We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shangra La” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Valley Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Valley Ranch to your Saves list
Carmel Valley Ranch
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Ranch Playmate Package
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shangra La”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

If you want a nice relaxing resort, this is the place in Carmel. Great restuarant, lounge, grounds, golf course, spa, etc. Away from the beaten path you will also see wild turkey, deer, rabbits, squirrels, etc.It has recently been remodeled. They have beautiful suites with fireplaces, and all the usual electronic gadgets. And your resort fees cover any and all necessary tips, except in the restuarant and lounge.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the 300's, and you will also have a great view of the valley below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
831-625-9500, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your exceptional review! We appreciate you mentioning the wild life. Often times we will find several cars pulled off to the side of the road watching wild turkey and deer roam through the lavender. It’s truly a wonderful thing to see. There is even a great shot on our Facebook page. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    154
    45
    17
    10
See reviews for
288
361
17
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Was a fun overnight stay with good accommodations and service. Wish we had more time to enjoy the property. The staff was attentive and friendly, making for a very warm setting. The pool was a great place to rest and relax by.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
831-625-9500, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
We appreciate your review. Thank you for highlighting our staff as a very positive factor in your stay. We pride ourselves on having the best customer service. Next time we hope you get to enjoy the property for a little longer. With 500 acres, it’s really a great place to explore. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Well what can I say, an absolutely beautiful location, enormous well appointed lodge. Loved and made use of the fire in the bedroom. As a runner the trails were a bonus, and what views from the top of the ridge, well worth the lung busting run up the aptly named Huff n Puff trail. My daughter loved cooking s'mores, one of her holiday highlights. The staff were superb and the pool area (adult pool) spotless, like something in a brochure.
My only complaint is with my travel agent, one night here wasnt enough. I need at least 3 days here to unwind.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
831-625-9500, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your review. As you pointed out, Carmel Valley Ranch is a fantastic place for trail runners. Not only do we have many trials on property, The Ranch also abuts one of the largest regional parks in the county, Garland Park. Hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Wow, enjoyed our 3 night stay at this "shangri-la" resort just outside Carmel. The location is 10 minutes from Carmel. Loved everything about the place--the suite, the activities, the deer, the food(including the nightly s'mores), the service and of course, the great view of the valley. All were terrific. You find yourself wondering when you'll be back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
831-625-9500, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your review. Shangri-La is definitely something we are thrilled to be compared with. We are particularly happy that you mentioned the S’mores, those are a perennial favorite! We hope to see you and your family again soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The good: large villa type rooms, comfortable beds; stylish front lobby lodge and restaurant with excellent dinner-lunch not as great; golf was wonderful complete with deer on the course
The fixes needed: Have an alarm clock in the rooms; Improve the service of picking you up to take you around this very large property-on weekend large events happening with not enough valets who also need to pickup those staying at the hotel. I called to be picked up and waited an waited then saw the cart but he didn't see me so had to drive to the restaurant which having dinner with wine I was not wild about and then be around a bunch of people attending an event and leaving getting there cars. It's worsened that they park the cars for events around where you are staying so you have trouble parking your car near your room so forfeiting that spot to get to dinner more of a pain. May sound petty but when paying 700 plus a night the service of getting you around the resort. At 9:30pm hotel housekeeping came around for turndown service---that's far too late. They tout the 25 dollar a day resort fee which includes the transport----so really it needs to work. Golfing was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
831-625-9500, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are thrilled you enjoyed the suite and your dining experience. Rest assured that we are constantly working on ways to improve our shuttle service and your suggestions will be communicated to the staff. We hope to make your next stay with us flawless! Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Carmel Valley Ranch is one of the nicest vacation hotels you could ask for. I’ve stayed there several times and 2 years ago it was completely refurbished and is now absolutely great.

The rooms aren’t just rooms they are actually villas and are huge and very comfortable and well equipped. There is even a fridge in the lounge as well as an excellent coffee machine.

There are 2 pools – 1 for adults and the other for families, 2 gyms and 2 restaurants- 1 for snacks and the other luxurious, plus an excellent golf course. On the activity side they have morning hikes, various classes including yoga and beehives where you can actually see how it all works. They have also now created extensive vineyards, which I have shown in a photo, and in the photo you can also see some of the wonderful lavender that is everywhere.

But it isn’t just the facilities that make this good it is the fantastic staff spearheaded by the Director of Guest services, Thomas, who appears to be everywhere all the time. With that kind of management you just know things are going to be good.

I may sound a bit over the top but this place is just heaven and the perfect place to locate if you are just pit stopping down Highway 1 or, as in my case, you want a really comfortable place to stay while enjoying Monterey.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
831-625-9500, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your fantastic comments. I will be sharing your feedback with Thomas. He does seem to be everywhere and is an excellent manager! Also, thank you for mentioning the spaciousness of our suites. We feel that it is really a feature that differentiates us from other properties in the area. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had the most perfect stay at Carmel valley Ranch. It is a huge property with amazing facilities and activities. I seriously cannot fault this hotel. The service is excellent and the location is wonderful. Beautiful golf course, rows of lavender and stunning trees. We saw lots of deer and a couple of foxes at night which was great. It is a large property but it also has the boutique hotel feel which I love - i'm not sure how they manage it but they do.

We had a Garland suite room with a wrap around terrace, 2 fireplaces and gorgeous views. Definitely go for the Garland suite - it is fantastic and huge at 1100sq ft.

We had all our meals at the restaurant which were all excellent. A great selection of food and wine. The pool by the restaurant is awesome. The views from the hot tub are breathtaking. We travelled as a couple and do not have kids just yet. This hotel is v kid friendly BUT they are v clever and have located all the kid friendly pools and activities to the other side of the golf course so the hotel still fees v adult friendly too. The pool by the restaurant was v quiet. As we came over the 4th July holiday, the hotel was busy but it never once felt crowded which was great. We always got great sun loungers and reservations at dinner etc and the hot tub was never crowded.

Fireplaces and s'mores at night were great. Moths were not really a problem for us.

We had a wonderful stay. Carmel Vally Ranch is one of those hotels where you could arrive and never have to leave. Thank you.

Room Tip: Garland suite rooms are wonderful. 1100 sq ft, v comfortable bed, stunning views, great wrap around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
831-625-9500, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your excellent review! Our 500 acres of pastoral Carmel Valley land really affords us the ability to create a unique setting where different groups of people can co-exist seamlessly. Saying that The Ranch is a place where you can come and never leave is the highest compliment. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
7.5 mi away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 453 reviews
6.3 mi away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#11 of 23 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,258 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#6 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
7.3 mi away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#7 of 23 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
7.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#3 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Valley Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.