We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Valley Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Valley Ranch to your Saves list
Carmel Valley Ranch
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Gorgeous resort which was frankly the highlight of our drive up Big Sur. We had 2 kids in tow and the unit was a perfect size with an incredibly luxurious feel to it. It's not cheap but you really do get what you pay for. The s'mores and dinner were both fantastic on our evening arrival but the real treats revealed themselves the following day. My wife and daughter did the bee experience, which got rave reviews, whilst my son and I explored the child's pool area at the bottom of the resort. It's an area that is undersold by the ranch for some reason, but it really is a gorgeous spot, the swimming with him and then the family hot dogs by the fire (even though it was a sweltering day) is a days memory that will never leave me.

I have decided to only post reviews when places really blow me away and offer something that I think should be shared, Carmel Valley Ranch certainly exceeded that benchmark by some distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Wow - we are truly honored that you chose to review The Ranch! It is apparent that you were able to create lifetime memories on your recent visit here, and you have touched on, and highlighted the success of, our most important endeavor for our resort. We hope to welcome you and your family here again. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    141
    41
    16
    10
See reviews for
267
329
16
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, CA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This is my second stay. My first stay was for work. This time I came back with my family and children (ages 6 and 9) and my parents. We spent one Saturday night during the weekend of the Pebble Beach Food and Wine Fest.

The suite met all our needs (this is an all-suite property). Spacious bedroom with fireplace and a balcony with its own door to the mini-hallway where the bathroom is located and then another door into the living room. Our kids slept on the sofa bed which is probably the best sofa bed I've ever encountered at a hotel - it was at least a queen-size and practically felt like a mattress of a bed. Most sofa beds are way too soft with little support and way too small. A complimentary small basket of snacks welcomed us.

We had dinner at the Lodge Restaurant. Service was outstanding, food was delicious. We had a lovely view of the valley and watched the sunset. Afterwards, we had a great time making s'mores by the firepit. We also enjoyed a mini astronomy lesson from an expert who was there with a very strong telescope.

We ate breakfast the next morning at the restaurant at the golf course. Fewer items on the menu than the Lodge. Friendly service, but there was only one server for the four tables of people eating while we were there. So, service was a bit slow.

We also enjoyed the pool and bocce courts. Kids loved finding all the tree swings. We also walked from our room down to the golf course restaurant - a nice walk with a short stroll through the organic gardens. The kids stopped to check out the hen house.

Wonderful resort - I'd return again and hopefully stay longer!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieCooke, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Like many guests who come here for business, you chose to return for leisure, and we are delighted you brought your family along to enjoy our offerings. Thank you for mentioning so many of the special things we do, and you will be excited to know we plan on rolling out even more wonderful choices this summer, so you will have to return. Thank you for mentioning the service delay at our Clubhouse Restaurant as I have passed this on so we can ensure it is improved. We look forward to welcoming you back for both business and pleasure in the future. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We booked three nights at Carmel Valley Ranch through Jetsetter as we were attending a wedding in Carmel and originally thought we'd need a suite. When our older daughter was unable to attend the wedding, we found ourselves with a very roomy unit at an incredibly beautiful resort. The Ranch is about ten to fifteen minutes outside of downtown Carmel and it was a very easy drive for us to the wedding events as well as the shopping and dining areas in the village of Carmel Valley. There are wild turkeys and deer on the grounds of the resort and the view from our unit was breathtaking. We had breakfast at the resort's main restaurant and used the exercise facility and were pleased with both. Our unit was modern and luxurious and used the natural lighting very well--and the fireplace was used and appreciated during our stay. We certainly got our money's worth at the Ranch and would recommend it to anyone that wants the resort "feel" and doesn't need to stay in Carmel proper.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
We are thrilled that you stumbled upon us in your search for your wedding weekend, and even more so that you enjoyed your stay so much! As an all suite property, all of our guests get the spacious surroundings you mentioned as well as the beauty of our 500 acres. Thank you again for choosing to visit us, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

What a unique experience! It was like grown-up summer camp!

