We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cobblestone Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cobblestone Inn to your Saves list
Cobblestone Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Junipero Between Seventh & Eighth, PO Box 3185, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Charming B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We staid there for one night and we had a lovely stay. The location in Carmel is very central.
They offer a free wine tasting (wine is average but it's still nice of them). The Free breakfast was very good too. The decoration of the room was a little bit too old for us. However, we really enjoyed our small fireplace!
Wifi was pretty fast too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereySH, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Adrien P, Thank you very much for staying with us at the Cobblestone Inn Carmel! We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was quite enjoyable and strive to and offer a home away from home experience for all of our guests. We hope to welcome you back to the Cobblestone Inn the next time you visit Carmel by the Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    90
    36
    26
    18
See reviews for
34
178
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We booked this as we travelled from SF to LA. We wanted something a little different to a chain.

We found it easily with our Sat Nav, but not sure would have found it without it - it's not that visible from road. There is very little parking there, but on-road parking is fine, which is what we did.

Check-in was fine. I did find the lady on the desk a little reserved and we had to ask for maps and then for her to mark the map with where we were and how to get anywhere.

Room was lovely - quaint is the best word I can use for it. Bathroom was nice too.

Really comfortable bed and a lovely night's sleep.

But went into shower in morning and it was a disaster - worst I have ever come across!

Nearly impossible to get water that wasn't cold or boiling. I could regulate it in tap, but once swapped to shower, it either was freezing cold if the cold tap was on, or if I turned that off, it became boiling. I kept twisting both taps until I got something that was just above freezing - and tried to shower - but the pressure was awful.

It felt like a shower taken with a showerhead you put onto a bath tap (and it was definitely a plumbed in shower)

Breakfast was strange! I went in and couldn't work out if I could sit down or wait to be seated - anyway there wasn't any clean table. went over to kitchen door and knocked - no response, stuck my head around - I thought someone saw me, but then nothing - eventually someone came out to check with me and told me to sit anywhere - I chose a table that had only cups left on it - dirty cups. All crockery is in presses and it's help yourself - which works fine once you know. Had lots of lovely waffles with maple syrup! It was a nice area to have breakfast in and people tended to talk to each other - lovely communal feel.

Checkout was fine.

We've have loved to have been around a little longer and maybe have a drink out in the patio area. I think it would be a lovely place to spend a few totally chill-out days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a nice little place and my family was staying there for years. Recently, however, we had a very unpleasant experience when our reservation was cancelled a few days after we made it (and we already made arrangements for the trip that we could not undo).

We took the advantage of one of the promotions for summer stay that Cobblestone Inn sent out to their mailing list. Several day after we made it, when we already made travel arrangements (and with my family situation there is a lot that needs to be done), the woman called back and informed us that the Cobblestone Inn cannot honor our reservation, because the date we picked happened to be during some special event, and the rate we got would not apply. She offered to reschedule to a different date, but I asked for manager to call me back to see if some compromise can be found, since they clearly had rooms available, and it would be very difficult for my family to switch the travel dates. The manager did not call back, however some guy called and relayed the message from the manager, that we should have not being given the quoted rate at the first place (since the original promotion was for a different months) and that our reservation was already cancelled and the money refunded. He offered to re-book it at the regular rate, but that would clearly pushed us out of the budget, so I had to decline. As the result, my family is now desperately trying to find substitute arrangements, and most likely we will not be able to stay in Carmel at all.

