We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Family Reunion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Valley Ranch

Save Saved
You added Carmel Valley Ranch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carmel Valley Ranch
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Family Reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

Spent a recent weekend at Carmel Valley Ranch for a family reunion with two dozen family members, ranging from 5 to 85 years old. Everyone enjoyed the hotel's top rate service and warm hospitality. The staff did a great job making everyone feel welcome.

This property is currently going through a big upgrade. One of the very friendly staff gave us a quick tour and showed us the new main lodge, spa, and pool that will be opening later this spring. They are also upgrading the rooms. Though we stayed in one of the "old" rooms, it was still very spacious and comfortable, with a fireplace and an amazing view. We saw one of the renovated rooms while we were there and they look spectacular.

While we were there, I played a round of golf on their 18 hole course. While it doesn't have the seaside views that a place like Pebble Beach does, I enjoyed seeing the hills and countryside. I also appreciated the much more relaxed (and less crowded) atmosphere. The rental equipment was quite good.

The food at the resort was great. Unfortunately, the new restaurant wasn't open while we were there. But we had a few meals in the golf clubhouse, including a large dinner with our whole family. Service was very good. They also had an free continental breakfast (cereal, fruit, etc.) or you could order off the menu.

The one caution I'd give is that the property is very, very big. The rooms are spread across the hillside. So if you are in a big group, try to get rooms close to one another. The new main lodge is pretty centrally located, but the current clubhouse is at the bottom of the hill. They have a shuttle that will bring you the quarter mile or so back to your room.

All in all, a great weekend and I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    420
    116
    34
    9
    7
See reviews for
195
248
14
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
shiraxyz
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Came here for a weekend getaway and can't wait to go back when the renovations are complete (this summer).

The staff are so friendly and helpful, they offered to take us up the hill from the reception area to our room because we arrived late at night and the property can be hard to navigate in the dark. We declined, though I wish we took them up on the offer as the rooms could use better signage.

The room itself was enormous and really welcoming. Fresh fruit, with a personalized note from the manager, was a nice touch. We didn't have one of the renovated rooms but even the "old" room was great, with fantastic views of the valley. Felt kind of like a country cabin with all the the wood--in a good way. Bathroom could use a little freshening up, but only if I want to get picky.

The food at the resort is really fantastic, with free (plentiful) buffet breakfast, and a delicious a la cart menu as well. (Did buffet one day, menu the next.) The dining room overlooked the golf course, which was nice, though I understand that will be moving up the hill to a newly renovated "lodge" with a pool and other stuff. We had a great dinner there, too, with enormous portions.

I cannot say enough about the staff. They were fantastic, from the waiters to the busboys to the reception staff. Everyone went out of their way to make our trip better. We checked in late at night, as I said, and they knew we would be coming late so they actually greeted us by name as we arrived! They let us print our boarding passes as we checked out, too, which saved us from standing in line at the airport forever. Those little things go a really long way!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hercules
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

We only hope you have enough time to enjoy sharing our experience at The Carmel Valley Ranch this past weekend. We wanted a warm, cozy, romantic, off the beaten path first class resort to celebrate our 30th anniversary....a surprise for my husband as I booked the weekend and he had no clue as to the destination. More than our expectations and I am happy to say that he loved my surprise choice of celebration!! We were greeted by a warm, friendly and most helpful staff member each and every moment of our stay. Our Executive Suite was spectacular....warm, cozy, romantic with a fabulous view of the Carmel Valley on two sides of the suite. A fireplace in the spacious living room with a flat screen TV, a mini side bar/kitchen with two burners, a dishwasher, small refrigerator and dishware. A magnificent king suite with a fireplace and two full patio doors with views of the breathtaking Carmel scenery. Down comforter, down pillows...too many to count!! A wonderful bathroom with a spa tub that had the water jets coming from the bottom of the tub to warm and refresh your body from bottom to top. A heated tile floor that kept all ten piggies very warm with every step onto the glass/tile decorated bathroom/shower. No reason to leave your comfy suite....but....until....hold on to your napkins.....you discover the Clubhouse Restaurant with food to send you to palate pleasing heaven.

We had a wonderful lunch upon our arrival, the off the charts Happy Hour menu for dinner on Friday night (we arrived Thursday...lunch....dinner Friday night....breakfast Saturday). The food was delicious, fresh ingredients, well prepared, gorgeous presentations, huge portions and very, very affordable. Since we ate our way through the entire menu during our stay, we will mention a few stellar moments from the menu....Chef Tim Wood is a genius in the kitchen and a magician with sauces and innovative cuisine. He can take the basic down to earth meal or entree and put a first class culinary palate pleasing twist to each and every bite. The Happy Hour menu he has designed is wonderful....ahi tuna bits, lightly seared, rare with a crispy bed of seaweed salad and a soy/jalapeno dressing paired with a red wasabi aeoli garnish is superb. (I had two orders!!!) The butter lettuce salad with fresh imported goat cheese, caramelized walnuts and grilled fresh vegetables is not only delicious but a mountainous portion that looks like something Martha Stewart whipped up from her garden.....so delicious. And the Happy Hour menu is so affordable you could eat all the selections available and come home with change in your pocket.

