We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't Get Better Than This!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Valley Ranch

Save Saved
You added Carmel Valley Ranch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carmel Valley Ranch
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 hotels in Carmel
San Jose, California
1 review
“Doesn't Get Better Than This!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

From the first moment you enter the gates to Carmel Valley Ranch you know your stay is going to be EPIC. From the unbelievable staff, great food, amazing golfing and a 24 hour spa you will NEVER want to leave. This is a MUST go when you are looking for a relaxing time away or just a weekend trip from the bay area. Great for the family, cool trails for hiking and even better to just hang out at the pool to decompress. Book now because it fill up quick!!

Room Tip: All rooms are awesome but spurge and get one with a VALLEY VIEW..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    421
    117
    34
    9
    7
See reviews for
196
249
14
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was our second annual trip to CVR. Just like last year we found the location and hotel to just pull away the stress everyone has in their normal lives. Sitting on a balcony watching the light change in the trees as the sun goes down, watching the turkeys in the morning and deer grazing in the late afternoon on the golf fairways are some of my favorite activities. Walking over to the adult pool and getting a chair personally made up with a terry cloth cover and reading a book for a while isn't bad either.

We ate at the bar 2 of the nights we stayed there. It is much easier for us than hassling with a dinner reservation for the same food and service. Everything we had was tasty, healthy and light. Lots of chicken, fish and veggies highlight the upper end meals. The chef for CVR is making food for people who enjoy healthy meals with a lot of taste. They also make premium burgers for those who prefer that type of meal.

Unlike last year the bar has invested in a cooler for champagne. This was a pet peeve of mine previously that they actually had to chill the bottle each time we ordered it. We mentioned it to the bartender and he indicated there are small improvements going on all the time and adding the cooler was one of them.

The only thing I see for real improvement had nothing to do with the stay. I wish CVR would show by room block which areas are considered premium view rooms and which are standard. As someone who has been there before it would be informative. They do charge quite a premium for view rooms and I would like to have an idea of which are before committing. Some photos showing the typical views from each type of room would be nice for those who have not visited before.

We have been here twice on couples trips and I think the hotel is best suited for active couples who don't mind walking in return for greater serenity and no crowds. The kids area is about a mile away down a steep hill so I agree that it is only practical to go by car or shuttle. I have walked it briskly and it takes 20 minutes. The pool close to the lobby and lodging is adults only.

We look forward to our next stay and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to those who can afford it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

As summer drew to an end we decided (somewhat last minute) to indulge in one last bit of R&R with our our teenage kids and dog. I am typically skeptical of resorts since they can get boring, but going to Carmel Valley Ranch turned out to be a great decision. The setting is beautiful, and the expected amenities -- golf course, restaurants, pools etc are excellent. However, for us there were two welcome surprises:
1. The property has trails that lead *directly* to Garland State Park where dogs are allowed on the trails (!) and 2. The resort offers something called the "Bee Experience" which is a delightful introduction to Beekeeping, protective suits and all!

Service is great as long as you understand that your food is likely to take longer to come out than you want it to. There was a mixup with our reservation and the staff was extremely quick to take responsibility and to accommodate us generously. Despite the initial hiccup it was a really fun three days and we all left feeling refreshed and ready to take on our respective challenges.

Finally, a tip about rooms. The ones that are renovated are much better -- the ones higher on the hilltop have better views. If you want to access the trails easily ask for a Bluff Suite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed as a grown up family of 5 for 3 nights in August. It was our last stop after a 3 week road trip across Colorado, Utah, Vegas and California and we were looking for peace, luxury and a rest before our long trip back to the real world!

And I am pleased to report that our stay was wonderful in every way.

Before we booked, we were concerned about 2 things: Was the weather REALLY better in Carmel Valley than in Carmel by the Sea just 6 miles away, (and the answer is a resounding yes!) and, this place costs an awful lot to book, are we going to get ripped off like in other luxury resorts we have stayed in where they think it is ok to charge extortionate rates for everything because you are a captive audience (and the answer is a resounding NO!). It could be said that if you are going to book a place like this then cost is not your number one priority but we came away with the view that whilst it cost a lot to book, once on site everything we did was excellent in quality and very very reasonable in price. In other words we felt great value for money, despite the up front cost.

In terms of the hotel itself, it isn't really a ranch at all (it may have been once but not anymore). It is a series of lovely villa's set into the hillsides around a wonderful golf course with lovely walks through the hills, deer wandering through the gardens, great views and a really relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

There was a mix up with our room booking on arrival and with the bill on departure but the staff were so friendly, helpful and accommodating that it was impossible to get angry and these little blots were more than compensated for by the lovely touches that made us feel so relaxed: complimentary smoors by the fire each evening, open fire pits with comfy chairs in a number of locations around the property to take the edge of the evening/morning chill and to encourage relaxation, complimentary fitness classes as well as free gym usage, complimentary buggy service (the site is spread out over a huge area with big distances between different facilities - but from where ever you are call for a buggy and it is there within minutes with a cheerful driver to take you anywhere you want to go on the property). My son and I are keen golfers (I am keen, he's the golfer!) and we played twice. Excellent golf package available at just $95 for a round with buggy, club hire (good clubs as well), sleeve of balls and as much time as you like on the range and practice green. The course itself was in excellent condition and with the 11th and 13th, 2 of the most stunning holes I have ever played , from elevated tee's so high you felt you needed oxygen masks!

The villa's are obviously different but ours was spacious, luxuriously furnished and decorated, very well equipped, spotlessly clean and with lovely touches like complimentary snack boxes, roaring fires, (gas rather than log, but still lovely to look at and throwing out a lot of warmth)

We had reservations when we booked, but we WILL be back! Can't recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I loved their website, looks like you're entering Frodo's homeland. Beautiful location, deers on the golfcourse, but everything really ( and i mean really) far away. All things except diner, that you want to do, are only reachable by car! True, their shuttle service is at your back and call, but you don't want your kids of 9 and 7 (who are perfectly able to take a swim for hour or 2 max by themselves) to be more than a mile away without communication and with a shuttle, when they don't speak english, or is that just me?). Room was very nice. Breakfast buffet excellent! Yet expensive. All in all, taking into account tax and fee, our one night stay for 775 USD felt overpriced. I wouldn't do it again.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed at this property with my 3 children, ages 10-21. We had a great time and the service was terrific. There are so many great features of this property, from great hiking trails, a fabulous golf course, wonderful spa, pools and children's activities and a great restaurant.
The rooms were spacious and clean, with a nice deck to relax on.
This is the perfect location to relax and enjoy, with easy side trips to Carmel, Monterrey and Big Sur.

Room Tip: get a suite but one that does not back up to the parking lot, there are truck deliveries very early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked in for two nights towards the end of a road trip L.A. to S.F. via Yosemite. Without doubt this was the most impressive accommodation of our trip. A fantastic suite just above the main lodge. As well as the very impressive room we found everything else at the ranch to be top quality, great food, friendly staff and efficient service. I can highly recommend the Bee experience whether you think you would like this or not. I booked it after reading other reviews, certainly not because I had any particular interest in it specifically. I was so very glad we did, absolutely fascinating. The kids pool was also impressive with a nice big pool and hot tub, nice cafe, places to just relax in the sun, tennis courts and basketball hoops, a very well equipped gym and nice changing rooms. Despite the five star nature of the place the owners have managed to create a very relaxed and informal environment that feels very comfortable and inclusive, I fail to see how anybody would regret booking this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#1 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Valley Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.