We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better the second time...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Valley Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Valley Ranch to your Saves list
Carmel Valley Ranch
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Even better the second time...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This resort is quite fantastic. We returned for a second visit and it was well worth the trip. Great walking trails to help you feel less guilty about eating so much lovely food! The rooms are large and luxurious, the dining is top notch and the breakfast buffet with an abundance of fresh fruit etc is excellent. It is a few hours from SFO, but well worth the trip - every time!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    132
    38
    13
    7
See reviews for
235
291
15
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My husband and I escaped for the weekend to Carmel, our first time to the area, and stayed at the Carmel Valley Ranch based on the recommendation of my brother. The hotel was amazing, it was remote but still convenient - if that makes sense, the staff was very friendly and accommodating we had a mix up with our room on check in and the bell man helped solve the problem right away without having to return to the Lodge. The Resort itself is one of the most beautiful placed I have ever been...and I live in Santa Barbara! They are amazingly pet friendly which was awesome - in fact the entire town is very pet friendly! The bed was heavenly, the room we booked was incredible value for the space, the fire place in the bedroom was our favorite and most used amenity and the deep soaking tub was perfect for the first night to truly start the relaxation. From the moment we arrived we were already planning our next trip - can't wait to return to Carmel Valley Ranch!

Room Tip: We stayed in the low 300's - the rooms had the BEST views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our first stay at the Carmel Valley Ranch and we enjoyed every aspect. The suite fit our needs for 3 of us, the view spectacular, the golf course is fine for an executive resort course and the lodge restaurant very good and not over-priced.

Go-stay and enjoy

Room Tip: be close to the main lodge but the outlier rooms have the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We ended up having an extra two days on our vacation due to a planning snafu, and we wanted to get away with our two boys (5 and 9) to celebrate my husband's birthday. The Carmel Valley Ranch staff found us a junior suite and warned us it might be small, but it was truly lovely even for a family of four. We had a gorgeous view, enormous bathroom, and a small balcony. It is an excellent place to relax with children to include ping-pong, large children's pool, basketball volleyball, etc. Very good pool restaurant to include a kid's menu. I also enjoyed a massage with a delicious cupcake at the end. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently for two nights on a trip to the area, and we found the facilities and location to be top rate. Our mountain top suite was large and beautifully appointed, with awesome views of the valley below. The spa and restaurant were first rate. They do a lot of weddings here, so if possible I would avoid the weekends, which can be hectic.
We had some problems with the details of our stay, but the staff, particularly Thomas in Guest Services, resolved all of the issues to our satisfaction. I hope to return in the future to this beautiful venue.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Upgraded to Treetops suite which was most comfortable and have amazingly spacious bathrooms. We found the staff very welcoming and helpful, knowledgeable re the wine list and food etc. We walked all the trails and had the most relaxing and comfortable stay. We only used the pool and the hot tubs, sat around the fire pre-dinner and enjoyed the Lodge restaurant, can't comment on the other facilities

Room Tip: We had corner Treetops suite, had door leading out to balcony from bathroom - it was in the trees so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Margarita, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

A friend and I shared a Valley Suite for an overnight stay - and found it very comfortable, with a spectacular view. We arrived earlier than the check-in time, but the young lady (Alexis) in the reception area assured us that our suite was being cleaned, and took a cell phone number. The call came within 30 minutes. The grounds are beautifully serene, the walkways are well-kept, and as the upper levels of the resort are on a hillside, offer a good work out for those inclined to do that! A couple of broken items we discovered (side mirror in bathroom, and Keurig coffee maker) were reported. When advised of the coffee pot "failure" early morning, a pot of coffee was delivered to the suite within a few minutes. However, the "cool" reception in the gift shop, and the non-existent service at the pool need to be addressed by Resort Management. I'm thinking the staff needs a course in client service - except for those in the Bar/Dining Room areas. The two young ladies in the gift shop remained seated - initially on the phone and computer - but neither stood up, greeted customers, offered assistance, and when one person asked a question, a finger was pointed in the direction of the item requested - very poor, and unacceptable in a resort advertised as "luxury". The fact there was no one at poolside to even ask for a cover for the deck chairs or a towel was surprising. My friend said there had been very attentive service in previous stays. Too bad, as other comments of disappointment were overheard at the pool the same morning. In summary then - beautiful location, comfortable accommodations, but in some areas the service needs improvement..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelValleyRanch, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Kaye - thank you for your post and for your honest feedback. I appreciate that you noticed the things that we did right, and am pleased that of those mentioned, service was extended with sincerity, genuine care and anticipation of your needs. Even more importantly, it shows that so many of our employees truly care, listen, and take previous guest feedback seriously as an opportunity to grow and continually provide heartfelt service to our guests. Having said that, you have mentioned a few areas that did not provide that, and I sincerely apologize for those experiences. Rest assured, your comments are not taken lightly, and we will ensure that our team takes the time to review the experience they provided you, and why / how that could have happened in a place where service is the core of what we do. I apologize again, and should your travels bring you to The Ranch in the future, please reach out to me personally. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager, 831-626-2548
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#1 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Valley Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.