We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went for 1 night but had to stay for 2!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Valley Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Carmel Valley Ranch to your Saves list
Carmel Valley Ranch
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
185 hotel reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
707 helpful votes 707 helpful votes
“Went for 1 night but had to stay for 2!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had a reason to be in Monterrey on a Mon. morning and decided to make the night of it from SF. Over the years, we have come to Carmel many, many times and have probably stayed at almost every one of the Inn's and B & B's in the quaint town of Carmel By the Sea. We usually like staying downtown so that we could park once and then walk to the shops and galleries, the beach and dinner. Most often we paid exorbitant prices for nothing more than a dinky motel room caliber or B & B.

The weather is usually better in Carmel Valley and the atmosphere more laid back so we decided to go for it for this stay in chilly Nov. The moment we arrived at the Ranch, we realized that one night would just not be enough and extended it by another night.

I have already, in other posts, sang the praises of the Joie De Vivre brand of boutique hotels as my new "fav" and this property sure did not let us down. Everything from the service to the rooms, to the location and the offerings (spa and restaurants) was just outstanding!!!

The staff was warm and friendly and quite solicitous. The grounds are well maintained and beautiful. Our huge suite was well appointed with plush towels, great linens and a comfortable bed. We could not get enough of the fireplaces and comfortable, high caliber decor.

I had a wonderful massage and the dining room was GREAT for both dinner and breakfasts. So very relaxing!

We did not golf but that is surely on the agenda for future visits! And there definitely will be.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
831-625-9500, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
We appreciate your taking the time to write this review. The Ranch in November can be a magical place and we are glad you got a chance to experience it for two nights! Thank you for highlighting our service, your comments were very well received when I shared them with our staff. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    127
    37
    11
    7
See reviews for
218
270
15
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

What a great place this is. From my first call, the service could not have been better. (And don't you love a place that includes tipping in the resort fee?) Thoughtful, attentive, and immediate. We had a problem with one of our fireplaces and called the front desk. Of course, they said they would send someone immediately. Of course, we didn't believe them. We were wrong -- the serviceman was there immediately and he fixed the problem.

The grounds are lovely. The pools are lovely. The fire pits are lovely. The s'mores are a lovely touch. The complimentary snacks in the room are lovely. The toiletries are lovely. The food in the restaurant is lovely. The birds and the deer and the dogs...yep, all lovely.

This is an expensive place, but we were so relaxed and so pleased that our twinges at checkout were fleeting.

One more thing: listen to what they tell you at the front desk and make a reservation for dinner. Our first night there we did make a reservation but the dining room wasn't crowded so we thought we didn't need one the next night. Wrong. It was packed. We pleasantly threw ourselves on their mercy and it took a while but the dining room manager came up with a solution. And then, in keeping with our previous experiences with the great service at Carmel Valley Ranch, the dining room manager apologized for our wait and comped our drinks.

Amazing service.
Total relaxation.

Room Tip: Go ahead and upgrade to a Garland Suite: big, beautiful, two gas fireplaces, refreshing deck...every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
831-625-9500, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Well thank your for your lovely review! We pride ourselves on friendly, prompt and professional service. We look forward to making your next stay flawless! Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

It's amazing the turn around of this place... from the previous owners who built some slick out of place East Coast style resort that simply didn't fit with the valley. JDV has done a phenomenal job. Their pool deck and infinity spa are beautiful, the playful nature of the added elements like the swings are too much fun (you must do it while you are there.. a simple, storied, fun moment). Their gift shop is the best organized and stocked shop I have ever seen. They offer endless activities and options. I am no golfer, but meet at the clubhouse in the morning for the "bee keeping experience" - you get to learn about the lavender honey and bee projects they do on site, as well as dress up in bee keeping outfits and do a couple tastings. It was so much fun.

The rooms are exceptional.. we had a hillside suite that stared out over Carmel Valley. It's the most beautiful place in the world... and we just took it in from our patio, or our huge and exceptionally comfortable bed (one of the best I have ever stayed in), warmed by our huge gas fireplace. It was room 309, and it was a fantastic place. Rates are steep. STEEP.

The breakfasts were outstanding, the dinner was fantastic - the menu is concise, but the options are all delicious. The bartender is a classic - and kept making us some of the best drinks I have ever had - classics for me, fun stuff like pear martinis for wifey. I am looking at some of the drinks we ordered, and sparing you the nasty details, I can safely say we enjoyed ourselves.

