We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & Cozy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cobblestone Inn

Save Saved
You added Cobblestone Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cobblestone Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Junipero Between Seventh & Eighth, PO Box 3185, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Comfortable & Cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have stayed at this inn several times, but not in the last few years. This time we stayed 5 nights. We found everything very clean, the room, bed very comfortable. The bed linens were of good quality, as were the towels. The queen room had 2 nice sitting chairs and table. There was a dresser and closet for clothes. Plenty of light for reading, also great gas fireplace, easy to flip the switch. The bathroom is small, but still easy to use, no tub. Very nice breakfast, hot items like oatmeal, quiche, breads, muffins, fruit, yogurt, etc.. Fruit and cookies in the afternoon, wine and appetizers start at 4:30pm, sherry later. Complimentary soda available in the room refrigerator. Turn down service with a rose and Chocolates every evening. Entire staff friendly & helpful. Only suggestion is to add a little more decoration to the room. Can walk to shopping, restaurants and beach.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear 1Michelle,

We are delighted to welcome you back to the Cobblestone Inn! You definitely have experienced the relaxed and comfortable feel that we try to show all of our guests. Whether from a day of exploration in the surrounding areas to a day to snuggle in and be cozy. Thank you for staying with us.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    85
    32
    25
    18
See reviews for
32
164
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Placerville, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The exterior of the Inn is still very cute, but the rooms and the interior of the Inn have drastically fallen off over the last several years. Our room was crowded, cramped and in need of updating. It was extremely difficult to open the window in the bathroom to try and provide some much needed ventilation. Granted this was an unusually hot October, but when I asked the staff member at the front desk if there were any floor fans available she told me the only one she knew of was the one she was using and then told me that there was no way she was giving that up.

Until this Inn is updated I'm sure there are better options available.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Peter9383,

Thank you for visiting the Cobblestone Inn again. We understand your stay with us was not as comfortable as previous experiences. Please feel free to check back in with us as we are updating our Inn and making some changes. We hope to see you again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at the Cobblestone Inn. The grounds are lovely, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the amenities were great...breakfast, wine & cheese in the afternoons, coffee, but the room itself was very disappointing. Luckily the bed itself was good, and we mostly were in the room just to sleep. I wish I had looked at the pictures on tripadvisor of the rooms instead of the Inn's website. We had a downstairs queen room with fireplace, room 10 I believe. The decor needs some SERIOUS updating or rennovating! It is not "country quaint" or "country cottage", it's just bad. The room itself is fairly dark, and the dull grey paint on the lower half of the walls makes it look dirty. The extremely busy rose floral wallpaper that covers the rest of the walls looks like it's from the 80s, and it doesn't match the grey at all. The carpet looked very old, cheap, and dirty...kind of hard to tell if it was truly dirty since the room is so dark. The bathroom was functional, but the tiniest bathroom I have ever seen in a hotel, motel, or inn of any kind. The shower was renovated, but the water temperature is very temperamental. You can only add cold by a hairline fraction of a turn of it goes completely cold. Pipes run along the floorboard on the outside of the walls and there was an odd sound coming from the heating pipes every half hour until my husband figured out to turn the thermostat off completely. I'd ask for a King room, maybe upstairs for more light and space.

On a positive note, William at the front desk, was wonderful. He was a delight to talk with and very helpful. The Inn offers a complimentary wine & cheese reception in the late afternoon, which I wish we had made it on time for, and the breakfast was very acceptable.

We would stay here again, but I'll make sure we have an updated room before booking.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures of rooms on tripadvisor before making your reservation. Some rooms are MUCH bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereySH, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Jamof4,

Thank you for staying with us at the Cobblestone Inn on your trip to Camel. We are pleased you found our staff wonderful and enjoyed some of our amenities like breakfast and our wine and cheese reception. We appreciate your comments and feedback about your stay as we are making changes. We hope that we can welcome you back to the Cobblestone Inn in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed one night while passing through. The rooms are small, but warm and cozy, with a good gas river stone fireplace. The free sherry by the fire in the main lounge in the evenings was great.
Its close to the beach and the main shopping area. The front desk was very helpful.

