We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two fireplaces in one room? I rest my case.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Valley Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Carmel Valley Ranch to your Saves list
Carmel Valley Ranch
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Two fireplaces in one room? I rest my case.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Slide into the infinity hot tub,sip your cider ,look down at the vineyard,look up at the old Oak trees,think how lucky u are!What a beautiful place!

We r a family of four & the king suite we took was big enough ,beautiful, and so so clean!

The food (room service & restaurant)was great!
The service all over the facility was wonderful and friendly.(Thank u Zach!)
(with one expiation: the hostess in the restaurant on xmas day was "less then nice",but who cares?).

A real jewel in the heart of beautiful Carmel area.

Room Tip: Book a corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    124
    36
    11
    7
See reviews for
214
261
14
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

It's not really a hotel, it's more like condos with a main lodge. It was a very festive place to spend the holidays. The staff was amazingly friendly, the restaurant and bar are great and there are plenty of things to do. It is not the cheapest place to stay in Carmel, but it was well worth the price. There was a fireplace in both the living area and the bedroom. All in all the rooms are very cozy.

Room Tip: Try and get at least a ranch suite or upgrade to the garland suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sf
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just returned from 3 nights at CVR over Christmas weekend. We want to mention the exceptional and the subpar. Most everything lived up to reviews so we won't comment there.

Staff is quite amazing....especially Tom and Gabrielle. The hotel staff really goes out of their way for guests. Engineering too. Reminded me of the staff at Palmilla. That level of attention.

Housekeeping was mediocre. Toilet paper wrapper left out in living room and turn down was simply forgotten one evening so we had to call.

Walls are thin so if you are lucky to be next to crying babies, please hope you packed your ambien. We were and did.

Lastly, restaurant. Dave was great but the way they do seating in the 2 dining rooms makes no sense. No rhyme or reason in seating families in certain areas and couples with a night out next to each other. One night they tried to seat my wife and I next to two screaming adolescents while our child was happily in the special evening daycare. We requested a move which they did into the back dining room and a bad table. We just wanted a romantic night out, ya know? Put the families with small kids in the back DR in my opinion. We love kids by the way. On Christmas eve, the waiter was a bit clueless. Later the hostess tried to sit 6 adults who looked like regulars at the table next to the kitchen. It was embarrassing especially when they had many other lovely tables.

Oh and the food is hit or miss but the Chicken wings rock.

Great resort and we hope to be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capitola, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We just visited the Carmel Valley Ranch for our 10 year wedding anniversary. The lodge is stunning and the the suites are very relaxing. Everything is modern and very comfortable. In our suite, we were greeted with chocolate dipped strawberries and a bottle of champagne. Yummy! The lodge was beautifully decorated with Christmas decor and they even had a little dog you could pet next to the concierge. They are extremeley kid friendly and dog friendly. We saw lots of families and people with dogs. We brought our two year old and she loved it. Although it was raining, we did a little walking around the paths among the oak trees. There are walking paths everywhere and spa/exercise facilities for the active. There is a $25 daily resort fee to cover the use of the facilities. The restaurant in the lodge is top notch. The chef came around to ask how they could improve, but honestly they could not be more perfect. We got chicken tenders for our 2 year old, a rich butternut squash soup, beet salad with blood oranges, butter-sage raviolis, chicken with polenta and warm cookies with milk for dessert. Everthing was cooked to perfection. I was in heaven. Back in the room, we warmed the room with the gas lit fireplace and then enjoyed a bubble bath in the super-size tub. The room had a nice view of the hills. Carmel Valley Ranch is truely a relaxing place to go and and great getaway on short notice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

Our 10 year anniversary was spent at CVR. It was one of the most relaxing vacations we have ever spent together. From strawberries and champagne to the hot tub, spa, food and INCREDIBLE staff - this place was outstanding. There is hiking, a gorgeous gym, 2 pools, 2 hot tubs, tennis, golf, yoga, bees and other activities... But you can chill in your room and just relax if that's your thing.

The staff was the most attentive, nicest and friendliest we have ever met in our many travels.

We will go back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The resort was very nice: excellent restaurant, organic farm, tennis, pools, spa, etc tucked away in the Carmel Valley. The massages at the spa were top notch.

Only 2 issues which could have been better for us: 1) the units are like townhomes and our neighbor next door would wear high heels and it literally sounded like she was walking inside our unit. 2) the bed was a bit soft for our likes. These two issues caused us to wake up earlierthan we had hoped.

Would be a great place for a couples getaway or company retreat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary and wanted a spot with a remote and relaxed feel. The Carmel Valley Ranch was the perfect spot. Our stay was just what we wanted. It was raining when we arrived and continued to rain throughout our stay. That was even better as the rooms have fireplaces and lovely views of the surrounding rolling hills. I'm not sure what size room one of the reviewers who said the room were small is used to, but the smallest room here is over 600 SF. We had the least expensive room and it was spacious and very comfortable. We were greeted warmly, received a lovely bottle of sparkling wine and chocolate dipped strawberries for our anniversary (delivered to our room) and will certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Valley Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.