It's certainly a place to save up - but it's a true weekend away rather than those sloppy, half-assed "staycations" that just don't re-energize or rejuvenate like they should. I am starting to think you need 3 days, or it's not worth it. So my advice... 3 days, and call me in the morning. =)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We reached Carmel in a heavy fog, drove a couple of miles out of town to Carmel Valley Ranch, the sun was shining and things just kept getting better. Our room was huge and had plenty of space and privacy for the teenager. Fires in both bedroom and living area a nice touch for the cold nights.
Pool area lovely. Kids pool in a different area which is a bonus for everyone.
Restaurant is good and consistent. We ate here more than we intended to because it was just that.
Good selection of classes, yoga very good. I took a bee keeping class and a lavender harvesting class both were interesting and hands on.
Golf course was very enjoyable for a resort course, not too challenging. Be sure to take buggy. Lovely walks around the property. This is the perfect R and R destination. Unfortunately it's 6,000 miles from where I live!

Room Tip: Choose your room carefully if you dont like walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Carmel Valley Ranch is such a great place to relax, we have stayed a few times and have always felt comfortable and well cared for. The amount of staff and the ability to provide so much comfort on such a large property is wonderful!!
The average rooms are as large as one small house, with all of the luxuries of a fancy hotel, with the ability to eat in your room, or dine out. There is a great restaurant on the property as well as being located close enough to many other excellent restaurants. The pool is located just outside the lobby, and it is fabulous, the best part is it stays open all night!!
The gym and spa are amazing!!

The property is so beautiful with an 18 hole golf course, gardens, and hiking!
My husband and I always enjoy ourselves when we stay at CVR, we feel well rested when we return home.

I highly recommend coming to the Ranch and see all of the beauty for yourself!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms are all good, Its not possible to get a bad room in such a beautiful place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A review long overdue but nevertheless. To call Carmel Valley Ranch a Pet Lover's Paradise is an understatement. If my chihuahuas had to rate the resort, I'm sure they would have given all four paws. After being couped up in a small manhattan apartment all winter long, what a joy it was to run free on the beautiful ranch. The entire resort was leash-free indoors and out with the exception of the restaurant which by all means completely understandable but get this, there are two round dining tables in the lobby lounge right outside the restaurant where the restaurant kindly accommodated us and our pooches. One of the best breakfasts I've ever had in a hotel, how much can toast, eggs, sausage, bacon and juice impress you ask? That's how good it was, and we're picky eaters, and that's just breakfast, lunch was good too. And to top it off, professional, friendly servers, great floor to ceiling views of the pool, dogs by my side, just perfect. The pet amenities in room were cute and the bag dispensers were super convenient. I'm not quite sure what more I would have asked for here, I've been to hotels where they give away pet toys and treats especially when there's an added fee so maybe a little memorabilia would have been nice since the dog bowls and mat was not ours to keep.

The room was spacious, clean, tasteful and adequate. If you can afford the pricier room categories (Weekdays are usually a little slower and rates a little better) I think you'll get something that looks more like the beautiful shots on the website but hopefully you're not spending that much time in the room anyway! Enjoy the resort amenities, walk through the vineyard, checkout the organic garden and join the Bee Experience, that was pretty cool. Then drive 10 minutes out to Carmel-By-The-Sea and enjoy the quaint little town also known for their pet friendly beach and excellent dining options. Let's just say I don't expect much with food when we travel with our dogs because we're limited in choices but they were definitely good enough for the wannabe foodies that we are.

All in all, a beautiful resort tucked away in a peaceful valley but close enough to the beautiful city of Carmel in Monterey County. I don't usually think about going to the same place twice but a truly great destination for a 3-4 day vacation that I would think about taking again, this time perhaps with family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Set in beuatifull surroundings, incl. Golfcourse, this ranch surprised us in the most positive way. Fantastic rooms, incl.nfireplace in the bedroom and relaxing terrace.
Great food in welcome design at the restaurant. This all with super service.
The sporting facilities are well equiped and spotless clean.
The golfcourse was a treat, great design of the course with fantastic views along the way.

To be recommended for all families, incl. Small kids.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#1 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Valley Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.