I had so much fun and the staff was great. Kudos to the golf cart guys who are ALWAYS available. If you get a chance to do the bee experience, do it. Kids and adults alike will love this unique experience!

The linens are 5 star and the rooms are lush. Loved the fireplace in the bedroom and the ammenities in the bathroom.

I almost proposed marriage to Craig in the spa. Best massage ever. Don't miss it.

I'm terribly bummed I didnt have time to do hilltop yoga but I heard it was wonderful.

Oh, and be on the lookout for celebrities. We had a well-known rock artist staying at the resort with us. And he did the bees!!!

If you're on the fence, just book your stay here. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and for noticing our environment similar to summer camp! It is truly what we had in mind when creating all of our offerings and activities - but of course with less discipline and more play! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our Signature Bee Experience, and you will have to return to try our Horseback Trail Rides (coming in July 2014) as well as participating in our first wine harvest - also expected this year. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience here. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We took our one 8 year old daughter here for spring break and loved it! There was so much to do with kids -- pool, hikes, s'mores every night, visits with the bees, and tons of classes offered by the Lodge. We did the candle making class, which had fabulous instructors and wonderful candles to take home. The quiet and beautiful adults only pool was also a plus for those moments without kids. They had tons of kid camps and activities should you want to keep your kids busy without you. Most notable was the setting. The hundreds of acres are set in a stunning area and are kept in impeccable shape. It is luxury in a natural, yet elegant manner. The rooms are filled with normal (not miniature) lotions , body wash, and hair products made from things they grow on property (such as lavender). Not to mention that the rooms are incredibly spacious.

With its captivating setting, gracious staff, numerous rope swings throughout the property (adored by our daughter), and the fact that it is minutes from Carmel by the Sea, Monterey, and numerous wineries definitely makes it an ideal location. I do not hesitate to recommend this Lodge to families and couples alike!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent Spring Break vacation here. We work hard to be the place that you can return to year after year - and continually create special memories with your family and loved ones. We hope to welcome you back this summer - it promises to offer many more new activities (horseback riding in July!) and lots for your family to experience together. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights for our honeymoon. We live in LA and got married in Las Vegas and decided we wanted a honeymoon that didn't require us to fly anywhere.
We took the long drive up the PCH - it was beautiful and worth the extra time.
When we finally arrived at the ranch we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff who checked us in, provided us with a list of activities and a map of the property.
We stayed in a Garland Suite - it was lovely! We had a beautiful view of the property. It was peaceful and romantic.
We never did venture out of the Ranch because there was so much to do there. We took our Siberian Husky on hikes and walks through the property. Took advantage of some Yoga on the Hilltop and a Barre class at the fitness center. I also got some spa treatments (both of which were lovely) We also spent some time in the hot tub and pool area.
The food at the lodge was delicious and fresh!
No complaints here and we'd love to go back one day :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for your review and for allowing The Ranch to be a part of this special celebration for you. Congratulations on your recent nuptials and we truly hope to be the place you return to for many anniversaries to come. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed over the busy Spring break period and the hotel was busy with many many children. Even though the weather was unusually cool we enjoyed the pool, the fabulous lawns, the bocce. The staff were marvellous and the room was very spacious. I would recommend at least a minimum 3 night stay here - it is worth taking the time to enjoy all the activities. Carmel is just a short drive away. The kids adored the old style swings - which adorn many of the low boughs of the magnificent Californian coastal oak trees.

Room Tip: The rooms are very spread out so it can be quite a walk to the pool area / reception. Take the golf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Heidi - we are honored that you chose to spend your family's spring break at The Ranch. With so much to offer, you very accurately suggested at least 3 nights at the resort. This amount of extra time allows you to participate in many of the activities we offer as well as treasure the quieter moments - like a leisurely stroll through our organic garden, or taking a moment to enjoy the swings hanging from our many oak trees - as you mentioned. Thank you, and we hope to welcome you and your family back this summer. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#1 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#2 Family Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Valley Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.