We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely simply lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Valley Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Valley Ranch to your Saves list
Carmel Valley Ranch
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Lebanon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“lovely simply lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We loved where the property was located. It was so calm and after a few days in Disneyland it was an oasis. We loved our rooms and it would have been nice if they had radiant heated floors because the floors were cold. The spa was nice. The grounds were magnificent. The Kids offerings were Fantastic. The reception and other helpers were terrific except for the some of the wait staff. They were slow and they didn't think to bring out things that you needed. Such as cream & sugar with the coffee and other things like that. Some of the Wait staff were Fabulous too. But for the price of the food the wait staff should all be at least very good. We did enjoy our selves and it was the perfect way to end our week in California.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    161
    52
    20
    12
See reviews for
305
369
19
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I took our two kids and my inlaws for a three-day stay. The ranch is located on a beautiful piece of property with enough to keep everyone busy for three days. We took advantage of hiking on the property and offsite, visited with some bees at the ranch (very fun for the kids) and played a lot of tennis. The instructors at the tennis facility were great with adults and kids and made the hour pass so quickly. A few issues: service was slow at the restaurant and for room service. Also, we had to keep asking for items at the restaurant (salt/pepper/ketchup/syrup). These were things that should have just been given to us automatically but we had to ask at every meal over and over and over again. And please add some qtips to your rom offerings! I don't even think to pack them anymore since hotels always have them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We've been here twice now, and this place is exactly what I love for a mini trip - it's tranquil, isolated, and has some amazing service. The place is situated within a giant, gated community with both private homes and the ranch, and it really feels like you've left the troubles of home behind. It's quiet, you have areas for certain types of families (i.e. with young kids, or couples, or with dogs), and the staff is top notch - every single person we've ever interacted with, whether it's turn down service, room service, folks at the Lodge, the bellmen - all phenomenal. The staff really works to make your visit as uninterrupted and comfortable as possible. The spa is top notch (have had two massages there) and plenty of golf for those who are into it.

Case in point - we were recently housed in the area where they usually place folks with dogs (this is the 300+ room numbers), and we were next to a room where the owners had clearly left their dog in the room and gone out somewhere. The dog was howling and very unhappy. It was really noisy, so we requested a room change. Within 30 minutes we were moved, no questions asked, and a bellman came to help us move our luggage.

The menu for room service is limited but really delicious - everything from the breakfast sandwiches with farm fresh eggs, to the kids meals that include grilled cheese sandwiches and fries.

The rooms have warm fireplaces, are clean, and tastefully decorated. There aren't sweeping views necessarily, but you can usually see the hill sides, golf course, or tree tops.

Pros: Clean, excellent service, dog friendly, isolated, in room fireplaces
Cons: Because they're super dog friendly, and they group you according to your family type, you can expect some noise. Can be rather pricey if you book last minute.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Loved the property, hotel amenities and swimming. Thought the kids center could use some upgrading (more toys) but the sitters were lovely and the programming and activities for kids and families is great! The kids had a fabulous time. Terrific games in the hotel for them and food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you're heading to Carmel and want an oceanview room, this is not the place. However, if you're looking for a relaxing getaway with activities, hiking trails and more ... this is a definite contender! We loved the fact that our labrador was welcome, although given the wildlife that roam the property, he definitely couldn't roam free! We walked by turkey buzzards, stray cats and deer alike! All from less than 5-10 feet away!

The rooms were spacious -- they are definitely more like condos, than "regular" hotel rooms. While my husband loved the large, open spaces -- I thought it was more corporate and less intimate than other hotel rooms that I've stayed at in the past. It definitely felt like it was geared towards a business trip. There was a large meeting space/living room when you walked in, and the bedroom could be closed off from that. I was disappointed that our fireplace was in the corner of the bedroom -- not in the living room (but I saw that in other rooms, the fireplace was in the living room). So, I guess we didn't get the best layout. In order to get the intimate feel of the fireplace, you had to drag chairs next to it in the bedroom. Not the coziest, I have to say.

I was also disappointed that our "premium view" was staring directly into trees, while hearing the noise of the cars come up the driveway. I didn't think it sufficed as a premium view, by any means. While our lab was welcome, they obviously don't plan for larger dogs. Their provided pet bed was a ratty, quite worn small bed -- fit for a 10-20 pound dog, not a 80 pound lab! The bed was completely useless to our dog, and it actually was a little gross to have in the room as it was definitely worn and ratty.

I thought it definitely lacked a cozy, intimate, romantic feel -- my husband loved it (he probably would have given it a 4 star rating)! He loved the guided hiking trail, the golf course and the room (as he loves open, large spaces). He agreed with me on that the placement of the fireplace was terrible, but he enjoyed our experience much more than I did.

Not to say that this is a bad place -- please don't get me wrong! I just love hotels that don't feel like a corporate/business getaway. The other thing lacking was a TV in the bar area -- we wanted to watch the World Series in the bar, but couldn't, due to the lack of TVs. So, we ordered room service -- which was good, service was great ... it took a long time .... but it was because everyone else was ordering room service to watch the Series!!

All in all, the trip was enjoyable. Would I go back? To Carmel, definitely. To CVR .... probably not. I think I would enjoy trying out Pebble Beach, or another resort closer to the ocean. All in all, I think that it was just ok. I had to give it a lower rating, because even though I plan on visiting the Carmel area quite a bit more, I strongly feel that I would never choose CVR as my resort of choice again. Even if I had family in the area or friends come, I really feel that I would choose a different resort. To each his own, I guess!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
831-625-9500, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your review – it made me smile! I agree that Carmel Valley Ranch, much like the wonderful land of OZ, provides a playground for all to enjoy (including nature’s creatures), and our many activities, classes and experiences allow our guests to learn something along the way as well. I regret that you did not enjoy the spaciousness of your suite, and wanted to mention that our Santa Lucia Suites may have been more to your preference. These suites are 650 square feet, therefore providing a cozy and intimate setting, yet also provide you the favored amenities of our larger suites – the private balcony, fireplace (closer to the chairs), and a quiet and romantic Bluff location. Your feedback regarding a place to catch the World Series – well taken – and our new Clubhouse will feature six televisions for guests to enjoy their favorite sport. I truly regret that your lab did not receive the warm welcome with the anticipation (of size and breed) that we traditionally extend. We love animals, and this was clearly a lack of attention to detail on our part. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. While I note you do not feel you would return, should your travels bring you down the yellow brick road again, we would love the opportunity to welcome you back. Melanie Cooke, Director of Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Our family stayed here after Christmas and we loved it. It is a beautiful property and feels expansive; from the guarded entrance to the pools/activity centers. I was surprised at how many families were here. There are tons of activities for adults and kids. The fitness classes are free, which is a really nice option. I really liked the tree swings and afternoon S'mores. The restaurant is great. It's a bit pricey but the food was fantastic. The room are very nice. Keurig coffee makers, bath/shower combo, comfy beds, rustic outdoor feel. We even saw turkeys on the property in the morning. We will definitely be back!

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Slide into the infinity hot tub,sip your cider ,look down at the vineyard,look up at the old Oak trees,think how lucky u are!What a beautiful place!

We r a family of four & the king suite we took was big enough ,beautiful, and so so clean!

The food (room service & restaurant)was great!
The service all over the facility was wonderful and friendly.(Thank u Zach!)
(with one expiation: the hostess in the restaurant on xmas day was "less then nice",but who cares?).

A real jewel in the heart of beautiful Carmel area.

Room Tip: Book a corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
7.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
6.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,289 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
7.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 372 reviews
7.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#1 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#6 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel Valley resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Otel, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Valley Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.