & cheese reception in the late afternoon, which I wish we had made it on time for, and the breakfast was very acceptable.

We would stay here again, but I'll make sure we have an updated room before booking.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures of rooms on tripadvisor before making your reservation. Some rooms are MUCH bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereySH, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Jamof4,

Thank you for staying with us at the Cobblestone Inn on your trip to Camel. We are pleased you found our staff wonderful and enjoyed some of our amenities like breakfast and our wine and cheese reception. We appreciate your comments and feedback about your stay as we are making changes. We hope that we can welcome you back to the Cobblestone Inn in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed one night while passing through. The rooms are small, but warm and cozy, with a good gas river stone fireplace. The free sherry by the fire in the main lounge in the evenings was great.
Its close to the beach and the main shopping area. The front desk was very helpful.

Room Tip: All seem similar and ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereySH, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Martin R,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cobblestone Inn on your trip to Carmel. We are delighted that you found the Inn to be cozy and warm and enjoyed the Sherry by the fireplace.
We appreciate your kind feedback and hope that we may welcome you back on your next visit to Carmel!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

While I do not have any scientific proof of this, I think this room cost more per square foot than any room I have ever booked. It was definitely the smallest room - #19 - available (and please don't loose those antique brass keys as it will cost you $15). In addition, to being way too small for two people, the room was old, too warm, dark and terribly out of date. Like a reviewer below, after travelling for 12 hours we were told that check- in was at 3:30 (it was 3:15) and we would have to wait until the room was ready. Luckily, or perhaps not so, another clerk arrived and stated the room was ready. We stayed at Cobblestone during the weekend of the Concours D'Elegance and not knowing this was an event weekend, booked airfare for 8/16. Having searched through both Monterrey and Carmel for a room and coming up empty, I felt lucky to find a room but after seeing the accommodations, I understand why the room was available. I will say, that looking in other rooms there were some that looked spacious and more inviting. I will also commend the Inn on the excellent wine and appetizers in the afternoon and a delicious breakfast in the mornings as well as their fabulous coffee - the best I had in California. But please Cobblestone - if you are going to charge prices of $390/night plus taxes then give your guests better value for their money.... if you ever want return business.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Pam A,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cobblestone Inn during your trip to Carmel. We are pleased to know that although our accommodations were small during this sold out event, you were able to enjoy our wine reception and breakfast. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will check back with us as we are updating and making some changes to our Inn.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cobblestone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobblestone Inn

Address: Junipero Between Seventh & Eighth, PO Box 3185, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobblestone Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It always feels like Spring in Carmel-by-the-Sea. Perennially flowering gardens and endless white sand beaches entice visitors to return year after year. Tucked away in a quiet corner is the English-country Cobblestone Inn - a charming addition to the natural beauty of Carmel. The Cobblestone Inn is perfectly located to explore the shops and galleries of Carmel, by foot or on one of our bicycles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Cobblestone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobblestone Hotel Carmel
Cobblestone Inn Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cobblestone Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.