We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tight space, but great price and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Carmel
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tight space, but great price and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late, but received great service from the reception desk along with several dining recommendations. The hotel was located in the heart of the town, so it was ideal for all site-seeing options. The breakfast in the morning was poor, so we went elsewhere, and the room was very tiny compared to oversized furniture. Otherwise a great stay for the cost.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    171
    67
    21
    9
See reviews for
135
186
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed 1 night, excellent location in Carmel. Quiet and removed just enough for good night's sleep. Extremely helpful desk clerk; good directions and recommendations. Breakfast was good, no microwave to heat Danish or eggs. Bed was uncomfortable for my husband - seemed short for a queen size. Hotel has a swimming pool and a sun deck. Rooms renovated, but building old so the floorboards squeaked.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We enjoyed our 2 night stay here. The gentleman at the front desk was very helpful and recommended an excellent restaurant for us. The beach was a short walk away and lots of shops and restaurants nearby. It was very quiet with everything we needed. Breakfast was pleasant. Would come again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, close to restaurants and shops and a manageable walk to the beach. We stayed in the King Suite, which is great, with a very comfortable place to hang out in the living room. Hotel staff is very nice, people at the front desk could be a little friendlier. They aren't rude, just not real friendly compared to some other places we've stayed in Carmel. But overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Denise, We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We pride ourselves on our beautiful and clean rooms and love that this made such a great impression for you. We hope you make another trip to Carmel so you can experience everything else we have at the hotel.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Carmel was busy, but this hotel has a vacancy. Reception staff were very nice and helpful, and made us feel valued. We had a suite which was very large with 2 bathrooms & separate sitting room. The sitting room has a gas fire, but take care as my husband singed his eyebrows lighting it ( more than likely his own fault)! The bed was good, but the rooms were dated with pine furniture.... This hotel could do with updating really, but is comfortable, has free parking and WIFI & best if all is very convenient.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights travelling down through California and only wish it could have been longer. Hotel is typical motel type but clean, tidy and the location is just wonderful. Negative point is that there is no air-con, so if you hit a hot spell, the room would not be comfortable. We were also in a section at the back of the hotel over the parking lot and this meant you had to cart suitcases upstairs etc but this is only a minor point. Very central and within walking distance of everything in town - restaurants, shops, beach etc. A continental breakfast was supplied in a separate, small room adjacent to the hotel. It was a bit 'untidy' when we got there but a lady appeared soon after and tidied things up and replenished stocks etc. Down side was room was sweltering (no air con) and the sun was blazing in - even with the door wedged open - maybe the management could do something about this? Otherwise, for a free breakfast it was fine. Loved Carmel and only hope we can return someday - would we stay here again. Definitely

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The swivel chair was broken. The room shorted out and apparently had a history of doing so. The room had a chemical odor - probably a cleanser of some sort. I would have looked elsewhere if I hadn't prepaid.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCarmelsTownhouse, Manager at BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
ear Guest,

We appreciate your review on Trip Advisor; also we would like to thank you for sharing your experience in our Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge with our future guests.

Our guests’ observations are very important for us, because thanks to your notes we can learn, know about your experience and improve our service.

We regret if we did not impressed you with some of our services, we assure you this is not a common situation in our Lodge, and in no way represents the commitment with our valuable guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again, to change your first impression and make you live the real Best Western Carmel's Townhouse Lodge experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge

Address: 5th And San Carlos, P.O. Box 3574, Carmel, CA 93921-3574
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Carmel
#11 Family Hotel in Carmel
#16 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located in the heart of village, 2 blocks from shops, galleries & Ocean Avenue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carmel`s Town House Hotel Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.