We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy property and great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cobblestone Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cobblestone Inn to your Saves list
Cobblestone Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   Junipero Between Seventh & Eighth, PO Box 3185, Carmel, CA 93921   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 28 Carmel B&B and Inns
San Francisco
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cozy property and great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We booked this Inn at the last minute and were pleasantly surprised! We were given a warm welcome when we checked in. Then met other guests during the complimentary wine & copious hors d'oeuvres that they offer every night. The room was clean and well maintained. The theme is "Laura Ashley" which is not my taste but worked for the atmosphere. It is a short walk to the main street and all the wonderful restaurants in Carmel. Breakfast is included and is wonderful! They actually make a frittata and country potatoes which they add to the standard buffet of cereals, yogurts, breads, fruit, waffles, etc. We hardly ever take advantage of a hotel breakfast as they are always skimpy and blah but this one was sooo different! We will definitely return!

Room Tip: I would recommen an upstairs room as a few cars are allowed to park on property and can be noisy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereySH, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Cobblestone Inn which is within walking distance to the main street in Carmel. It is a pleasure to hear that you found your room clean and well maintained as well as enjoying the breakfast and the evening wine and hors d'oeuvres. Thank you for the wonderful review and look forward to you next visit to Carmel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    92
    36
    26
    20
See reviews for
35
183
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Wam welcome. Clean and pleasant room with log fire. Great breakfasts, cheese and wine hour late afternoon early evening.
I have stayed in many hotels from cheap and cheerful to 5 star and this one has heaps of character overall a great find.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereySH, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast and found your room pleasant and clean. Thank you for taking the time to write the wonderful review and do hope you return soon to the Cobblestone Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We returned to this inn because it is reasonably priced, is just a walk away from everything, and is comfortable. Breakfast, afternoon snacks and a bottle of wine upon arrival are provided. Our room was very small and cozy but adequate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereySH, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are pleased to hear that your room was cozy and hope you enjoyed your breakfast, afternoon snacks and the bottle of wine. Thank you for staying with us again and we look forward to your next visit. Happy Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We booked a king suite with a fireplace and were given room 1. On entering, we found a couch covered in a light brown slipcover (the kind with ties, not custom) that sat opposite the fireplace and small tv. The bed was around the corner. So, if you wanted to enjoy the fireplace and/or watch tv, you had to sit on that sad, old sofa. Not a cheery room at all. We asked to see another and were given room 3. No sofa, but the fireplace was in front of the bed, so we took it. The tv, however, like the other room, was inside a cabinet next to the fireplace. It's a very small tv that doesn't swing out, so it's pretty useless.

The bathroom (shower only) is old and in need of updating. The room decor is mid-eighties (cabbage roses and border at the ceiling). The bed was wonderful. Comfy and good linens. The doors and trim need to be reprinted. Fireplace is gas with a good flame.

Breakfast was included and nice, but not special. For the price, we wouldn't choose it again.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get Room One.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereySH, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear about your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that your bed was "wonderful and comfy" and the breakfast "nice", as well as the location of The Cobblestone Inn,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felton, California
Top Contributor
512 reviews 512 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 166 cities Reviews in 166 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were also on a Groupon deal. The breakfast and reception is very nice and the breakfast tasty. Grounds were well kept. Rooms were small and dated and the bathroom sink wouldnt turn off. But the bed was comfortable and we slept well. Parking can be a problem but plenty on the street closeby. We thought it was worth the Groupon deal. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Good location rite at the head of Ocean Street. Small upscale shopping center next door.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereySH, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your breakfast, your bed was comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. Thank you for staying at the Cobblestone Inn and do come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

PLEASE BEWARE! I will never return to Cobblestone Inn due to their complete lack of ethical business standards. If you have a Groupon or Living Social coupon you plan to use for this place, be advised there is a very good chance that an error will be made on their part with your reservation. The management has actually accused me of lying about a reservation they falsely claimed me of making---yet they are unable to provide me with any documentation whatsoever. Therefore, they charged my credit card for the 2 nights that I was not there and never had a reservation for. I was reassured by the very kind staff (I have to give them kudo's) that management would correct the erroneous charges when I showed up for the reservation I did make (and received confirmation for).
I now see in other reviews for the Cobblestone Inn, that I am not alone. Sure wish I had read these before being victimized by this shady business. Incredulously, I ended up paying $600 instead of the $210 Groupon I originally purchased. For that kind of money, I can assure you I would have stayed at a 5 star hotel as opposed to a 3 star motel (one step up from a Best Western).
I was so looking forward to a pleasant stay for a few days.....unfortunately, this entire episode has turned into a nightmare. It saddens me that a business can be so blatantly unscrupulous. Shame on you Cobblestone Inn for taking advantage of innocent unknowing honest citizens.!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I SO wanted to give a 5 star review for this place and even started planning what I was going to say while we were still there. BUT that all went down the toilet when we were charged an additional $70 PER NIGHT (so $140 total) at checkout because we had our 2 young children with us. We are extremely dissatisfied and would never stay there again. Such a shame because we actually really like the place and had a good stay.

When we were considering purchasing the groupon voucher, we called and asked if children were allowed at the hotel. "Yes". When we called to reserve the room we mentioned children. "not a problem". When we checked into the hotel we mentioned the children (and they were standing right there!). Nobody said anything. Only at checkout were we told that because we had 2 extra people in the room we had to pay up. We brought our own airbed for 1 to sleep in (the other shared the queen bed with us), they didn't take showers (ie used no extra towels) and they only consumed a bit of fruit in the morning at breakfast. How does that equal $140 for 2 nights? We travel a lot and have stayed at lots of hotels and never have we been charged extra for children sharing the room with us! Their website makes no mention of an extra charge for children (or anyone else sharing a room for that matter).

Cobblestone Inn you really need to rethink this policy and make it known to your guests AHEAD OF TIME.

This is not a family friendly hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontereySH, Manager at Cobblestone Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are sorry to hear about the issue you had and have passed this information on to the appropriate departments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cobblestone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobblestone Inn

Address: Junipero Between Seventh & Eighth, PO Box 3185, Carmel, CA 93921
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cobblestone Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It always feels like Spring in Carmel-by-the-Sea. Perennially flowering gardens and endless white sand beaches entice visitors to return year after year. Tucked away in a quiet corner is the English-country Cobblestone Inn - a charming addition to the natural beauty of Carmel. The Cobblestone Inn is perfectly located to explore the shops and galleries of Carmel, by foot or on one of our bicycles! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Cobblestone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cobblestone Hotel Carmel
Cobblestone Inn Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cobblestone Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.