We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT EXCELLENT EXCELLENT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
regina, sk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT EXCELLENT EXCELLENT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We arrived after dark in this quaint little town we have never been to. We found this little 'motel' like establishment and I walked in to see if they had a room for the evening. JD Desai was at the desk and OH SO HELPFUL!!! His pleasant demeanor and helpfulness was outstanding. We had heard of a specific restaurant in town and asked him about it. He not only gave us directions, but printed out their menu so we could see it. Then he gave us directions on how to navigate around the town since we had only arrived and it was dark. He was able to accommodate us with our kind bed request. We were delighted when we went into our room. It was perfectly clean, updated with furniture, bedding, etc. Every last detail taken care of right down to the cover on the remote! It was a small room, but organized as such to provide lots of room for travellers and all of their baggage. HUGE closet to hold all luggage and LOTS of vanity space in the bathroom for toiletries, etc. Very quiet location so wonderful for a good night sleep. In the morning, we were delighted to see a hot breakfast, complimentary for guests. The lobby was also very clean, modern and had coffee for tired travellers. Overall, I would DEFINATELY stay in this location again. The price was very reasonable, considering we were staying in Carmel. Many thanks to JD and his staff for making this such a memorable stay. We look forward to returning again one day. Darlene and Todd Sorensen--Regina, Sk, Canada

Room Tip: Specifically ASK for a quiet location. King room on the second floor was GREAT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Darlene,

I cannot thank you enough for writing this glowing review. We are very proud of friendly and productive staff and are so glad when they make such an impression on our guests. I have shared your comments with JD and the staff. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed not only our service, but the rooms. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    155
    59
    20
    7
See reviews for
125
166
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We have stayed here several times and find the rooms clean and convenient for walking to the shops and restaurants. Easy access to the rooms is a plus. They have added some amenities that make it a nicer stay. However, we had a rather loud buzzing noise that sounded like a compressor or motor that was continuous day and night and very difficult to ignore. A good nights rest was not had by all! We were in room 209. Hopefully, they will address the problem after this review.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Rosie,

I cannot thank you enough for writing this glowing review. We are very proud of friendly and productive staff and are so glad when they make such an impression on our guests. I have shared your review with our staff. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed not only our service, but the rooms. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Went to Carmel to spend the day at Refuge. Booked here for convenience. Nothing exceptional. It's affordable and had great location. There's no one at the registration to welcome guests. You have to ring for someone. The staff who came was not in professional attire. Not very welcoming. The room was clean but small. The soap in the bath smelled horrible and cheap. The breakfast was okay. We were expecting better quality since it was in Carmel & the price was not that cheap too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Right downtown, only a block away from Ocean Ave. Room was clean and updated. Bathroom a little tight. I found a rather annoying sound of water flowing, could be heard all throughout the night. I wondered if it was the bathroom in the next unit, but was told it was the heating system when I complained the following morning. They moved us to a different room, and the noise was gone.
Breakfast was very basic - breads, cereal, bad coffee and boiled eggs

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Noisy, poor parking, and our friends paid a lower price than us although we booked simultaneously. Front Desk could not help. TV located to the side of the bed made viewing difficult. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review on Trip Advisor; also we would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge with our future guests.

Our guests’ observations are very important for us, because thanks to your notes we can learn, know about your experience and improve our service.

We regret if we did not impressed you with some of our services, we assure you this is not a common situation in our Lodge, and in no way represents the commitment with our valuable guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again, to change your first impression and make you live the real Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late, but received great service from the reception desk along with several dining recommendations. The hotel was located in the heart of the town, so it was ideal for all site-seeing options. The breakfast in the morning was poor, so we went elsewhere, and the room was very tiny compared to oversized furniture. Otherwise a great stay for the cost.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed 1 night, excellent location in Carmel. Quiet and removed just enough for good night's sleep. Extremely helpful desk clerk; good directions and recommendations. Breakfast was good, no microwave to heat Danish or eggs. Bed was uncomfortable for my husband - seemed short for a queen size. Hotel has a swimming pool and a sun deck. Rooms renovated, but building old so the floorboards squeaked.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Address: 5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Carmel
#11 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located in the heart of village, 2 blocks from shops, galleries & Ocean Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carmel`s Town House Hotel Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.