We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location steps away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #14 of 21 hotels in Carmel
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location steps away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A terrific location steps from the central street of Carmel by the sea shopping and dining activity.
Residentially quiet except for the resident seagull,
After all, it's his environment so get over it!
Rooms are small, could be perhaps more airily decorated in pastel colors to give it a sense of greater space. Nice little complimentary breakfast arrangement (hint...take it upstairs on the sun deck) but the plethora of pastry emporiums two blocks away as you stroll past wonderful art galleries is tempting.
Be advised that air conditioning may not be in situ, so fans are helpful but rather than that, take a room on the second floor and take advantage of the window breeze off the sea. Like all things, pluses and minuses, this is a motor lodge and second floor access is by a flight of steps so a small schlepp is to be expected. Tiny pool but no one's there because everyone and their dog is at the beach so near.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    141
    57
    17
    6
See reviews for
108
155
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here on our first leg going down the coast. The location of the hotel is great! 2 blocks away from Ocean ave, so everything is very close. Our room was very, clean, quiet, and it looks like it has been updated. We didn't use the provided breakfast except for a cup of coffee, so we can't really provide any info there. I would stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here as tourists from Australia because our friends had stayed here previously. Location is very good 3 mins from the centre of carmel. We had a king room, it was a good size, bed was good, TV and amenities all good, including a decent fridge. The one thing I found not pleasing is that there is only paper or plastic cups, not a glass anywhere, had to go to the general store and buy one to have a glass of wine but I guess that's a personal thing. Breakfast is ok, typical of this type of place but good coffee and enough to give you a start to the day. If you want a serious breakfast there are many lovely places in the town. On site parking at no charge is a bonus. For the prices in Carmel, I would recommend this as a good stable place to stay. There are more glamorous for sure, just a lot more money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The location of the hotel was wonderful, so close to everyting. The room was very clean, although since we got in so late and the hotel was booked solid, we got the handicapped room, so there was no bathtub, so the shower would make the whole bathroom wet, that was our only complaint. I did leave my i-phone charger in the room, plugged into the wall and that was not found (????) which I question very much, other than that, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

we love this hotel for the price and location will go back again. the service guest rep was very helpful, happy and answered all the questions we had and we had a tons. i also love how close this hotel is to all the shops and literally 5 minute walk to the ocean.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

The location was wonderful and the customer service was exceptional. We locked our room keys in our room twice and the lovey gentleman at the front desk always new keys ready for us and never made us feel bad for our mistake. The rooms were clean and modern. We had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willows, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Although we are not comfortable with paying the amount we paid,to stay there...We do have this to say...The manager was still in training...and did a great job,at checking us in.He was courteous,as well as friendly.We had a smooth check in.The room was clean,and well appointed.We had every thing we needed,to make us comfortable.The continental breakfast,did the trick,as far as having the basics,for a ''quickie'' breakfast,goes.We liked the waffle,that was offered.The food area,was kept clean,as well as well stocked.

Room Tip: You may want to ''ask'' for an upstairs room.When you have other guests above you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Address: 5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Carmel
#14 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located in the heart of village, 2 blocks from shops, galleries & Ocean Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carmel`s Town House Hotel Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;