We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit to Carmel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Valley Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Valley Ranch to your Saves list
Carmel Valley Ranch
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Fairview
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First Visit to Carmel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Nice resort but not on the level of other top resorts. Very large rooms with fireplace and well-appointed. Disappointed we didn't get upgraded suite which has never happened in our travels. Food was average and breakfast buffet needs improving. Staff were all nice and professional. We will most likely try a different resort next year.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    143
    41
    16
    10
See reviews for
270
337
16
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This resort is a wonderful place to visit if you don't want to travel a great distance from the Bay Area, but still want to relax and get away. We spent three nights here over Thanksgiving and couldn't' have been happier with our experience. The property is so scenic, offers nice trails for a hike and tons of activities (though we didn't really get an opportunity to experience any this trip). The nightly s'mores was a big hit with our kids, as were the tree swings, bonfires galore and in-room fireplaces that turn on with a quick push of a button and are set to a timer. Very accessible to Carmel-by-the-Sea and the Monterey Bay Aquarium and a nice place to visit with the whole family.

Room Tip: The resort is very spread out so be sure to check the map and know exactly where you are booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

You never have to leave the resort. Great food and staff. It's all here and it's all excellent. Spent 5 nights, could have stayed a month. Carmel Valley is the place to stay while visiting Monterey/Carmel. A few miles up the valley makes a difference in weather and feel. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This property is wonderful to experience. The rooms are comfortable with extraordinary views and made cozy with a fireplace. Every employee there made me feel as if I were a guest in their own home, very sincere with service!

The gem of this property is the hub of excitement happening at their activity center, The River Ranch. The yoga classes are great, and the tennis program is top notch with clinics, drill sessions, cardio tennis, a round robin and the enthusiastic staff will even put a match together with players of a similar level. This is a top notch tennis destination!

The area is beautiful with great hiking, restaurants, and beautiful coastal scenery but I was complete with contentment staying solely on the property for a few days, enjoying the comfort of the room, yoga, tennis, steam room, swimming pool, hot tub, restaurants, and panoramic views of the Carmel Valley.

I left Carmel Vally Ranch feeling healthy and with a smile!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Decided on CVR for my birthday celebration with friends. Fantastic property! Beautiful rooms and resort area! Great service - in room dining and spa treatments. Valet was attentive and speedy. Luved the Crush Package and the wine tasting recommendations. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We upgraded to the hilltop suites and it was sooo worth it! Breath-taking views from our balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Went for 3 nights to celebrate my daughter 27 birthday. We were very well impressed with the service since the moment we arrive until we left the property. Everybody is very attentive, helpful and happy to provide excellent customer care.
Stayed in Room #222 Valley Suite. Since the moment I opened the door I was impressed. Very spacious and well appointed, with attention to every single detail. The gas fireplace in the bedroom with an automatic timer was a nice surprise.The view was beautiful and serene. We have friendly wild turkeys every morning by the door.
The grounds are impeccable and tranquil. Ate breakfast every day at the Lodge and love it. The food was excellent! Yes!!!! we will love to visit again.

The Ranch is an easy drive to Carmel by the Sea with a lot of restaurants and shops. Excellent to walk around

Room Tip: Room 222!! Just have some champagne and enjoy the beautiful view. Perfect to relax and unwind
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We went for a weekend to celebrate a birthday, and it was hands-down, the best resort experience we've had since our honeymoon in Bali. From the quality of the rooms, to the beautiful and tranquil grounds, to the fantastic food, to the outstanding service (from every single employee), there was absolutely nothing to complain about. Here we were, 10 minutes from Carmel-by-the-Sea, and we had absolutely no desire to leave the resort.

We didn't have our kids or dog with us, but they're friendly to both, and I think we may bring the whole crew next time.

Best weekend stay-cation ever if you're in the Bay Area. Period. And we're not even golfers. We will most definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Go for the hilltop & valley view suites - great views and a short walk to the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#1 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Valley Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.