We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to kick back and enjoy the Carmel/Monterey area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Valley Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Valley Ranch to your Saves list
Carmel Valley Ranch
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
North Carolina
1 review
“An excellent place to kick back and enjoy the Carmel/Monterey area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

Carmel Valley Ranch proved to be an outstanding choice as a place to spend a few days, recharge during a driving tour of the CA coast and enjoy the entire Carmel/Monterey area. The resort is ideally located, with Carmel just 10 minutes away, which also means the weather can be warmer and less prone to fog. The lodging units are scattered around the resort, and we stayed in one on the side of the mountain that offered a very relaxing view of the golf course, valley and facing mountains. Very spacious (approx. 1100 sf), with fireplaces in the LR and BR that came in handy for warmth and mood. What proved particularly surprising and pleasant was the staff. Laura was very helpful during the original booking process, and she was the one who recommended the suite with the view--she also called after we arrived to see if we liked it. Chris made check-in quick and educational, and also did a follow-up call. Misty, who manned the concierge desk, proved to be a real aid, which is what concierges are supposed to be, but often are not. She was extremely knowledgeable about the area and assisted with planning, even offering her favorite restaurants in the area (I always look for local input on dining, etc.). In total, Carmel Valley Ranch delivered what it promised.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    132
    38
    12
    7
See reviews for
235
290
15
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

Stayed @ CVR for 2 days over the Labor Day, left to Napa Valley, then had an incredible "craving" for the place & came back for another 2 days of pure bliss. At the risk of this hotel becoming overpopular, here r the highlights:

Hotel: located in a private, way off the fwy, huge ranch setting (I believe close to 150 acres). You wake up in the morning & it's almost surreal - quiet, birds churping, view of Santa Lucia mountains & lots of green trees/bushes/flowers, the air is filled with the smells of trees & flowers & wood burning fireplaces... ahhh (I'm getting a craving to go back as I write this) .

Rooms: We had stayed the first time in the Veranda suite, second time in the Estate suite - both are updated, almost 1,200 sq.ft , w/ separate living room, king size bed - nice & soft sheets, down pillows/comforter, huge bathroom w/ double vanity, jacuzzi bath, separate shower, separate toilet, walk-in closet.
All the rooms are a bit different, some are not updated yet; with the new owner they are planning to start updating more rooms. Make sure you specify your needs (view, quiteness, doble vanity, updated, if u r traveling w/ kids - they even had a fully stocked kitchenette in one of the Estate suites w/ a 2 burner stove, toster, microwave, mini fridge, plates/utensils, & they have adjoining/connecting rooms).

Staff: The hotel staff will go out of their way to accomodate your needs. Laura in the sale's office has been just phenominal - I wrote the hopel w/ some of my requests & she replied with this essay type summary; we had corresponded prior to my arrival to make sure I'll be comfortable & she even had sent me pictures of several suites to select from!!! Unprecedented customer service!! Daniel - CVR General Manager, I believe, was still there, at the front desk, @ 10pm when we were checking in, making sure everything runs smoothly. Everybody, starting w/ people greeting & opening the door to the hotel, the front desk staff, the concierge, lounge & restaurant staff were very courteous w/ genuine smiles.

Grounds: Gorgeous views everywhere, wild turkeys walking around, saw a dear & an owl; lots of space - it's like a little city; 2 pools (the one by the tennis courts had nice cushions on the pool lounges w/ towels folded on top - waiting for you; also, it's a bit more private & had the most beautiful views of the mountains & a small rose garden, the water was not as warm as the one by the front lobby; pool by the lobby had piped-in music which I didn't care for, I believe they are working on it). Small, but good selection of equipment in the gym, tennis courts, golf.

Food: We've had daily continental breakfast, which included, coffee/cappuccino, fresh squeezed juices, cereals, milk, yammy pastries, very good lox, bagels, crm chz, tomatoes, hot oatmeal, you don't leave hungry...
We had a few lunches - heirloom tomatoes & buratta yammy, calamary good, assorted sorbets, all good.

Summary: Wonderful retreat from hectic, busy life... You feels like you are on a different planet - nature just takes you in! Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort myers,fl
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