Room Tip: All seem similar and ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereySH, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Martin R,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cobblestone Inn on your trip to Carmel. We are delighted that you found the Inn to be cozy and warm and enjoyed the Sherry by the fireplace.
We appreciate your kind feedback and hope that we may welcome you back on your next visit to Carmel!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

While I do not have any scientific proof of this, I think this room cost more per square foot than any room I have ever booked. It was definitely the smallest room - #19 - available (and please don't loose those antique brass keys as it will cost you $15). In addition, to being way too small for two people, the room was old, too warm, dark and terribly out of date. Like a reviewer below, after travelling for 12 hours we were told that check- in was at 3:30 (it was 3:15) and we would have to wait until the room was ready. Luckily, or perhaps not so, another clerk arrived and stated the room was ready. We stayed at Cobblestone during the weekend of the Concours D'Elegance and not knowing this was an event weekend, booked airfare for 8/16. Having searched through both Monterrey and Carmel for a room and coming up empty, I felt lucky to find a room but after seeing the accommodations, I understand why the room was available. I will say, that looking in other rooms there were some that looked spacious and more inviting. I will also commend the Inn on the excellent wine and appetizers in the afternoon and a delicious breakfast in the mornings as well as their fabulous coffee - the best I had in California. But please Cobblestone - if you are going to charge prices of $390/night plus taxes then give your guests better value for their money.... if you ever want return business.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Pam A,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cobblestone Inn during your trip to Carmel. We are pleased to know that although our accommodations were small during this sold out event, you were able to enjoy our wine reception and breakfast. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will check back with us as we are updating and making some changes to our Inn.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merced, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I'm possibly the fussiest person when it comes to cleanliness, so to satisfy me with the cleanliness is next to impossible, and I was very happy with how clean the rooms were. The bathroom, while small, was perfectly clean and the shower tile was brand new. Carpets were perfectly clean and attractive. The bedding and towels were lint free and fresh.

Hubby and I spent three lovely days in Carmel area while the kids were away at summer camp. Hubby likes his breakfast in the morning and was pleased with the freshly made quiche each day, served with fresh fruits, cereals, and juice. Its tough for me to eat out anywhere due to allergies. The hotel offered to fix scrambled eggs especially for me each day and that was nice. The dining room is charming and comfortable.

We thought it was cute that each evening someone comes around to the empty rooms (usually while people are out to dinner), fluffs the pillows, and leaves a fresh cut rose and chocolates on the pillows. Just a fun little touch to add to the charm.

Several people have commented on parking. There is a public parking lot a half block away. We always found street parking right across the street from the Inn. Spent every day away hiking, biking or sailing, but returned about 7 pm and found great parking. Then spent evenings walking to the fun shops and restaurants. If you want parking right in front of your room, you won't get it, but if you don't mind walking a few steps, then its great.

Saw another complaint about the fireplace. I loved the adorable cobblestone fireplace which was definately new and attractive. We visited in early August, but evenings are cool and it was nice to have a little gas fireplace to warm up next to, each evening after we returned from walking to the shops and restaurants.

The decor in each room is cottage style, which means that no two rooms are the exactly the same, but they all have the same bedding, carpet white wooden shutters on the windows. The wallpapers vary between rooms. We stayed in room 22 and I loved the floral wallpaper in yellows and blues.

I also loved that the exterior of the Inn was filled with a variety of flowers, all in bloom. It really was very pretty to look at as we came and went from our room.

William at the front desk was welcoming, professional and willing to do anything to make guests comfortable.

We will be back to the Cobblestone Inn and I will be referring friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereySH, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear PackUpTheFamily&Go

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Cobblestone Inn Carmel. I am delighted to hear that your stay with us was quite enjoyable and we appreciate your wonderful feedback! We strive ourselves to cater to an experience for each guest and I am glad that we were able to do this for you and your husband. We hope that when you are back in Carmel, we can welcome you back to the Cobblestone Inn!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

So ripped off. Tv from the 70's. Old unsafe room keys. Bad parking. No facilities. Bathroom clean but like a bad summer camp. Rickety narrow stairs to get medium luggage up on. Don't be fooled by a good location. Fireplace too dangerous and old to light even if I wanted to. Can barely breathe in here. Cleaning staff tries but you got nothing to work with here! ripp off...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerDM, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear geturmoneysworth,

Thank you for choosing the Cobblestone Inn. We are displeased to hear that you did not enjoy your accommodations. We strive to ensure that each of our guests are satisfied and have a pleasant experience while they stay with us. We hope you will return as we are making changes and hope to see you again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cobblestone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobblestone Inn

Address: Junipero Between Seventh & Eighth, PO Box 3185, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobblestone Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It always feels like Spring in Carmel-by-the-Sea. Perennially flowering gardens and endless white sand beaches entice visitors to return year after year. Tucked away in a quiet corner is the English-country Cobblestone Inn - a charming addition to the natural beauty of Carmel. The Cobblestone Inn is perfectly located to explore the shops and galleries of Carmel, by foot or on one of our bicycles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Cobblestone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobblestone Hotel Carmel
Cobblestone Inn Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cobblestone Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.