We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service, Location, Food, Everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Valley Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Valley Ranch to your Saves list
Carmel Valley Ranch
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Service, Location, Food, Everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I stopped here for 2 nights on our honeymoon, and are so glad we did! Before our stay, they reached out to us to ask if we had any questions, needed help planning. I told Maribel (guest relations coordinator) that it was our honeymoon and we were looking for a suggestion for dinner and he suggested their restaurant and made us reservations.

When we checked in, we were told we had a DOUBLE upgrade (who knew that existed?) and we were in a great room with a great view. The room had a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries with a nice note from Maribel.

Our dinner at the restaurant was excellent and service was great. It was one of their special wine dinners, which I highly recommend. They weren't stingy on the wine and everyone was so nice and provided great service!

I highly recommend this place. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    132
    38
    12
    7
See reviews for
235
290
15
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Webster Groves, Missouri
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Every comfort is afforded you in this resort. We especially enjoyed the swimming pool and hot tub. The staff is very attentive without being intrusive. One of the highlights was participating in two different types of yoga classes. One class was held outdoors, the other in a beautiful work-out space. The two different teachers were each good in their own way.

The one meal we had in the restaurant was marred by bad service, but I will say the food was actually perfect.

The grounds themselves are lovely and well-kept. There are pretty gardens for strolling about, and some wildlife (deer, wild turkeys) that are fun to observe in the early morning and late afternoon.

We very much appreciated having a newspaper delivered to our door each morning to read while we enjoyed the coffee we could make with the in-room Nestlé coffee machine.

One quibble is that the resort is a few miles from Carmel and the ocean. That does have its drawbacks, but is partially offset by the enjoyment of quiet and solitude.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We came here for a few nights on our vacation. LOVE the huge room! Very very very relaxing room with a fireplace. In thr morning if your ard lucky you can see flocks of wild turkey roaming the greens. We didnt have any meals because we were on the go early and back late.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a place in California with great rooms with a view where we could unwind from a very tough year. We find the perfect place for our trip at the Carmel Valley Ranch. We reserved a hill top lodge room with a view. The rooms were large and well appointed. The view was wonderful. Staff were very friendly and helpful from reception to the concierge to the housekeeping. We especially liked the fitness programs as there were a lot of choices for free classes. My wife took a yoga class and I took a pilates class. The instructors were great. The location was terrific. We were close to Big Sur and Carmel, which we wanted to visit, but far enough inland, that days were sunny and warm. There is are hiking trails and a beautiful pool. We also used the spa and found the services to be top notch. We had dinner one night at the restaurant and loved the dinner. We loved our stay. We left relaxed and happy with our visit.

Room Tip: We loved our hill top view rooms. Breakfast is very pricey. Drive to the Wagonwheel in the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Wanted to stay in town Carmel for the proximity of the Carmel ambiance but read so many good things about this place that we felt we needed to give it a try. Stayed in a Ranch King and couldn't be happier. Very spacious and well appointed. Prepaid for the accommodations so it was less expensive but still a bit pricey for an extended stay. Would have gotten a 5 rating if not for the condition of the golf course. Had the impression it was a quality course. it's not. Played it with a few discounts which made it a bit more tolerable. Had I paid full price I would have been very disappointed. Food from room service was a bit disappointing also. Overall, great location with reasonable distance to town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We literally just checked in about an hour ago and all I could think about was writing my review! Absolutely stunning property, amazing staff and the accommodations are perfect. We booked a Ranch King Suite, which is practically the size of an apartment. Clean, simple decor, huge bathroom, awesome living room (with milk and cookies set up for you!) and a spectacular bedroom with a fireplace and a balcony. Husband could hardly drive straight while looking at the golf course. There are tons of things to do here, we just hope we can squeeze enough in before we leave. Only downside is that we are only staying two nights.

Oh and there are lots of deer just chilling all over the property. So. Awesome.

Room Tip: They're all good. Just spend the money and book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our suite was so spacious, tastefully decorated, and spotlessly clean. We had a lovely westward view from the deck which was perfect for enjoying a glass of wine and enjoying the sunset over the hills & golf course view. The landscaping is beautiful, the staff very professional and friendly, and the food simply amazing. The organic garden produce is really out of this world. The grass-fed beef is fantastic too. The location was ideal for us - a very easy 15 minute drive to downtown Monterey for the aquarium and other attractions, and a 7 minute or less drive to charming downtown Carmel by the Sea. We don't golf so cannot comment on the course but want to say that even if you are not a golfer you will love this place. We felt very secure here too and perhaps that is why we slept so well - or it might have been the awesome king bed, not sure. Everything about our stay was perfect, from the seamless check-in to check-out, and everything in between. Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#1 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Valley Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.