We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carmel Family Friendly Luxury .. Better Than Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel Valley Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Carmel Valley Ranch to your Saves list
Carmel Valley Ranch
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Carmel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Carmel Family Friendly Luxury .. Better Than Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

It is so amazing to live in Northern California and be so close to a world class destination such as Carmel. We've stayed at many places over the years in Carmel for those weekend getaways but none surpasses our most recent stay at the newly renovated Carmel Valley Ranch. We are a family of four (2 elementary aged children) and found Carmel Valley Ranch to exceed our expectations on every level. We had stayed there in previous years and always liked the fact that their rooms were extremely spacious and all suites. But that was it -besides having a golf course. But now.. hold your seats.. The rooms have all been redone. They are luxurious. The adults can get the king, tv, balcony and fireplace and the kids have a separate room with pull out sofa, fridge, desk and roll away if you request for $25.00 fee. There is a new pool and huge hot tub, new restaurant, bocce ball, swings, and their main restaurant food is delicious. For breakfast they serve complimentary Illy coffee and pumpkin and cinnamon breads. The only downside to the restaurant is that for breakfast and dinner we found it a bit pricey. The hotel is pet friendly too if you want to bring your family pet.. Roxy the hotel bulldog is there in the lobby to greet. The gym has all new equipment and a lovely spa. Then for that special occasion.. they sent chocolate covered strawberries and champagne to our room (it was my husbands birthday). The grounds are lovely and we walked to the lobby when ever we could. The only problem was it was quite dark at night and hilly so if you are wearing heels.. hmm well that was tricky. I've stayed at Spanish Bay, Pebble Beach, Hyatt and La Playa. All are lovely hotels.. so my taste is a bit discriminating... But I love a good deal and I love alot of room so the kids and adults can enjoy but also get a good nights sleep. Great deals in January.. not sure what rates may be in summer. Staff is so nice and we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We were in 327.. lovely room and great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    124
    36
    11
    7
See reviews for
214
261
14
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

This is our family's happy place.... the resort is gorgeous and panoramic views of the valley are breathtaking. There is something for everyone: tennis, basketball and swimming for the teens; kitchen adventure and pilates for mom; hiking trails for dad; bee experience for everyone! Do not miss the infinity hot tub at sunset with s'mores by the outdoor fire pit -- the absolute best way to end your perfect day. For a real festive treat, enjoy dinner at the Lodge (delicious).

As if this wasn't enough.... all this is just minutes away from our favorite hiking spot: Point Lobos. With Monterey and Carmel so close by, this is truly an ideal family getaway. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask about the view -- specifically what does it overlook (i.e. valley; golf course; parking lot, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Stayed here for a three-night vacation. The resort and what it had to offer was perfect for our family of four, from age four onwards (including our rather large Lab). The service was flawless. We stayed in their Ranch suite, with a fairly decent view overlooking the trees and the valley (suite 231). As previous reports suggest, there are a number of choices for accommodation, with varying kinds of views. If you have young children, it's probably better to pick one close to the Lodge for convenience. They do offer their complementary shuttle service (golf cart) at any time. Talk with the reservation person when booking, they explained all the available options as I was looking at the layout on their web page map. The restaurant was pricey, but was very good (had breakfast and dinner there).
We took part in some of their fitness related activities (again very good). The kids area (the Ranch) had a small and a large pool (well heated, comfortable to swim in January), as well as a very large hot tub. Facilities were excellent.
The fireplaces around the resort (with the smores ...) , the swings, the deer etc. all made for a really wonderful experience.
The only problem we had was minor ... the coffee machine in the room never worked (they always promptly delivered coffee whenever needed).

Room Tip: Talk with the reservation person and look at the map on their website. Choose either the treetop or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

An absolutely wonderful place to relax. Beautiful condo-style room with large living room and large bedroom. Bathroom has separate tub and shower. Fireplace in bedroom great for cool evening. Breakfast and dinner at the restaurant was both high quality and good value.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

CVR is nestled among the spectacular rolling "mustard painted" hills on 500 acres just east of Carmel. With close proximity to Monterrey, Carmel, and Big Sur this is the ideal spot to experience some of the most breathtaking scenery on the planet.

This place is versatile. It's perfect for a romantic get-away or a family vacation.

When you check in at the lodge, you will be welcomed by Roxy the dog and a warm, genuine, and helpful staff committed to making your stay memorable. Madeleine & Rene listened to our wishlist and planned a perfect itinerary that included guided hikes; the bee experience; a trip to the spa for my wife; a private tennis lesson for my son; a cooking lesson with Chef Tim Wood; a romantic dinner at Flaherty's; capped off with an outing to Big Sur highlighted by lunch at Nepenthe.

While we enjoyed the amazing beauty of the region, the truth is you could have a fabulous time just staying on the property. The views are gorgeous and the facilities are first class. Spa, championship golf course, tennis courts, fitness center, basketball courts, badmitton, kids arts & crafts center, family pool or adult pool...CVR has it all.

If you travel with kids, the lodge has complimentary supervised kids activities from 5:00-9:00pm daily. Private sitters are available during the day for a moderate fee. Don't miss the smore's, they rock!!!

Food was delicious. The ingredients were sourced locally from the areas organic farmers and ranchers. The natural flavors of the food were incredible!

The rooms were recently updated and spacious. Our villa (327) was perched on a hill and boasted brilliant views of the valley. We enjoyed the 800 sq ft of space with scraped plank wood floors, elegant tile, wood furniture, and comfy sofa with ottoman, recliner in the master, and leather chair complete with contemporary style desk. The villa was split with a living room, large bathroom with shower, bath, two sinks, and large walk-in closet. Both the master and living room had large flat screens with cable. The master had a fireplace with automatic starter/timer and a huge furnished deck, while the living room had a sofa that converted into a bed and a mini frig for keeping snacks and refreshments.

An added bonus was the complimentary wi-fi internet, bottled water, apples, sun chips and granola bars. Every evening, the lodge had freshly baked cookies and warm cider. The restaurant in the lodge allowed you to bring your own wine with a reasonable corking fee. There was no nickel & diming...

Have fun & enjoy!

Room Tip: Book with your Amex Platinum Card. You will get a special rate that is lower than any internet-base...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

This resort is family-oriented. That being said, if you are a couple hoping to spend a romantic weekend/night on your way to/from LA, i suggest you look elsewhere.

Although beautifully situated, and well-organized in terms of activities, the Ranch is geared towards large families with small children, teenagers, and dogs. The restaurant is mediocre at best and i found prices a bit high for the mediocre quality of the food. Breakfast was a unpleasant as children all around us were wailing and screaming - please note i have nothing against taking one's children on a vacation, but am just saying we should have chosen a quieter and more couple-friendly hotel.

Rooms are large but the decor is bland and uninspired.

There is also a $25 "resort fee" which is meant to cover gratuity for golf and fitness facility staff. Unfortunately there is no way out of this ....

There were numerous children's activities and the fitness centre was very good. If you are a golfer or hiker hoping to take the kids on your vacation as well, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful stay! You come here for quiet and relaxation! Great suites! 12 minutes from Carmel! Dine at wagon wheel for country breakfast, get eggs benidict! Cafe rustica lunch or dinner! Sticks at Spanish bay for a hearty meal! Roys at sunset for ahi or steaks!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#1 Spa Hotel in Carmel
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel Valley Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.