To be fair, we never had our reservations cancelled by Cobblestone Inn before, and we were staying there many times. However, if you are on a budget and trying to get advantage of one of their promotional offers – beware.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denman Island, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Conveniently 1½ blocks from main street (Ocean) in quiet residential location. Only 4 parking spots, but plenty of on-street parking. Main building has nice lounge/breakfast room w/comfy sofas facing fireplace on one side & bright breakfast room on courtyard side. Ample breakfast buffet here from 8-10 a.m.; cereals, toast, frittata, fruit tray & oatmeal plus sometimes sautéed potatoes, scones or muffins, fresh orange juice w/organic coffees & a fantastic variety of teas (always available). From 4-6 p.m., a selection of hors d'oeuvres + red & white wine. Rooms were spotlessly clean, w/crisp white bed-linens & nice towels & gas fireplaces . Our suite of two rooms, each with its own immaculate bathroom & a French door between the two was ideal for my Mom & me (would be great for 2 friends travelling together as well) . Quiet at night (on upper floor) & window shutters allow for both light or virtual black out, great for morning sleep-ins. Only complaint was room smelled musty when we arrived; easily solved by opening a few windows to air out. The staff were lovely, helpful & prompt whenever we had a question or concern. Really enjoyed our stay & would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We had 'room' 23; actually a suite of 2 rooms, one with Queen bed, the other with King. Both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereySH, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
It is a pleasure to hear that your room was "spotlessly clean", our staff "helpful and prompt", and you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, as well as our afternoon hors d'oeuvres and wines. Thank you for the wonderful review about the Cobblestone Inn and for letting us know you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Lovely service and quaint. Good breakfast and good wine. Coffee is only ok. Bed is comfy and made me sleep 10 hours. Crazy!!!

Would definitely stay here again, but they do need to upgrade their tv's and electric plug situation. Good amenities.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereySH, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
It is great to hear that you found your bed "comfy", as well as good amenities, breakfast, and wine at the Cobblestone Inn. Thank you for taking the time to write the wonderful review, and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have been staying here for years. Very few places are just right combination, with a relaxed 'no-fuss' atmosphere combined with beauty, location and great wine. If you are wanting room service, expensive spa treatments, this place is not for you. But if you are looking for small, quiet and old school charm - no frills, no pool, no hot tub- just simple peacefulness, then you must try it. The bed linens are always fresh, the bathrooms are a little small, the fireplace is wonderful on cooler evenings, but the sweetness of this little place plus the location within walking distance of the cheese shop, music, dining and the beach makes it worth so much more than the room rates. the staff are fabulous. When we call to make resevations, they remember, they connect with you and make you feel welcome. What a great place, book a short or long stay, for the cost, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room or downstairs closest to the front desk. All rooms are great, but some are lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereySH, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Wow! Thank you for the fantastic review about the Cobblestone Inn and for staying with us again! We are happy to hear you again enjoyed all of our amenities that we have to offer, the "fabulous" staff, as well as the convenience of our location to downtown Carmel. We do look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We arrived after a long drive from LA and could hardly believe we were in California. The Cobblestone Inn reminded us of small country hotels in Devon, UK. It is set around a courtyard full of flowers. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The reception area had plenty of sofas and an open fire and guests are told to help themselves to a glass of sherry, home made cookies, tea, coffee or fruit. Our bedroom was furnished in a traditional country style and also had an open gas log fire. The shower room was small but adequate. The bed was incredibly comfortable - we learnt later that their mattresses are made for them by a local company. The Inn is on the edge of Carmel but just a 10 minute walk to the multitude of shops and restaurants. We thought the inn was very good value and would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: It is worth asking for a room with a decent size bathroom if it makes a difference to your comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereySH, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
It is a pleasure to hear you found our staff welcoming and helpful, your bed "incredibly comfortable", and enjoyed our reception area with all of the various amenities. Thank you for the wonderful review, as well as recommending the Cobblestone Inn too others. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cobblestone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobblestone Inn

Address: Junipero Between Seventh & Eighth, PO Box 3185, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobblestone Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It always feels like Spring in Carmel-by-the-Sea. Perennially flowering gardens and endless white sand beaches entice visitors to return year after year. Tucked away in a quiet corner is the English-country Cobblestone Inn - a charming addition to the natural beauty of Carmel. The Cobblestone Inn is perfectly located to explore the shops and galleries of Carmel, by foot or on one of our bicycles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cobblestone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobblestone Hotel Carmel
Cobblestone Inn Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cobblestone Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.