We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Valley Ranch

Save Saved
You added Carmel Valley Ranch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carmel Valley Ranch
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Flagler Beach, Florida
1 review
“Absolutely Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our suite was so spacious, tastefully decorated, and spotlessly clean. We had a lovely westward view from the deck which was perfect for enjoying a glass of wine and enjoying the sunset over the hills & golf course view. The landscaping is beautiful, the staff very professional and friendly, and the food simply amazing. The organic garden produce is really out of this world. The grass-fed beef is fantastic too. The location was ideal for us - a very easy 15 minute drive to downtown Monterey for the aquarium and other attractions, and a 7 minute or less drive to charming downtown Carmel by the Sea. We don't golf so cannot comment on the course but want to say that even if you are not a golfer you will love this place. We felt very secure here too and perhaps that is why we slept so well - or it might have been the awesome king bed, not sure. Everything about our stay was perfect, from the seamless check-in to check-out, and everything in between. Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    420
    116
    34
    9
    7
See reviews for
195
248
14
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This place is beautiful. We had a Garland suite, all the way at the end of a row of suites next to the golf course, so very quiet.
Wild animals all over the place, nice pool, good restaurant. It is however more a family place than a couples retreat, at lest if you are using the common areas. We were invaded by a group of 10-15 children when enjoying a glass of wine around the fire place in the evening.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Looking for a romantic getaway? The best golf course in Camel Valley? Pampering beyond expectations? If you find yourself in the Carmel Valley/Monterey area in California- treat yourself to two nights at Carmel Valley Ranch Resort. The rooms are huge and beautifully decorated. The service is extraordinary. They even have Smores at sunset every evening by their gorgeous pool. Cannot wait to return

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I recently attended a family reunion at CVR. This was our second trip as a couple and my husband's third time, having had a golf trip with his buddies. We were beyond overwhelmed by the service, the activities and the food. From Check In to Check Out, the staff was helpful, enthusiastic and engaging. Our hilltop room was well appointed and comfortable. I even slept outside on our deck one night, listening to the crickets and watching the shooting stars. Activities are plentiful, ranging from spa treatments for those who want to be pampered, to the Bee Experience, for those who want to get really close to nature! There is a pool for adults and a pool for families, and the ranch is dog friendly. The resident bulldog, Roxie, is always in the lodge, greeting guests and relaxing in her own little "suite." The food is beyond belief. Chef Tim Wood uses locally sourced ingredients, including vegetables from the ranch's own organic garden, and honey from the bees we got to visit during the Bee Experience. The menu is varied and there is something for everyone. At the end of dinner, guests can retreat to several fire pits around the pool and make s'mores. A perfect ending to an always perfect day at Carmel Valley Ranch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We just returned from a three night stay at Carmel Valley Ranch. The property is beautiful and very large. The room was clean and very spacious. We had a one bedroom hill top suite with a wrap around porch. The view of the mountains was breath taking. The bathroom had a large tub and separate shower. I usually do not use the products provided but the ranch makes there own (I think) and they were lovely. The lodge offers a good breakfast, extensive wine list and great steaks. We enjoyed the kids pool (far from the rooms but there is a shuttle and plenty of parking available), the bee experience (MUST DO!!! John and Yoko are lovely and we learned so much about these very industrious creatures) and a couples massage (a little expensive but totally worth it) You do not have to leave the ranch for anything but a drive to Carmel by the Sea at sunset is not to be missed. We are already planning our return to the ranch next summer.

Room Tip: If you are not travelling with kids the spa pool and infinity hot tub are very close to the lodge an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We chose Carmel Valley Ranch after an 8 day journey celebrating our 13th anniversary through the Bay and Napa Valley area. This was like coming to paradise and unfortunately only spent 2 nights. Our room was more like a one bedroom apartment with incredible views to the valley. Seems like just recently renovated and decorated with warm and great taste. Spent a full day in the resort playing tennis in the clinic (best instructor in my 20+ year playing tennis--Clark) and twilight golf package in the afternoon (Adrian and Terry where the most helpfull getting us both geared up). We finished the day with a delightful dinner at the lodge area with an impressive sunset and smores at the fire pits near the pool area. We cannot wait to bring the kids next year and spend some family time together. Thanks guys for making this a truly special ending to our norh California vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Came here for a business offsite meeting. Had a fantastic time! The rooms (suites) are amazing with everything you need, including great views. The leisure facilities are great with something for most people.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#1 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Valley Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.