Breakfast....huevos rancheros with red and verde sauces, soft poached eggs, chorizo sausage...not a hint of fat or grease....fresh black beans, queso fresco....off the charts. And my favorite...the green eggs and ham. This is Chef Wood's version of eggs benedict done Dr. Suess style....the Dr. would be proud!! A jalapeno hollandaise sauce....hence the green...with fresh country pitt ham slices....lean and melt in your mouth tender...on homemade brioche bread....take me away to benedict heaven. What a tasty treat. And all the fruit served at each meal...breakfast, lunch, dinner...fresh, sweet, with homemade not too sweet whipped cream...if nothing else...visit the Clubhouse Restaurant for five star dining at affordable prices. Not to mention the crisp, refreshing California white wines available to add that extra touch to an already fabulous palate pleasing adventure. If you get the opportunity to meet Chef Wood, you are in for a treat....he is a true master of fresh ingredients, presentations, down to earth five star, affordable palate pleasing dishes and enjoys sharing his creations and tastes with the diners.

So how can you not enjoy the most beautiful views of the Carmel Valley, the most attentive, friendly, warm and welcoming service from each and every staff/personnel member, nothing you can't have if only you ask for it, dine until they roll you out of the room.... there is complimentary shuttle service for the entire resort area wherever you want to go.....golf, tennis, spa services, you are right down the road to Cannery Row/Monterey...let us not forget the fresh caramel popcorn at the Monterery Wharf!!!....there is no way not to enjoy the resort, the food, the terrific and make you feel at home comfortable five star and above service, the surroundings...they have wonderful hiking/walking trails.....everything you might want or desire is right at your beck and call with a smile experience. Kid friendly, pet friendly, a destination to make you relax, happy and enjoy and appreciate life and each other. We will definitely be back to The Carmel Valley Ranc....and we definitely won't wait 30 years to visit again!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

We loved this resort nestled in the Carmel Valley with the quiet, rolling green hills. The staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the continental breakfast overlooking the golf course and a walk along the paths. It was perfect for a relaxing getaway that my husband and I really enjoyed.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel-by-the-Sea, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

There is no doubt that location is everything, and Carmel Valley Ranch sits in one of the most beautiful locations in the Monterey Peninsula. Only minutes from striking ocean vistas, Carmel Valley Ranch feels like it is a world apart. With its charming country atmosphere, and rich history, Carmel Valley Ranch is the perfect place for a get-away. It is a sun-laden haven of rest, and a recipe for sheer pleasure.

Carmel Valley Ranch is situated in the middle of a paradise that draws artists, painters, photographers, golfers, the rich and famous, and those wanting to take time to smell the roses, and simply enjoy life. During my recent stay there, I was particularly impressed with the service at every level. Whether enjoying a scrumptious meal in the clubhouse, or visiting in the pro shop, or wandering the grounds, the sense of energy, and hospitality was impressive.

While Carmel Valley Ranch is known for its award-winning golf course, tennis facilities and remarkable hiking trails, the resort is not limited to just those who are athletically inclined. It is the perfect place to enjoy a wonderful bottle of wine, while sitting out on your deck taking in the pastoral setting. In addition, Carmel Valley Ranch is an ideal spot for honeymooners, or those needing to get away from the hustle-bustle of everyday life with a significant other.

My time at Carmel Valley in was not spent playing tennis or golf, but my 3 day experience was memorable, and like the lure of a fine wine...I will be going back for more.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

What a fantastic weekend! We took a few days to mentally check out from work and life and found ourselves in a quiet, secluded golf/spa resort. We took some golf lessons, played a round, even got a chance to hike up to the Yoga platform at the top of the hill. I was very pleased with the friendliness of the staff, and the food was fantastic!! (Make sure to have the Huevos Rancheros for breakfast in the morning...) Overall, its one of those places that's a hidden gem. It's a little off the main road from the beach, but well worth the drive. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

I visited the Carmel Valley Ranch this past weekend from San Francisco and it was the perfect getaway. We left early Saturday morning and returned mid-afternoon on Sunday. Both ways, the drive was shorter than expected.

Besides the beautiful location, picturesque landscape and perfectly situated rooms that all warrant a top rating, the most striking part of my stay was the service. From the bartender who took note of my favorite drink to our golf instructor’s friendly and approachable style, every encounter with the staff well exceeded my expectations. After we had checked out on the last day, we went for a short hike to a yoga platform the resort has set up that overlooks an adjacent valley. The hike itself was fantastic but as-if automatically, our waiter from lunch the day before had glasses of water ready for us upon our return. It is that type of personalized customer oriented service that pulls the Carmel Valley Ranch out from the pack.

On activities, the resort has a lot of space and makes great use of it - we were unable to take full advantage of all they had to offer. There simply is too much to do. I cannot wait to take another weekend trip to the resort and pick up a mountain bike, play more golf or hike to the beach, even before renovations are complete (which will even further drive me to return!).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#1 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Valley Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.