We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manicured luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Valley Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Valley Ranch to your Saves list
Carmel Valley Ranch
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
London
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Manicured luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel, golf, and spa resort is a cut above the average. It is expensive, but you generally get what you pay for in life. The rooms were huge, and beds very comfortable. The auto log fires were a nice touch. The restaurant serves excellent food, although service can be a little slow.
The bar area is great and the bar staff very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about the local wines.
The overall setting is beautiful, and an oasis of luxury in a pretty part of California.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
831-625-9500, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We continue to get positive comments about the size of our rooms. As an all-suite property this is definitely something that sets us apart from the rest of the properties on the peninsula. Also glad you got a chance to taste some local wines while you were in The States! Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    132
    38
    12
    7
See reviews for
235
290
15
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Carmel Valley Ranch is one of my favorite places to stay. I love their giant suites and the relaxing atmosphere. I wish I could stay here all the time, but it is on the pricey end of the spectrum. Great for a Romantic Holiday! Make sure to book a Swedish massage in your room and enjoy the over-sized bath-tubs!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just returned from another fantastic trip to Carmel Valley Ranch. Only a quick visit this time (just one night), but a great retreat.

Our room was in the 200 area of the property, which was close to the reception area (just across a short pedestrian bridge). Room was fantastic as expected. Spacious living area with a small refrigerator and sitting area. The bedroom is very nice, with a comfortable bed, fireplace and large flatscreen TV. A very nice private outdoor sitting area that overlooked the golf course.

We had dinner and breakfast in the main lodge. Dinner was very good. We ordered a wide variety of appetizers and salads so that we could try as many things as possible. Breakfast was also great. There is a breakfast buffet (which is a bit on the pricey side), but a much more reasonable ala carte option as well.

Two new experiences at the ranch. First, there is a very nice little vineyard that was recently started near the main lodge. Don't know if they have produced any wine yet, but its nice to wander through. Also, I took a morning hike around the property after breakfast. There is a nice little loop (about 1-2 miles) on the hills above the property that has some very nice views and picnic areas.

Overall, another great trip and looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
831-625-9500, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thanks so much for posting about your stay. We really value our repeat guests and your review is part of what keeps us going! Glad you liked the dinner, sampling many different appetizers is a good way to go at The Lodge Restaurant because everything is so good! We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is an amazing resort. This was our first visit and we loved every minute of it. Rooms are spacious and stylish with great views of the valley. Rooms were very quiet and although our neighbors brought dogs and kids we heard nothing the entire time we were there. Restaurant has wonderful dinners and feature their own grown vegetables from the garden. Staff is friendly, professional and helpful. We enjoyed this as a couple and wished we had brought our kids along. A great resort for families as there are kid friendly activities to keep the whole family busy. Since they had a adult pool and hottub we enjoyed the adult quiet. The family pool is in a separate area and we thought that was a brilliant solution so both adult travelors and families and co-exist in this great resort. Wonderful hikes directly from the room into nature. The spa was incredible, we had the best massages ever. Don't miss the classes offered, we took a Lavender Distilling class and had great fun. We would give it a 10 out of 10, and we will be back with kids and dog in tow for sure.

Room Tip: All good rooms, can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
831-625-9500, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
I want to sincerely thank you for this review. You hit on all the points that make Carmel Valley Ranch special. We are so glad you enjoyed the hikes and the lavender distilling classes. These are activities that really make our resort unique. One of my favorite reviews yet! Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimbolton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was our second visit to Carmel Valley Ranch (CVR) and I am sure we will return again.

The setting of CVR is fantastic and the views from the rooms beautiful. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms tastefully decorated and furnished and the leisure facilities first class.

We played tennis most days and joined in the "Doubles Mixer " with some of the very friendly and welcoming local members.

The ranch has it's own bee colony and it is well worth attending the honey gathering experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
831-625-9500, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your fantastic review. The bee hive activities are really special. How many places can you put on a bee suit and go hang out with 60,000 bees! Glad to hear you enjoyed the tennis. The program they have down at the River Ranch was just rated top 30 by Tennis Online Magazine. Thanks for staying at The Ranch. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Carmel Valley Ranch is beautiful, super scenic, clean rooms, comfortable bed, etc. However, I wouldn't recommend it for a couple in their late 20's like us but don't get me wrong its definitely a great place for a young active family. It's a self-sustained resort with a restaurant, golf course, tennis courts, gym, activities for children and lavender field (?). Our room was giant with a balcony, fireplace, TV mounted on the wall, iPod dock (though it didn't work) and scenic views. The resort is pretty spread out resort though, we needed our car to get around.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
831-625-9500, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thanks for your review. It’s good to hear feedback from younger couples. We try to take advantage of our 500 acres by creating separate areas that people of different ages and interests can enjoy. We are constantly trying to improve this aspect of The Ranch. Hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had a wonderful time at CVR--the poolside grill menu was great for the kids. My husband and I had an amazing dinner in the restaurant. The room was spacious and the service was great. We will be back soon--our new get-away destination!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
831-625-9500, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thanks for your awesome review! We love to hear good things about The Lodge restaurant. This is an area that we take great pride in and have been continuing to improve. We hope to see you again soon. The fall is a great time to come back! Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#1 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Valley Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.