We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Valley Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Valley Ranch to your Saves list
Carmel Valley Ranch
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“World Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Carmel Valley Ranch has truly been transformed into a world class resort. The setting is incomparable; the rooms are spacious, spotless and quiet; the beds are spectacularly comfortable; the ambiance is perfect and tranquil; the service is indicative of an exceptionally well-trained staff.

Though we spent much of our time exploring along the nearby coast, there are countless activities that could easily have occupied our time right at the resort. Among the resort highlights - an outstanding massage and make-your-own s'mores by the outside fireplace.

It was great to be back and we look forward to our next visit at the Ranch.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    141
    41
    16
    10
See reviews for
267
331
16
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We've been coming to Carmel Valley Ranch for more than 20 years because we love the area, the view and the proximity to hiking. The Ranch was remodeled about 3 years ago and we love the 'upgraded' ranch. Excellent service, beautiful grounds and an all-round great place to go if you want to get away from work & city and relax...highly recommend it!

Room Tip: we always ask for the upgraded suite with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Carmel Valley Ranch is a gem in the hills of one of the most beautiful parts of the country. The views are spectacular, the rooms comfortable, but the service is the differentiator. Laurie, the hotel manager who assisted our family of 23, is an absolute gem. We highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

- Amazing menu selections for dinner - I especially loved the risotto, crime brûlée, and chocolate bread pudding.
- Extremely kind, courteous service - loved the free transport provided within the resort.
- S'mores by the fireplace every evening was a lovely touch.
- Our room was a beautiful 900 sq foot suite with complimentary water, snacks, and a fireplace to make the bedroom feel cozy and warm.
- I don't golf but my pro golf friends that do said the course was one of the better ones in the area - exceptionally beautiful views.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We love the warmth and beauty of The Carmel Valley Ranch. It is a bit pricy but they have so much to offer families with their daily activities for all ages and onsite daycare. The property and rooms are beautiful as well. Staff is very accomodating. We went last year for Christmas for two nights. We had such a nice relaxing time we are going back for four nights during the holidays.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I had the oportunity to first stay at the Carmel Valley Ranch hotel back in 1999 by accident. My reservation in another hotel was never confirmed and I had to find a place to stay with my family. Back then, our experience was overwhelming. The suites were amazing and the whole complex was breathtaking. also our golf experience was very nice.
Now, last summer I had the oportunity to return to Carmel and to Carmel Valley Ranch with my family. Our experience was ever better!! the hotel seemed nicer and the rooms bigger!! our kids had a great time at the pool area and the hotel premises are breathtaking!!
We had the chance to dine at the hotel restaurant and the whole experience was great.
It is a little bit expensive, but the hotel is worth every penny of it!!
The hotel has a great golf course, and also a wine yard.
Definetely, the highlight are the rooms. they are spacious, elegant, comfortable and luxurious.
Even the bathroom is a unique experience.

Room Tip: Every suite is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

My stay was far too brief. If I could I'd have stayed for a week. My room was at the end of the lane so it was very private. The views over the valley and off toward the mountains were beautiful. There was a fireplace both in the living room and in the bedroom - making this an unbelievably luxurious retreat. The bathroom was lovely....very large. There was a New York Times on the door which puts a hotel over the top for me! There's a grocery store not far outside the property so we enjoyed holing up in our room with a fire. However, it's such a beautiful property to get out and wander around. A-one spot! Loved it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Valley Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.