We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved me from the Tickle Pink Inn!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Valley Ranch

Save Saved
You added Carmel Valley Ranch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carmel Valley Ranch
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
State College, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Saved me from the Tickle Pink Inn!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I originally booked the Tickle Pink. After being extremely dissatisfied, we drove 10 minutes to this charm. The rooms were awesome! Very spacious, nicely appointed, modern. Our room had two fireplaces which were great for the September weather. The resort offers many ammenities, and most fitness classes are included with your stay!! A great added feature. They went out of their way to accomodate us when we got in late, and even gifted us chocolate covered strawberries since we had just gotten married! This resort is also a short 7 mile drive to downtown Carmel shops and the beach!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    123
    36
    11
    7
See reviews for
214
260
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent our one week wedding anniversary in room 101. Th room was breathtaking. 2 huge rooms with separate lounge. One of the bathrooms had a fire dividing it from the bedroom- so atmospheric. We were delighted to have been left chocolate dipped cookies,sparking wine and cookies in our kitchenette.
We loved sitting by the fires after swimming( plenty of seats), informal meals at the ranch cafe with very friendly staff and the s'mores at night time. We loved the wild turkeys and deer wandering around
The only disappointment was breakfast. We forgot to book and had to wait 45 minutes for a table,even tho we notice no one at out table for all of that wait. When we finally got our table,we then waited another 10 minutes before I finally went and asked a waiter to serve us. We then went up to the buffet and the locusts had been. After another wait more fruit , bacon and eggs were brought out which were instantly consumed by me and my fellow diners. Our advice. BOOK BREAKFAST and GO for an EARLY sitting.
Apart from breakfast we had a lovely 3 days at Carmel valley Ranch and were glad we chose to stay here rather than in Monterey.we enjoyed visiting the aquarium nearby and just watching the world go by from the tree swings.
This resort reminded us of UK centre parks but 100 times more luxurious. If this ranch was in Europe we would want to come back every year!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I stopped here for 2 nights on our honeymoon, and are so glad we did! Before our stay, they reached out to us to ask if we had any questions, needed help planning. I told Maribel (guest relations coordinator) that it was our honeymoon and we were looking for a suggestion for dinner and he suggested their restaurant and made us reservations.

When we checked in, we were told we had a DOUBLE upgrade (who knew that existed?) and we were in a great room with a great view. The room had a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries with a nice note from Maribel.

Our dinner at the restaurant was excellent and service was great. It was one of their special wine dinners, which I highly recommend. They weren't stingy on the wine and everyone was so nice and provided great service!

I highly recommend this place. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster Groves, Missouri
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Every comfort is afforded you in this resort. We especially enjoyed the swimming pool and hot tub. The staff is very attentive without being intrusive. One of the highlights was participating in two different types of yoga classes. One class was held outdoors, the other in a beautiful work-out space. The two different teachers were each good in their own way.

The one meal we had in the restaurant was marred by bad service, but I will say the food was actually perfect.

The grounds themselves are lovely and well-kept. There are pretty gardens for strolling about, and some wildlife (deer, wild turkeys) that are fun to observe in the early morning and late afternoon.

We very much appreciated having a newspaper delivered to our door each morning to read while we enjoyed the coffee we could make with the in-room Nestlé coffee machine.

One quibble is that the resort is a few miles from Carmel and the ocean. That does have its drawbacks, but is partially offset by the enjoyment of quiet and solitude.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We came here for a few nights on our vacation. LOVE the huge room! Very very very relaxing room with a fireplace. In thr morning if your ard lucky you can see flocks of wild turkey roaming the greens. We didnt have any meals because we were on the go early and back late.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a place in California with great rooms with a view where we could unwind from a very tough year. We find the perfect place for our trip at the Carmel Valley Ranch. We reserved a hill top lodge room with a view. The rooms were large and well appointed. The view was wonderful. Staff were very friendly and helpful from reception to the concierge to the housekeeping. We especially liked the fitness programs as there were a lot of choices for free classes. My wife took a yoga class and I took a pilates class. The instructors were great. The location was terrific. We were close to Big Sur and Carmel, which we wanted to visit, but far enough inland, that days were sunny and warm. There is are hiking trails and a beautiful pool. We also used the spa and found the services to be top notch. We had dinner one night at the restaurant and loved the dinner. We loved our stay. We left relaxed and happy with our visit.

Room Tip: We loved our hill top view rooms. Breakfast is very pricey. Drive to the Wagonwheel in the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Wanted to stay in town Carmel for the proximity of the Carmel ambiance but read so many good things about this place that we felt we needed to give it a try. Stayed in a Ranch King and couldn't be happier. Very spacious and well appointed. Prepaid for the accommodations so it was less expensive but still a bit pricey for an extended stay. Would have gotten a 5 rating if not for the condition of the golf course. Had the impression it was a quality course. it's not. Played it with a few discounts which made it a bit more tolerable. Had I paid full price I would have been very disappointed. Food from room service was a bit disappointing also. Overall, great location with reasonable distance to town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#1 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Valley Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.