We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Heater Kept Us Awake at Night - Staff Did Nothing to Help” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cobblestone Inn

Save Saved
You added Cobblestone Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cobblestone Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Junipero Between Seventh & Eighth, PO Box 3185, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 30 Carmel B&B and Inns
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Noisy Heater Kept Us Awake at Night - Staff Did Nothing to Help”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

TL;DR
There was loud noise from the heater that kept us awake the entire night! Hotel staff did nothing to help us. Stay away from this place.


When we arrived at the room, there was a loud noise from the heater.
We notified reception immediately, hotel employee asked us to fiddle with the thermostat and that they can't change our room because they're fully booked.
The problem continued and we asked for help again - this time the lady at the reception said she''ll check with the maintenance guy. Nothing happened.
The noise continued the entire night, waking us up every 20 minutes.
In the morning the lady at the reception said it was too late to call the maintenance guy, there's nothing she can do and gave me the manager's email.

I emailed the manager - no response in two weeks.

Basically they don't care about their guests. Your room is probably going to be fine and the heater will not make noise - but I don't recommend staying at a place like that. If you end up having a problem - they hotel staff will not help you.

Room Tip: Not room 16 - heater makes noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereySH, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We are truly sorry about the problem with your heater and that we were unable to take care of the problem immediately. Your comments have been sent to upper management for review. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    79
    32
    25
    18
See reviews for
32
161
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

William has the patron at heart. He cares that your stay is comfortable and rejuvinating. The generous breakfast, gas fireplace in the bedroom, complimentary wine/snacks in the afternoon, and evening sherry/ cookies set the Cobblestone Inn on a pedestal.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereySH, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We will be sure to pass on your comments to William as well as upper management. It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed the "generous breakfast", gas fireplace in your bedroom, and the complimentary afternoon and evening wine and snacks. Thank you for staying at the Cobblestone Inn and do hope you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on a getaway. The small hotel and staff are lovely. They serve a very nice breakfast and have wine and cheese in the early evening. The hotel has a great location and walking distance to everything. We visit this hotel often and always enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: I haven't had a bad room! We like the second floor, queen room with a fireplace. I also like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereySH, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
It is great to hear you always enjoy your stay at the Cobblestone Inn, as well as enjoy the complimentary evening wine and cheese, and our breakfast. Thank you for your return visit for a 2 night "getaway", and the wonderful review. See you on your next trip to beautiful Carmel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bittern
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This bed and breakfast is a hidden gem in this town. Reception staff knowledgable and welcoming. Breakfast fantastic with great fruit, cereals and hot options - quiche offered on our stay. Easy location to wand into the main Carmel township. Free parking and wifi.

Room Tip: Away from the road for quietness and own stairs for ferrying luggage to and fro
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereySH, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
What a pleasure it is to hear you found the Cobblestone Inn a "hidden gem" in Carmel. Thank you for letting us know you had a "fantastic" breakfast and that our staff was "knowledgable and welcoming". We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildenhall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Great location - easy walking to shopping and many restaurants..just down the hill to the beach; very comfortable bed (nice and soft)...we stayed in a queen room with fireplace. Room was a good size (not big or small really) but enough room for two people and our small luggage for the weekend. Bathroom functional but nothing luxurious. We were there on a busy weekend and greeted with personal, friendly service and a fabulous breakfast in the morning with fresh baked waffles, muffins and frittata along with the expected fruit, yogurt, cereals, coffee, teas, and juice. This place could use a bit of updating but fabulous location, service and bed more than made up for it. Wish we could've stayed another night or two!

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs right above the reception/kitchen. We had a bit of noise in the morning as they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereySH, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
It is a pleasure to hear you found our breakfast, location, service and your bed "fabulous". Thank you for taking the time to write the wonderful review about the Cobblestone Inn. Hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst on our honeymoon! Coming from England ourselves we adored the quaint village feel! Our room was extremely spacious and we loved the littles touches such as the soft drinks and robes in our rooms.
The highlight was definitely the lovely wine and nibbles served each afternoon and the beautiful homemade breakfast!
We would without a doubt visit Carmel again as it was one of our favourite destinations and without question we would book The Cobblestone Inn again. We often reminisce about our stay there. TRANQUIL

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereySH, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
It is a pleasure to hear that you found your room "extremely spacious", enjoyed the afternoon wine and appetizers, as well as our homemade breakfast. Thank you for the wonderful review and for staying at The Cobblestone Inn in beautiful Carmel. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Carmel, California is a bit like an upscale Hobbit Village perched on the edge of the Central California coast between Big Sur and the old, fishing town of Monterey written about by John Steinbeck many years ago. Ocean Avenue runs up hill from the sea to the top of the town and is lined with every kind os shop and restaurant imaginable. Highway-1 is a half mile further east up Ocean Avenue.

The side streets contain a wide range of inns, small hotels and motels, again covering the spectrum from Comfort Inn to high end boutique hotel for guests and their pets. Our choice was for a small, quaint yet economical inn two blocks south of Ocean Avenue at the top of town, the Cobblestone Inn.

We arrived just in time for their daily WIne and Cheese service by a large, roaring fire. A really nice Merlot, a selection of cheese, nuts, olives and crackers was a great way to start the sunset time in Carmel. The Carmel area of the central coast of California has a similar climate year 'round: cooler, damp evenings, and crisp cool days.

We stayed for one night on our way from southern California to San Francisco and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of the inn. Especially their complimentary breakfast. WIthout a doubt one of the best included breakfasts we have ever had served in a small dining area with windows to east and south catching the morning sun..

The breakfast selections are laid out along two walls and included a large homemade quiche cut into pie like sections was especially good as was the crispy waffle sections, fresh fruit slices, hot oatmeal, dry cereal selection, yogurt, wheat toast with offerings of peanut butter, jam and jelly, and organic Mexican coffee. Everything prepared in their kitchen and changing daily.

The room was small and comfortable with a remote operated gas fireplace off the end of the bed taking the chill out of the cool Carmel nights. TV was a bit small up in a closet but one does not go to Carmel-by-the-Sea to watch television anyway.

Front desk folk were warm and very friendly with suggestions for anything you might like to do. It was they who suggested the Merlot Bistro for dinner, written up in Trip Advisor as well. The Cobblestone Inn is a place we will stay again.

Room Tip: It seemed there were only a dozen rooms or less around a small parking courtyard. Parking in Carmel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereySH, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write the wonderful review and letting us know you enjoyed "every aspect" of the Cobblestone Inn. We are glad you found our front desk staff "warm and very friendly", your room comfortable and had the "best included breakfasts you have ever had served". We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cobblestone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobblestone Inn

Address: Junipero Between Seventh & Eighth, PO Box 3185, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cobblestone Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It always feels like Spring in Carmel-by-the-Sea. Perennially flowering gardens and endless white sand beaches entice visitors to return year after year. Tucked away in a quiet corner is the English-country Cobblestone Inn - a charming addition to the natural beauty of Carmel. The Cobblestone Inn is perfectly located to explore the shops and galleries of Carmel, by foot or on one of our bicycles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Cobblestone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobblestone Hotel Carmel
Cobblestone Inn Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cobblestone Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.