We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Last Minute Birthday Get-Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Valley Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Valley Ranch to your Saves list
Carmel Valley Ranch
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Spectacular Last Minute Birthday Get-Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We ended up having an extra two days on our vacation due to a planning snafu, and we wanted to get away with our two boys (5 and 9) to celebrate my husband's birthday. The Carmel Valley Ranch staff found us a junior suite and warned us it might be small, but it was truly lovely even for a family of four. We had a gorgeous view, enormous bathroom, and a small balcony. It is an excellent place to relax with children to include ping-pong, large children's pool, basketball volleyball, etc. Very good pool restaurant to include a kid's menu. I also enjoyed a massage with a delicious cupcake at the end. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    141
    41
    16
    10
See reviews for
267
329
16
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently for two nights on a trip to the area, and we found the facilities and location to be top rate. Our mountain top suite was large and beautifully appointed, with awesome views of the valley below. The spa and restaurant were first rate. They do a lot of weddings here, so if possible I would avoid the weekends, which can be hectic.
We had some problems with the details of our stay, but the staff, particularly Thomas in Guest Services, resolved all of the issues to our satisfaction. I hope to return in the future to this beautiful venue.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Upgraded to Treetops suite which was most comfortable and have amazingly spacious bathrooms. We found the staff very welcoming and helpful, knowledgeable re the wine list and food etc. We walked all the trails and had the most relaxing and comfortable stay. We only used the pool and the hot tubs, sat around the fire pre-dinner and enjoyed the Lodge restaurant, can't comment on the other facilities

Room Tip: We had corner Treetops suite, had door leading out to balcony from bathroom - it was in the trees so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Margarita, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

A friend and I shared a Valley Suite for an overnight stay - and found it very comfortable, with a spectacular view. We arrived earlier than the check-in time, but the young lady (Alexis) in the reception area assured us that our suite was being cleaned, and took a cell phone number. The call came within 30 minutes. The grounds are beautifully serene, the walkways are well-kept, and as the upper levels of the resort are on a hillside, offer a good work out for those inclined to do that! A couple of broken items we discovered (side mirror in bathroom, and Keurig coffee maker) were reported. When advised of the coffee pot "failure" early morning, a pot of coffee was delivered to the suite within a few minutes. However, the "cool" reception in the gift shop, and the non-existent service at the pool need to be addressed by Resort Management. I'm thinking the staff needs a course in client service - except for those in the Bar/Dining Room areas. The two young ladies in the gift shop remained seated - initially on the phone and computer - but neither stood up, greeted customers, offered assistance, and when one person asked a question, a finger was pointed in the direction of the item requested - very poor, and unacceptable in a resort advertised as "luxury". The fact there was no one at poolside to even ask for a cover for the deck chairs or a towel was surprising. My friend said there had been very attentive service in previous stays. Too bad, as other comments of disappointment were overheard at the pool the same morning. In summary then - beautiful location, comfortable accommodations, but in some areas the service needs improvement..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelValleyRanch, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Kaye - thank you for your post and for your honest feedback. I appreciate that you noticed the things that we did right, and am pleased that of those mentioned, service was extended with sincerity, genuine care and anticipation of your needs. Even more importantly, it shows that so many of our employees truly care, listen, and take previous guest feedback seriously as an opportunity to grow and continually provide heartfelt service to our guests. Having said that, you have mentioned a few areas that did not provide that, and I sincerely apologize for those experiences. Rest assured, your comments are not taken lightly, and we will ensure that our team takes the time to review the experience they provided you, and why / how that could have happened in a place where service is the core of what we do. I apologize again, and should your travels bring you to The Ranch in the future, please reach out to me personally. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Manager, 831-626-2548
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We selected the resort because it had a tennis program and good location to visit other attractions in the Carmel area. We found the staff to be excellent, very friendly, and accommodating. This was true of the staff at check-in, in the restaurant, fitness facility, and on the grounds when were out walking. They were always friendly and asking if we needed help. The fitness facility is very nice and Rick the tennis pro, with whom we took several clinics is an excellent instructor. We played in a round robin doubles event and the regular members of the club were very friendly and welcoming to guests.
The rooms were very nice but if you are over 6' tall the regular beds in our room were a little short. The food is excellent in the restaurant as was the service but like all things in Carmel a little pricey.
We will definitely stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I booked a one night stay with unlimited golf for our husbands 60th birthdays. We all our not have been happier with the accomodations, the food, the service, and the golf course. We had originally booked junior suites, but upon arrival we were upgraded to a ranch suite. The ranch suite overlooks the 11th fairway. Its spacious and luxurious with no detail overlooked. There was a bottle of wine and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us in the spacious living area wet bar. I want to thank "Lisa" who made our reservations. She could not have been more helpful. The four of us golfed twice. The course is beautiful and meticulously maintained. The greens were very fast. We all wished we could have stayed another day. Everywhere we went, we were waited on by friendly staff. I just can't rave enough about this place. If I could give it six stars, I would.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Went to purchase in the shop for a friend staying here. The girls there were preoccupied with themselves, conversation wise computer wise. When I asked for help it was like I was bothering them. Rude. Could have bought, but didn't.
Went to eat later outside and it took me going in 2 x to get service. Food great, service very poor. That's why the 3 stars.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmelValleyRanch, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your response. I must apologize for the delay in this posted response - I actually prepared same day and thought it had submitted, but apparently not. I did not wish you to think that I did not receive your comments and take them to heart as this was not the case. It appears that you were visiting friends staying with us at the resort. Being local, it is very important that you can feel The Ranch is a friendly place - where you can bring friends for lunch or spa, or to shop in our gift shop. And service is the very core of what we do, so I sincerely apologize for your experience. As you can see, great service is mentioned often in our reviews, but on occasion, it simply does not get extended in an intuitive and caring way, and this is not okay. I do apologize, once again, and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back 'with a smile' as you so duly and correctly noted. Thank you for taking the time to let us know what was not right with your experience. Should you have the opportunity to come again, please let me know personally as I would welcome the chance to show you a better experience. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, 831-626-2548
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#1 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#2 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Valley Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.