Stayed recently at Carmel Valley Ranch with friends mostly for golf. Experieenced nothing but first rate service from all. Although accomadations are not new, everything was clean and well maintained. Fireplace and free firewood on demand is a great touch. View off veranda was spectacular. Concierge at check in (Misty) was very helpful and spot on with her recommendations. Now for the golf staff and course. Although the front nine is beautiful and impecable maintained, the back nine takes a back seat to none on the peninsula. The desiign and the views are something that you have to experience to appreciate. Do not be fooled by the yardage, their is plenty of challenge for any player. And lastly no golf property can truly be first class without a first class staff. Mark Lavin and his entire crew achieve this with ease. From Pat the starter (a nice surprise to find a friendly one), to Sean, one of the assistant professionals, to the cart attendants, all showed how a golf property should be run. A great stay at a great property. Note: don't miss Thursdays at Baja Cantina (car show and party) and Bahama Billly"s happy hour (Prices and quality unequaled anywhere, let alone Carmel, only problem is you might end up going their every night and miss everything else on the peninsula)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights and 4 days with our 2 children (ages 3 and 1) in the Estate Suite (second best suite available). The room was different than advertised online which indicated hardwood floors (cheap, flat carpet instead), kitchenette with stainless steel appliances (pseudowood front appliances) which included microwave (had to ask for this, cheap one supplied which we plugged in next to fireplace), dishwasher (housekeeping told us it didn't work), and fridge (was a minibar fridge which they stocked and had prices above it; we pushed to items to the side to use the fridge); complimentary internet (we could not connect); 2 flat screen TV's (we called them to fix the TV in the living area b/c reception terrible; never fixed). We also called several times b/c the bathroom hot water faucet was loose and would turn itself on (with walking into bathroom, flushing toilet, using shower) which is dangerous when there are young kids around and is wasteful. They finally came and fixed it on the 3rd day we were there. Also they said the room had an oversized sofa ; it was a 3 cushion/person sofa bed. The nice thing about the hotel is the location in Carmel Valley and the nearby aquarium.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

We stayed at the Carmel Valley Ranch for a week-long getaway. We don't golf, but certainly enjoyed the peacefulness of the resort and made use of the wood-burning fireplace in the room almost every night. The resort grounds are gorgeous and we got a kick out of the deer and wild turkeys running around.

Our room was very large- it was great having a separate living room and two sinks in the bathroom. It was also spotlessly clean, but just seemed a bit worn (a few cracked tiles in the bathroom, water stains on the ceiling) and outdated.

If the lobby and main dining area are an indication of what the renovated rooms will look like, then they are going to be outstanding. The lobby area is sleek and has beautiful art.

We had dinner at the restaurant one evening. The menu was pretty limited, but the food was still delicious. We usually went into Carmel (Katy's Place!) or to the Wagon Wheel nearby for breakfast.

Overall a great stay and good service!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

After staying at a b&b, our party of 10 (5 couples) proceeded to Carmel Valley Ranch for tennis (we played 3 times) and general vacation fun. The service is AMAZING! Due to the Station Fire which was encroaching on our home, we contacted guest services to arrange a checkout a day early and they accommodated our request that same morning. We appreciated not having to pay for our last night's lodging. Dining at the resort was VERY pricey. The 3-course meal was $65 and you could not order a la carte; the food was delicious, however, and the service excellent. The 810 sq. ft. room was terrific, with a large bathroom (double sinks, large shower, separate jetted tub, separate w/c, and large walk-in closet), balcony with table and chairs overlooking the acres of property, including the golf course and rolling hills. The tennis center was wonderful and Clark, one of the pros, was particularly helpful, filling in when we needed a 4th player for doubles. He was friendly, engaging, and gave great tips on improving our game. Overall, this was a great experience. The proximity to Carmel and Monterey was perfect and the room and grounds were beautiful.
The only reason I didn't give this resort a '5'... After staying at a B&B which included a full breakfast, wine, cheese and appetizers at 5 pm, and dessert between 8-9:30 pm, we were put off by the 'honor bar' price list in our semi-stocked bar area. Prices were high and although the room rate here was the same as our B&B, no extras were included. We would have appreciated having a microwave, plates and flatware, and a few more glasses in the room.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

My husband and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary and bringing our seven-month old baby with us. I wanted to stay in a high-end resort in Carmel. After researching online, I decided the best option seemed to be the Carmel Valley Ranch, although many reviews indicated it probably wouldn't be a five star resort. HERE'S THE DEAL. It is not what I expected: it was not an all-in-one resort where you walk out your door and see other people lounging by the pool or playing tennis, etc. The accommodations are more like condos in a neighborhood and then you either walk on the sidewalk or drive your car to where you want to go within the resort grounds. There are some rooms close to the lobby but these, too, have the look & feel of condos, That said, the "neighborhood" or grounds are surrounded by beautiful hills and it has a very peaceful relaxing feel. We stayed in a suite which was pretty (tho not five star luxury) and it was huge, and we loved having lots of space for our baby to play and a separate room for her to sleep. The view from our room was beautiful - of the golf course and surrounding hills. The tennis and fitness center is located in a completely separate part of the grounds from the rest of the resort, so you'd either drive there or have the hotel shuttle you there - a quick 5 or 7 minutes. It's really pretty. The fitness center is fairly basic (5 nautilus machines, free weights although no bench, and two treadmills), but it served my needs. Re: food...we ordered room service for dinner and breakfast and the food was excellent. Finally, we drove to downtown Carmel both days (about 15 minutes) and the weather was much better at CMV Ranch (sunny & warm versus cool & foggy by the beach). In sum, although I had been looking to be spoiled in plush resort-like place in Carmel, which is not what we found, I truly enjoyed the relaxing peaceful getaway we experienced at the Carmel Valley Ranch.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#1 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Valley Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.