We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite places to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Valley Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Valley Ranch to your Saves list
Carmel Valley Ranch
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was our second visit to CVR and this time we brought 6 other family members to enjoy the beauty, service, rooms, food and ambience of this fantastic property. Thoroughly enjoyed all the comforts of the rooms, the walking paths and the deer and turkey that roamed the property. This was the last leg of our golfing trip and the golf course was a treat to play with the challenging holes on both nines and we were treated to a young buck running down the fairway...we don't see this in Hawaii. A truly memorable place to visit. We plan to return soon.

Room Tip: The two times we visited our group occupied a total of four rooms and they were all terrific. No bad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    132
    38
    12
    7
See reviews for
235
290
15
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We just celebrated our anniversary weekend at cvr with our 5 yr old and 11 month old in tow-we stayed in one of the garland suites above the lobby area-it was a comfortable and spacious one bedroom complete with 2 fireplaces, a large wrap around balcony, separate tub & shower--the king size bed was very comfortable with great linens-the pull out sofa was perfect for our 5 yr old-with the same comfortable linens--snacks and water are provided free of charge-but it would have been nice if there was a mini-bar stocked with other options-not a big deal-but be sure to bring your own so you don't have to rely on room-service. The staff was excellent and the tipping is included in your $25 daily resort fee-fair enough--we weren't able to use the pool near the lodge-which looked fabulous- as we had the kids with us-but it was easy enough to get the shuttle or walk the mile or so down to the family friendly pool-which is also a membership swim club. My daughter enjoyed the morning kid's club and also a few hours at the evening kid's club--we also utilized a local babysitting service that the hotel had arranged for us-which we were happy with. Dinner was excellent both nights as was the breakfast each morning--overall it was a fabulous weekend get away destination!

Room Tip: we asked to switch rooms when we first checked in-the first suite #269 was a bit dark and on the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is by far the best resort in Carmel! I have visited this 500 acre resort for the past 3 summers in a row, and I love it every time. Stunning views,gorgeous property, perfect setting and splendid accommodations. In three years, I've never had less than an amazing experience at CVR. Every employee I've come in contact with had a very professional attitude and truly wanted to help make my stay as enjoyable as possible. The spa, pool, hiking trails and every activity on property is top notch. Every room I've stayed in is HUGE, very accommodating, and perfectly clean.This place is worth every penny spent and I highly recommend it to anyone who is willing to splurge, and reach a new level of relaxation, in Carmel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

From the moment we were met at the front entrance our experience was great! The rooms - or really one bedroom flats are amazing. The lounge was beautiful, lovely bathroom and an amazing bed and veranda over looking the valley and golf course. The hilltop suite was lovely!! We lounged by the pool and the waiter most attentive. Prior to dinner we walked up to the yoga platform to see the sunset - beautiful and even more so as my boyfriend proposed!!!
When my fiancé called to arrange champagne to be ready they gave us a bottle complimentary!! Everything about this hotel is 6star!! Cannot wait to return!! A special place in every way.

Room Tip: The hilltop suite! Wonderful location!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Really, the title of my review says it all. This is a favorite splurge location. Gorgeous setting, fabulous accommodations, love the lavender massage at the spa, yummy food at the restaurant. My happy place is sitting in the infinity hot tub, overlooking the valley, while sipping a cocktail...divine!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This resort was recommended by my business partner. The location is outstanding, the rooms are large and well-appointed. Lots of activities, particularly for people who are fit. Wild turkeys and deer roam the property. The attitude of every one who works there (and there are lots of employees) is "how can we make this experience even better". I would recommend the four nights for the price of three package, because after two nights, we would have liked to stay a little longer.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Pros:
Lovely hotel with amazing huge rooms
So many facilities and an awesome outdoor jaccuzi
So many activities
Nice bar and terrace
Priceless view

Cons:
Breakfast not included
Need a car to go to breakfast its so big u can get lost
Expensive

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#1 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Valley Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.