We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Valley Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel Valley Ranch to your Saves list
Carmel Valley Ranch
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
california
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

stayed here for 2 nights for a getaway with my husband. We found it relaxing and lovely. It was a perfect getaway. If you don't want to, you don't have to leave the property. Everything is there...hiking trails, golf, swimming pools, hot tubs, spa, fitness rooms. The rooms are huge...more like small apartments. We loved the bee experience activity where we got to don beekeeper suits and learn all about the bee colonies on the property. We will be back.

Oh, family friendly too for those who have kids...family friendly pool vs. adult pool. Free child care. Kids activities all day long.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
831-625-9500, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about Carmel Valley Ranch. At The Ranch, we pride ourselves on the exciting array of activities we have to offer and we’re delighted that you got a chance to take advantage of the Bee Experience. It is truly a unique and fascinating endeavor. We look forward to your next visit. -Melanie Cooke, Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    132
    38
    13
    7
See reviews for
235
291
15
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Union City, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

My hubby decided to be spontaneous and booked a night's stay at Carmel Valley Ranch. It was alittle way further inland from Carmel by the Sea.
When we first reached the destination, there was a gate. Both my hubby and myself thought we were at the wrong place, but in actuality, we were at the right place.
Got to the reception area and everyone was really nice. We booked the Ranch Suite on Priceline and got a view upgrade during checkin without additional fee.
The exterior of the unit looks exactly like a townhome. Walked in and was really impressed, because it is exactly like a one bedroom apartment, just less the kitchen.
Pro:
Pet friendly
Huge bathroom
House keeping when we were away
Comfortable king bed
Amazing view of the golf course with our own private balcony
Deers running free and wild
Free parking and wifi

Cons:
Trails on the map were alittle confusing
Alittle more pricey than we thought

In any case, we will visit again, when our pockets' are fuller. :)

Room Tip: Make reservation at The Lodge Restaurant. Really good food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
831-625-9500, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your Ranch Suite. Your comments about the room highlighted a great feature of Carmel Valley Ranch and many of our guests are pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms on our all suite property. Indeed, The Ranch is all about room to play, even when you are not outside. Again, thank you for your time and we hope to see you again soon. -Melanie Cooke, Director of Revenue Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Came here with a work group and got to enjoy this fabulous venue for 5 glorious nights.

I travel a lot and have stayed in hundreds of upper end hotels and this property easily ranks in my top 5 including place in Hawaii, Paris and Tuscany.

The thing that most sets this place apart is the very large rooms with spacious sitting areas, large modern bathrooms, comfy beds (I had a king with a 2nd gas fireplace in the bedroom) and a massive deck all situated in a verdant hillside get away.

The food at this place was excellent and they have a very nice pool, golf course, fitness center and hiking trails. The staff is extremely friendly and you don't have to worry about tipping because the $25/day resort fee covers that as well as free bottled water and snacks in the room.

Their are wild turkeys roaming the property as well as a number of deer. All of them seek to be oblivious to the people on the trails or golf course. There is always a fire going near the pool and a basket full of marshmallows, graham crackers and Hershey bars so you can make some S'mores. They have a ton of lavender plants over the 500 acre property and send their "crop" off once a year to a local artisan who converts it into soap for the rooms - very nice touch.

Overall this place is very restful and with the rooms situated in 4-rooms buildings, it felt like you had a lot of privacy and space.

I'm already thinking about another visit.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms can be a bit of a hike from the pool and lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
familybythesea, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear Mr. Riesterer - Thank you for taking the time for this review. Your comments illustrate how the spaciousness of our 500 acres allow us to balance both the traveler here for business with our guests here on leisure. We hope to welcome you back in the near future for the latter. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Dir of Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 days on a little side trip from San Francisco. First of all, when I called to make a reservation (less than a week from our expected arrival) - since there were no rooms of the price I was looking for, the very kind and efficient hostess offered to honor that price but we were upgraded to a King Suite. On our arrival to the Ranch, all of the staff - from the security guard up front, to the concierge, to the gentlemen in the golf carts helping us with our bags were all sincerely friendly and welcoming. The lodge itself is beautiful, clean, spacious, well lit. Felt luxurious without being at all pretentious. The room was amazing - HUGE, comfortable, awesome quick start electric fireplace, very comfortable bed, spacious bathroom, 2 TVs and spacious living room area.
The s'mores at night/bonfires were wonderful!
We tried to attend the beekeeping experience, but was limited due to the heavy rain. However, the head beekeeper gave an interesting talk which was worth hearing.
The workout facility was also beautiful.
All in all - worth every penny, and wish we could have stayed here for a week!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Went here on a ladies get-a-way for a few days to escape children, jobs and our husbands. It is beautiful. The grounds are amazing. The rooms are very nice and the wine and food at the restaurant are exceptional. The food was so good we ate every night in the hotel, which for us is rare, We shopped during the day, did wine tours and enjoyed eating and talking once the day was over at the restaurant. It is a great place to visit and we would return.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong. They are all gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, Essex
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights whilst driving route 1 from San Francisco to LA. it's around 2 hours from SF and a stunning location set in an amazing grounds, built around a golf course.

The welcome was formal, quite plastic America but nevertheless attentive - i am sure many of the clientele like this so I do understand. The whole environment is absolutely spotless and maintained superbly. The Lodges are fantastic! And very impressive, high spec and spacious places to stay. The beds are amazingly comfortable, the views from the balcony are top class and the bathrooms with seperate rainmaker shower and bath with a walk in wardrobe just off the bathroom. Cannot fault the rooms...

This place is all about relaxation and it ticks that box with a lovely pool and spa treatments on offer. The log fires in the evening are also amazing and a bit different to a standard hotel offering.

The restaurant was probably the most disappointing aspect, although it was good it didn't match the quality of the rest of the ranch which is a shame as its marketed heavily around fresh ingredients and Chef Tim. Our main issue was girlfriend being a vegetarian found the menu very limited, which is normal, but for a hotel that grows veg on site it was disappointing the chef couldnt offer anything better than a plate of grilled vegetables on our second night, despite our requests. Hopefully this is viewed as constructive but At the prices in the restaurant it was a shame and a small negative on an otherwise fantastic stay.

It's worth mentioning hat the website gives a feel that this is a boutique style set up, it's in fact a huge set up but with all the nice boutique touches.

I would recommend a stay at the Carmel Valley Ranch.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night at Carmel Valley Ranch last weekend - the only negative thing I can say is that we're idiots for not booking longer. We're both laid back, don't require a lot of help or direction, but we appreciate great customer service and knowing someone is there if we do need it. This place was just the ticket - friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The staff and accomodations, the property, the semi-remoteness but nearness to downtown Carmel - it was just what we needed. I recommend Carmel Valley Ranch to anyone. We'll be back, and we'll stay longer next time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Valley Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.